We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a nice hotel”
Review of Aloft Chapel Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Chapel Hill
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quite a nice hotel”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel is what you would expect from an Aloft, except that I would say the common areas are much nicer. The rooms are exactly as you would expect, but the bar area seems to be better than that of other Alofts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    150
    57
    17
    19
See reviews for
138
90
28
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I love the Starwood brand in general, and I have stayed at several different Aloft hotels in the past, but this was my least favorite of all my Starwood hotel stays.

My husband and I got married at the Botanical Garden just a mile down the road and booked a stay here for the night of our wedding (Friday night). First of all, I had trouble booking just one night because apparently they require a minimum stay of two nights if there is a football game that weekend - thereby effectively rendering the hotel useless to anyone who just wants a single night. I can't help but think they miss out on business because of this. The price was also pretty ghastly compared to what I've paid at other Aloft hotels - almost double. Anyway, I found a loophole that let me book for one night.

We showed up and checked in, and paid $8 to use the parking garage. They gave us a tag, and we drove into the designated parking area (a garage shared with a residential (?) complex.) Turns out there were only about 20 spaces reserved for the Aloft hotel in addition to those outside (which was probably another 20). Huh? I refuse to believe that many of the guests take the BUS to the Aloft hotel. Why don't you have enough parking for all of the guests? OR, why don't you keep track of how many of those parking passes you sell so that guests don't have to waste 20 minutes driving around looking for a parking space only to feel ripped off because they paid and spaces weren't available?

We finally pulled back up to the front and asked the gentleman at the valet stand if there was additional parking since the garage was full. He told us that our options were to park at the bank across the street (I'm sure the bank loves that), or to use the valet. We replied that we had already paid the $8 for the garage, and his response was that it was ok to use the valet since you had to paid the $8 to use that anyway. (Which I now believe to be false based on other reviews. So basically we were scammed out of our $8.)

We gave the car to the valet, being exhausted and just wanting to be done with it.

The room is a typical Aloft room (nice amenities, comfy bed, not-so-private toilet area) - except ours had 3 bright red juice/drink stains on the carpet. Er, might wanna get those cleaned or replaced, you guys?

Checkout was easy enough, but then the next day I noticed a $50 charge on my card. When I called to ask what it was, they said it was a hold on my card for incidentals. It was eventually released, but I'm not sure why they feel the need to do this - I've stayed at tens of hotels this year, and they are the only ones to enact a policy like this. What happened to just charging my card *IF* I bought something?

Anyway - in short, my least favorite of all the Aloft/Starwood hotels in the country. I will not be returning to stay, nor will I recommend this particular hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlust919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLozano, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hi Wanderlust919,

I appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent stay. I am sorry you experienced such an inconvenience with regards to the parking and incidentals charge. I will share your feedback with our management teams so that they can look into these issues further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

While this hotel may feel as though it has been picked up off of South Beach, Miami and placed in the academic green spaces surrounding Chapel Hill, it has all the amenities you would like for a short or extended stay. The entire hotel is decorated in a chic hip lounge design with lots of stylish lighting and geometrically patterned art. Nearly every sign, wall, piece of air, doorway, or something has been turned into a decorative lighting feature. They definitely picked a theme and ran with it, but you can appreciate the consistency although it may feel a little extra at times (i.e. - the floor in the elevator is filled with a moving gel that shifts under your weight).
The rooms are clean and quite stocked with anything you might need. The hotel staff are friendly and parking is available via valet or self parking. Each come at a cost. Self park is $8/hotel room - no limit on number of cars.
Wireless internet is available to paying guests. The gym is clean, small, and has all the equipment you would need for your run on the run. Breakfast and snack items are available for purchase in the lobby. I did not personally visit the lounge, but it seemed like an enjoyable and popular meeting spot for those on business.
I was there for a conference with friends, but the hotel seems to cater to many business folk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the main highway. A room facing the restaurant and shopping area n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SegaSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cohocton, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Aloft in Chapel Hill, NC. It was very nice, very handy, and super fantastic staff. They were helpful and telling us what sites to see and how to get around the area.
A must see is the botanical garden that is located within a mile of the hotel.
Very nice stay and we would love to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLozano, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hi Cadan,

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay. I am so glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was my first time staying at a hotel in Chapel Hills N.C. The hotel was recommended to me because of the conference I was attending nearby. The facilities were terrific...from the room to the workout facility.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmdskyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLozano, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hi jmdskyline,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and were able to take advantage of our workout facility. We hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

A great stay! Checkin was great, with very attentive and helpful staff. Room was comfortable, with a great European flair. Will definitely stay here again! Highly recommend the lounge with a great bar and pool tables!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank knobby2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I recently had a great stay at Aloft Chapel Hill. I was able to take advantage of a special rate through the UNC School of Government while I attended a conference there. I really liked the arrangement of the room compared to the more traditional away most are arranged, and I loved that there were two windows, as most hotel rooms make me feel like I'm in a dark cave. The room may feel smaller than others, but I found that I had more space, and more space to store things so they were out of the way. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The rooms were so quiet -- I don't think I ever heard the sound of another door closing or people talking in the hall. The fitness center was very nice, with a larger variety of equipment than any other hotel I've stayed in. I forgot my bathing suit and didn't get to go for a swim, but the pool was of a good size. My only complaint is that I wasn't sure about parking on my arrival -- it was not clear where to park to check in. After I checked in and was given the information to enter the parking garage, it appeared that there was a very limited amount of parking for the hotel. I will definitely stay at the Aloft next time I'm in Chapel Hill!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLozano, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Hi ncbechbaby,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback. I am so glad you enjoyed your accommodations and were able to enjoy the space in your room. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
398 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,320 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
450 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chapel Hill

Property: Aloft Chapel Hill
Address: 1001 S Hamilton Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-4409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#10 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Chapel Hill is by UNC's Campus, area universities, Research Triangle Park, and RDU Airport. Our hotel has 1,600sq ft of meeting/event space, free wifi, an indoor pool, and w xyz, a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing