We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nearby restaurant”
Review of Aloft Chapel Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aloft Chapel Hill
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a typical Aloft hotel, with comfortable rooms, friendly service, a pool table for fun at night, and valet parking. Right next door is an excellent restaurant. Don't let the "Sports Cafe" name fool you -- this place has serious chefs in the kitchen, with local ingredients and good beer. Between the hotel and the restaurant, we had a very good visit.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hello Stephen B,
Thank you for your review. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your most recent visit to Aloft Chapel Hill and were able to take advantage of the surrounding area. With numerous activities and attractions nearby the hotel, it’s easy to find a great bite or refreshing drink in addition to a memorable day or night in Chapel Hill. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stated at this hotel on a visit to UNC Chapel Hill. I rated them so high because I absolutely love Alofts. Had it been any other chain, I would have rated them average. The location is in close proximity to the campus, and it's easy to get to Franklin Street. The room was awesome; the service was fine-nothing spectacular; I wasn't a fan of the $10/night parking fee for self parking. I will stay again if I'm ever back in Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndyBelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed a couple of night during an interview at the UNC Chapel Hill. Was just a few minutes away from the university. It was located in the routes of free Chapel Hill's transportation. The room have a different look. The shower was big and comfortable. I really liked the liquid shampoo and body wash because they were very easy to use. The room have a safe for personal items. It includes two bottles of water for night. The beds were comfortable but they were "doubles" not queen. The TV includes a box were you can plug your video games/computer with HDMI, VGA...Additionally, what I most enjoyed of the stay was that the staff gave an excellent service, especially Corey in the front desk.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo_Rivera2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Hi Ricardo_Rivera2014,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I’m happy you chose Aloft Chapel Hill for your visit, as we are only minutes away from campus. I appreciate your feedback regarding the easy-to-use features and amenities, in addition to the helpful team we have at the hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I found myself here for a weekend in March when my girlfriend had to be in Chapel Hill for a nearby conference.
In terms of proximity, it's a short, ten minute cab ride into town; or a longer walk, if the weather is nice and you're feeling up for it. For convention-goers, it's rather close as well and walkable.
Upon arriving, I found that the lobby regularly hosts a dj night. Honestly, I found it pretty obnoxious. I'm not used to having to yell at the front desk staff to ask questions and communicate with them. It is unpleasant and impractical. It was too loud. Period. There's really no need…ever… for a dj in the lobby. It is not a club. There's no dance floor (thank god). And if you're shooting for the whole loungey vibe, then a good, mellow cd will do nicely. Not a full on welcome-to-our-hotel-aural-banghra-assault. Not a good first impression.
Not that they can help it, as it's a corporate design decision, but I found the front desk to be a bit odd. It's a small circular, two-person apparatus. I felt bad for the two gentlemen forced to share about five cubic feet of space. And from a guest's perspective; it does not inspire the confidence that I have their full attention; when there is no order or line and when anyone can just walk up to any part of this weird circular desk and ask for attention; thereby interrupting my check-in process.
The lobby also has a bar. It's small, but adequate and they seem to have pretty decent drink prices.
The whole place is a bit over the top neon and bright. It's not my style, as it doesn't relax me. But that's one man's opinion.
The rooms themselves were done in a similar vein, but not quite as bright and attention grabbing. In a good way though. I found the room comfortable, with all available space well utilized. Kudos to housekeeping too, as the place was spotless. The beds were comfortable. The closets were a nice design. There's a nice big tv for when you feel like lazing around. Free wifi was another appreciated amenity; though honestly, it's rather stupid of a hotel NOT to have it in this day and age. So I won't give too much credit for that. Thanks for doing what everyone should be smart enough to do, I guess. Also, even though the room faced the street outside, I really didn't hear much of the traffic. We weren't up high, either. So…sound insulation. A good thing.
The shower door leaked copious amounts of water. I called down to have it resolved, but it was not attended to. I did mistakenly leave a "do not disturb" sign on the door, but I mean…. I called the desk. I told them "I will be leaving in ten minutes. Anytime after that, you may enter and fix the shower door problem". Really, it took about four towels to sop up all the water that leaked out. That's a lot of water. Probably around a gallon or so. Instead, they brought me new towels. So they entered my room to give me replacement towels….but they were too lazy to remove the old towels and fix the problem? That is inexcusable.
The shower itself was lovely. The water pressure was wonderful and I found the little body wash and shampoo/conditioner wall pumps to be much less of a hassle than having to fiddle with some minuscule bottle and then ask for more later on. Not to mention it saves plastic and packaging. At first, I thought "Jesus…. a shampoo/conditioner combination? Like Head and Shoulders? Cheap." But it wasn't that bad, actually. Though if I was finicky, I wouldn't be terribly impressed.
The front desk staff were half and half, in terms of attitude. For amenities left at home, they had toothbrushes, but not deodorant. About half the people I encountered, either by phone or in person were very friendly and helpful. One guy I spoke with (I didn't get anyone's name) was just sort of stone-faced and looked as though he didn't particularly want to be there. Not that I ask for the cheerfulness of a waiter at Fridays or anything. But maybe crack a smile and say hello, like the others are doing.
The gentlemen (and ladies) in valet were always very pleasant and helpful.
All in all, I was not terribly impressed with my stay. I'd tell someone to explore their options pretty well before staying here. I probably would not return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainAwethume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Nice place overall. The WXYZ bar in the lobby has a couple good draft beers on tap and all of the premium liquor brands available. They also have some nice specials on the drink prices. The rooms are very nice, especially the beds which are very comfortable. My only complaint is the street noise was very loud even though I was on the 6th floor. Honestly this did cause me to loose a little bit of sleep. Overall though I would be willing to stay here again because of the great ambiance and amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirdtownRep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Hi BirdtownRep,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I’m glad you had a positive stay and were able to grab a drink at our w xyz bar. I’m sorry to hear that the street noise was loud for you, and apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused. We hope to see you next time you’re in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I had not heard of Aloft before rushing off to a gathering in Chapel Hill. Turns out it is stylish and friendly in its layout. I would have enjoyed staying there by myself. The room was smaller than some hotels, but because it was well designed, it didn't bother me. I loved the factory-turned-loft feel with colorful decorations. I didn't get a chance to try out the nice looking bar, but the food options in the lobby for snacks or breakfast were great - you can put together a healthy, fresh option.

The BEST thing, though, is the pet program. I needed to bring my dog. They don't have a limitation on dog size, like some hotels do - my pup is close to 50 pounds and well behaved and he was a welcome guest. They didn't have a bogus policy against pittie mixes either! We arrived in the room and my pup was happy to find a dog bed and double-dish for his food and water. I brought a sheet to toss over the bed, since the hotel sheets are white and it just made me feel better. When I was staying there, there were something like 10 dogs staying - which the front desk manager said was an unusually high number. Even better for dog-lovers, there is a nice dog park not too far away, near South Village (follow Rt 15/501 South). The hotel staff aren't consistently aware of the park, but you can ask about South Village Shopping area, go past it to the actual park, southern entrance.

I would definitely go back and will check out this hotel chain if I go elsewhere... with or without a dog. Way to go, Starwood!

Room Tip: Let them know ahead of time you are bringing a dog so they can outfit the room. They probably have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We make a yearly trip to Chapel Hill to visit family and this is our second stay at the Aloft Hotel. This place has one the of the quickest check-ins I've ever experienced we were in and to our room in less than five minutes. The room was clean and well stocked, the bed was comfortable and they supply easy connections to the TV to hook up any devices you may have. The only downside I experienced this time around was a lack of drawer space since this was a longer trip than last time we had more stuff and the small closet area just wasn't large enough but this is a minor issue. I was greeted with a smile ever time I walked past the front desk and by Valet (Which is free with the room). During the day this place seems deserted but at night you can find quite a few people at the bar relaxing and listening to music. The Fitness center and pool were both clean and almost empty when I went. Great place I would recommend and will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandLVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Hi JandLVacations,
Thank you for your feedback. I’m pleased to hear that you had a positive experience at our hotel, enjoying our friendly staff in addition to the hotel features and amenities. We appreciate your notes and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
33 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Chapel Hill / Southern Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,417 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
677 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chapel Hill

Address: 1001 S Hamilton Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-4409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#10 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: £83 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Chapel Hill is by UNC's Campus, area universities, Research Triangle Park, and RDU Airport. Our hotel has 1,600sq ft of meeting/event space, free wifi, an indoor pool, and w xyz, a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Aloft Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing