We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern comfort with very nice bed!”
Review of Aloft Chapel Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft Chapel Hill
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I recently stayed at Aloft Chapel Hill with my family. We have 2 small children and we couldn't have been more happy with our stay. The check in process was painless and the entire hotel was very clean. The pool area was very nice with plenty of clean towels. They even have a separate shower to rinse off once you are finished.

I read some reviews about arrogant staff and I did not see any of this. I specifically spoke with at least four members and had nothing negative to say at all. Everyone seemed happy to be there and actually seemed willing to answer any questions I had for them.

The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Even with two small children, we did not feel cramped. The toilet and shower areas were very clean and no issues at all with slow internet.

Overall, this is an excellent hotel and if you are in the Chapel Hill area, I would recommend this hotel. I don't think they will let you down.

Jamie
Charlotte, N.C.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie_CLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Jamie_CLT,
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and that we exceeded your expectations. Aloft Chapel Hill hopes that you will stay with us for your future visits and looks forward to seeing you again soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Aloft Chapel Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We recently visited Chapel Hill on business, just one night. We enjoyed the no frills hotel, with clean rooms and a comfortable bed. However, we were each (3 of us), given an handicapped room. We felt bad that we might have taken a room someone else could have used. I don't really enjoy a shower curtain, so the shower wasn't as relaxing as I had hoped. I do love the Bliss products and the free bottles of water provided. There were a few convenient restaurants nearby. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms to the left of the elevator don't overlook the main road, so much quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

SPG Status member arrived Friday around noon and sought an early check-in. Was greeted with total rudeness and arrogance from the guy at the desk, who scoffed at our request for an early check in, then denied us a late check out. It was as if we were checking into the W NYC and arrogance and rudeness were a foregone conclusion. So we hung out in the lobby with all our belongings and guess, what, there was a room available. We returned to the front desk after Mr. Arrogant left and requested a late check-out again, and were told "of course" as if it were a foregone conclusion that we would be granted late check out due to our SPG status, but clearly some Aloft staff didn't get that training. The room was standard Aloft, the bed was comfortable, and it was a fine stay... though Alofts could use a new engineer to vent the steam from the shower. Now, however, Aloft hasn't credited our SPG account and they're once again being difficult. Pity, too, because Alofts have such potential.

Room Tip: Avoid the highway side.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0rldtraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

HI w0rldtraveler007,
Thank you for your review and your loyalty to Starwood hotels. We take your review very seriously and apologize for any inconveniences you experienced on your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from a second stay at Aloft....cool, funky and colorful.Excellent shuttle service to campus( not weekends tho)...good restaurant and bar, also several decent restaurants nearby...A most comfortable stay, great rooms and service.Will book it again next time in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lastupendaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hi lastupendaboy,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your most recent stay, including our convenient shuttle and location plus our amazing team! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My family stays at this hotel frequently; we've been staying at the hotel at least five times each year for the last three years. As a frequent traveler, I see the best and the worst that the hospitality industry has to offer.

The Aloft Chapel Hill is one of the most consistently excellent hotels that I stay at regardless of price. The entire staff makes the stay easy and makes us feel like valued customers.

I have Platinum status with Starwood, and have always received the benefits that go along with that without having to ask or squabble. I'd recommend this hotel in a heartbeat if you are going to be in the Chapel Hill area.

Room Tip: We've never had a bad room in this hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily F, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hi Mike D,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your loyalty to both SPG and Aloft Chapel Hill, and we can’t wait to have you back! Your visits and feedback mean a lot to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Trendy music and decor definitely give this hotel a different vibe than your typical hotel in this range. The gel pads in the elevator that change when you step on them are pretty cool. The shower was absolutely the best hotel shower I've ever used! Usually they are kind of drippy and you can barely rinse the shampoo, but this one had great water pressure. Some nice walking trails nearby and great proximity to campus and Franklin street. Only drawback was the additional $10 / night for parking. Think I could have found another adequate hotel in the same price range with free parking.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor behind the "Aloft" sign. No view and there is a fire station...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nauticow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I like the concept of Aloft hotels, although some are better than others. This one is among the better ones. I found the bed to be more comfortable than I experienced in other Alofts.
Hotel is clean, people who work there are nice and... Dogs stay free! My dog enjoyed her stay ;-).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIOGENES L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
399 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,352 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
471 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Chapel Hill

Address: 1001 S Hamilton Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-4409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#10 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: £97 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Chapel Hill is by UNC's Campus, area universities, Research Triangle Park, and RDU Airport. Our hotel has 1,600sq ft of meeting/event space, free wifi, an indoor pool, and w xyz, a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing