We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Gourmet, luxury experience”
Review of One Restaurant - CLOSED

One Restaurant
Price range: US$50 - US$100
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: W. Barbee Chapel Road
Transit: Service by Chapel Hill Transit Authority.
Description: [ONE] offers elegantly simple cuisine paired with distinctive International wines. Integrated dining and kitchen areas allow you to watch our chefs prepare one-of-a-kind dishes that will please all the senses. Whether you are looking for a casual ambiance in which to enjoy rare wines or just a fresh take on local fare, [ONE] is your one place for good food and wine.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“True Gourmet, luxury experience”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Friend gave me a gift certificate for here, and we decided to make an evening of it, pairing dinner here with a visit to the NC symphony.
We had an early reserve at 5:30 to accommodate later plans, and were one of the first seated. Floor was abuzz with staff, significantly outnumbering patrons. Wait staff was helpful, we inquired about the full custom 7 course dinner, but opted for the 5 course tasting menu based on timelines.

Some items were better than others, but they ranged from very good to ridiculously tasty.
Portion size was small, but that was the intent. Lots of little things that are very good. Figured I would depart satisfied but not stuffed, and that was spot on.

Soup was good, liver appetizer was great. Cobia had a bitter coating on it, seemed purposefully burned, a little odd.

Service was crazily attentive but managed to stay unobtrusive.

And yeah..it's pricey.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PboroBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    38
    19
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Maybe the best meal we ever had”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Durham-Chapel Hill area is full of great restaurants, and we have eaten at all of them, but One is special.

Their attention to detail is reflected in the flavors, beauty and sheer fun of each dish, from the wonderfully imaginative appetizers to the beautiful desserts. For foodies, One is a spectacular experience, and no more expensive than the other very good restaurants hereabouts. We sat at the bar along the open kitchen, adding entertainment to the mix.

We joke that I remember every meal I've eaten in my 63 years, and many have been amazing, but One may be at the top of that long list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveBocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleigh, nc
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You Have to Try the Chef's Tasting Menu”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We just recently went to celebrate a wedding anniversary for family. The restaurant is situated in the Meadowmont area. The shopping center seems empty (though we went Memorial weekend) and not very inviting. I think North Hills is more appealing.
The restaurant interior is nice and contemporary. After looking at the menu, the group decided on the impromptu tasting menu due to some dietary restrictions. The wait staff came over and inquired about our dis/likes. Our Sommelier provided us a nice recommendation for wine. But they ran out of the wine after one bottle and the recommended replacement was not nearly as good. The chef's tasting menu turned out to be a TON of food - 6 or 7 courses. My wife and I split some of the courses so that we could try the variety of food (it was our first time at the restaurant). We pretty much enjoyed all the courses - presentation was great and the food tasted very good. The evening was quite pricey - one of the more expensive meals we ever had - but we enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbk3e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Out of this world!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We celebrated an anniversary dinner at One and had the tasting menu as a special treat. Each dish was an explosion of amazing flavors perfectly complimented by wine pairings. We had been here a few months ago and ordered off the menu with equal delight. This restaurant is on a par with any high end gastronomic experience we have had in large urban settings such as NYC and Chicago.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank golightly53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Once Again, a Fine Dining Experience”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We we here 6 months ago and loved it. Came back and loved it again. Three of us had the "Chefs' Tasting" - a five course meal with two added extras. The portions were small, exquisitely presented, unique in flavor combinations and delicious. Service was prompt, attentive, informative and not overbearing. The atmosphere is open kitchen, nice but informal. The wine list is overbearing, but "by the glass" is fine.

If you are a "foodie" or at least would like to experience what one would appreciate in fine, creative dining, then give this restaurant a visit. If you think that all this sort of thing is for weirdos, then save your money and go someplace else.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiveDog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed One Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing