We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Night's Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Brookline, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Great Night's Stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Siena Hotel was wonderful from the moment they welcomed me until I left the next morning. They provided information about the city, were very welcoming and extremely warm and friendly. There was a shuttle service to bring me downtown and the driver was very nice and recommended places to dine. The roomwas very nice In the afternoon, there was lemonade and cookies in the lobby. A great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foresterc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    80
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
130
152
23
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, USA
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

we booked the hotel to house our guests over graduation weekend. the baths are lovely after the remodel, beds are comfortable 9 a rariety in a hotel king. on the down side
they made you reserve for three nights instead of 2 wasting a lot of money for my party because we did not need to stay there three nights. the staff was accommodating and responsive. best of all they have shuttle service which will drive you to campus and pick you up there after the graduation ceremony. we did not eat there. sunrise bisquit kitchen a one block walk up the hill. can't beat them. sat morning farmer's market three blocks away at university mall was a delight. University mall has southern season( gourmet foods et al) , branching out ( antiques and clothes), kitchen works (a super kitchen store) to occupy the shoppers in your group.
cons: dogs are allowed on the property so barking at 11pm on the restaurant terrace does occur. all in all an enjoyable weekend had by all.

Room Tip: suite and jr suite are both spacious. may want a room on the back side to avoid the terrace conver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afrdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
va beach va
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a lovely boutique hotel near UNC/CH. It is quiet and located in a lush garden setting. We have stayed here on 2 occasions, both were UNC graduations…2 years apart. There was never any discussion of staying anywhere else on our most recent visit! The rooms are beautiful and recently updated. Everybody is extremely professional and helpful. The shuttle is a huge plus since parking for graduation can get crazy! Having a shuttle drop you off at your location and then pick you up at the same place is wonderful. I know we'll be back!!

Room Tip: We had a suite…large and beautiful. The junior suites are also quite roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxyvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Friendliest staff overall I have seen in a hotel in a while. Extremely helpful in getting us to our appointments with the convenient shuttle to downtown Chapel Hill. Jimmy the driver knows all about the town, the food, what to order. He was great and on time for pick ups. The food in the restaurant was really good for both breakfast and lunch. The receptionist turned out to be from our small town in NC. Everyone was just very helpful and friendly from check in to check out. Room and bedding very comfortable. Loved the brightly lit bathroom with glass shower. Tubs in hotels kind of creep me out so I liked the walk in shower.
Will definitely stay here regularly if my kids end up at Carolina.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom22grand29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had to be in Chapel Hill for a conference on the same weekend that Chapel Hill was holding their alumni weekend, several other conferences and a big football game lodging was difficult to find. Fortunately we happened upon the Siena which is a Marriott Autograph collection. We had stayed at an Autograph collection in Kansas City and loved it so our expectations were high and this hotel did not disappoint. Parking was easy but they also have free valet which we like. Check in was a breeze. It was a hot day and my children enjoyed the lemonade and sweet tea in the lobby...they made Arnold Palmers every day of our stay. The room was on the small side but the bathroom was spacious and the accommodations comfortable. They had turn down service which is a nice touch. We were late getting back from our conference the first day and ordered room service at 10:00 at night which came promptly. They also picked up the tray before we arose the next morning which is nice. I hate a hotel with trays in the hallway. We took advantage of the free shuttle to go the university everyday. Other conference attendees were jealous that we didn't have to fight for parking. We had to wait an hour to return to the hotel one day because this service is so popular but it was still worth it. They even offer to take guests to local restaurants.

We couldn't eat dinner at the hotel as they were booked but enjoyed a lovely breakfast both days. My kids lounged in the hammock and played bocce ball on the front lawn. The price we paid wasn't much more than Residence Inn and the hotel was superior in every way. Would definitely stay there again and will continue to look for Autograph properties when we travel. High, highly worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragonmom I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We are Marriott Platinum members and have stayed in Renaissance, JW Marriott and Autograph Collection properties throughout the U.S. and Europe. The Siena Hotel was a luxurious experience from the moment we arrived. Staff greeted us at the door; front desk & restaurant staff was welcoming. The staff is clearly focused on providing an excellent guest experience. The Italian-influenced décor is gorgeous! Certainly one of the most beautiful hotels we have visited - comparable to 5 star hotels in Paris, London and Rome. We were in town for UNC-Notre Dame basketball game and staff arranged to shuttle guests to/from game. We awoke to snow flurries and a bit of ice, so our departure was delayed; I would have been happy to stay another day! When it was time to return home, the staff had cleared the ice and snow and warmed up my car. My only regret is that I did not find this hotel during the 4 years my son was a student at UNC - would have certainly have visited him more often! Sadly, the hotel is booked for UNC 2014 Graduation weekend, but I will still plan a meal at The Siena - top tier dining. An outstanding hotel experience that I will continue to recommend to my friends. Many thanks to the staff at The Siena Hotel. Jennifer Church, Charlotte, NC

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The title is not only a bad pun but not even very original, but it nevertheless fits. The Siena is an over the top (maybe even Rococo) Tuscan style hotel. While it is certainly not laid back in style, it has much to charm. Not the least is its wonderful staff. I was more than pleased with everyone from the desk staff to the young bellman (Jimmy is a young sweetheart)' the waiters at the restaurant and the cleaning staff.

My room was lovely--very luxe. Unfortunately, the bathroom lacks a bath but does have a lovely shower. And the room and bath were large. There was also a lot of noise. There seem to be early morning garbage pickups and deliveries.

They have a shuttle that will take you around town. I specifically wanted to go to the university where parking is difficult and Jimmy drove me as well as another guest to that locale. The other guest was somewhat difficult but this young kid kept his cool which I applaud.

There is no concierge lounge but they do give platinum members the option of having breakfast at their restaurant. Do not pass this up--even if you have a breakfast meeting somewhere else later. This is not your grandmother's breakfast. Check out the eggs Benedict, slices of toasted olive oil coated Italian bread with Parma ham, eggs, hollandaise sauce on a rocket salad. Fabulous.

Much to like about the restaurant. Much to like about the hotel.

Room Tip: My room was noisy. It was on the back and there seemed to be garbage pick up and deliveries very ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texastravveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
1.8 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,299 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
431 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
461 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1505 E Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-2852
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chapel Hill, North Carolina, The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection is a gathering place perfect for retreats, meetings, weddings, and romantic getaways. Old world charm is met with modern amenities throughout the property. Rooms and suites are spacious and feature comfortable living areas, Juliet Balconies, and large marble bathrooms. Outside enjoy the southern skies to dine, lounge, or play the iconic Italian game of Bocce. Experience Il Palio, which like its namesake festival, brings people together in celebration. Chefs strive to emulate the best of the great Italian tradition of hospitality and quality at the table and in the glass. The vision is simple - use the best local and Italian ingredients as purely as possible and serve them with comfort and pride. Your Italian Villa is 1.5 Miles from the University of North Carolina, 7 miles from Duke University, and 16 miles from Raleigh-Durham International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siena Hotel Chapel Hill
Siena Chapel Hill
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing