We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adorable place, super clean, safe & GREAT hosts!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterway Inn

Waterway Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cedar Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterway Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cedar Point
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Adorable place, super clean, safe & GREAT hosts!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The property was even better than the pictures. The property in general was super cute - the room was clean and nicely appointed (Ralph Lauren sheets - NICE touch!!)

My best friend and I were traveling the coast to see the lighthouses and after 2 days of driving the coast and climbing the lighthouses, we were exhausted. The Waterway Inn was a great place for our final night of vacation - the beds were comfy, the bathroom was roomy and the water pressure in the shower was AWESOME....it helped soothe the sore back and neck muscles in preparation for a wonderful night of sleep.

The hosts, Kay and Dave were wonderful - they provided suggestions for dinner on our arrival night and for breakfast the next day. The town of Swansboro & Cedar Pointe are so quaint - I loved the little shops in town and the "waterway" was so pretty and serene.

I will return when we plan the trip for the southern lighthouses and I'll send as many recommendations

Room Tip: Room number 4 was smack in the middle of the row of rooms at the motel - PERFECT location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
27
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We visited in August 2013. First time my husband and I have had a getaway since we were married 20 years ago. It was just what we needed and affordable. The owners are super nice and willing to help you find local places to eat and visit. The view from the water way is awesome and at night even more better. Thanks for an awesome getaway.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank temommy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
218 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We had a family getaway this weekend. I looked at some other hotels in the area, but none had the charm of this one. I read the reviews and couldn't agree more. The owners are great - like instant friends! The rooms are nice and very clean. It is obvious this property is well taken care of. They had boat slips and a fishing dock and my family loved walking out on those. It was a little cool on our trip, but I am sure it would be gorgeous on a trip during warmer weather. The location is close to Swansboro and Emerald Isle. We would definitely choose this hotel if we are in the area again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanawha208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very clean rooms, comfortable bed, nice.decor, great water pressure in shower, very thick towels. We had a beautiful view of the waterfront from our room. Owners Dave and Kay are very friendly and helpful. Great small family owned motel in the quaint little fishing village of Cedar Point. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We chose the small single queen room on the top floor...room #12. Had a great view of the waterway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oceanlakes1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA Beach, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I were taking one of our "drives to nowhere" and for the first time --we did not make reservations anywhere. The first place we looked at - looked closed for the winter and then we found the Waterway on Google maps. Right on the water with a beautiful view. Not fancy but not "budget" either although the price was. And so clean for the off season - I expected the room to be a little dusty considering it was a cold February. But it was the one of the cleanest rooms we ever stayed in. Our host took us to the room to show us how the heat worked. We were on the 2nd floor with a view of the sunset. The only drawback to the stay was we could only stay one night!! We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: End room on the 2nd floor has a beautil view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Waterway Inn is our favorite place to stay when we visit the Cape Carteret/Swansboro area. Rates are quite reasonable and the rooms are small but always clean. Right on the water and "Waterway Dave" always makes us feel like we're visiting old friends.

Room Tip: Water front rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Cove, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great place to stay. Clean rooms! Dock your boat or fish right outside your front door! First time we met Dave, the owner, felt like we had known him for years. Grab a lounge chair and enjoy the incredible sunsets. Just look for the blue roof and enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cedar Point
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Silver Creek Inn
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Swansboro / near Camp Lejeune at Bear Creek Gate
18.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
18.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Jacksonville
3.3 mi away
Islander Inn & Suites
Islander Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Emerald Isle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterway Inn

Property: Waterway Inn
Address: 160 Cedar Point Blvd, Cedar Point, NC 28584-8000
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Cedar Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cedar Point
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swansboro's only waterfront accommodations, the Waterway Inn offers a 90-foot fishing pier, 9 boat slips, and fabulous views of the Intracoastal Waterway.Just 5 minutes from Emerald Isle, guests enjoy days on the beach, world-class charter fishing, kayaking, recreational boating, fine dining and all the Crystal Coast of North Carolina has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing