We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So accommodating.....and sincere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raaga

Raaga
Ranked #62 of 285 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: US$10 - US$29
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hamilton Rd.
Description: Located in the Triangle Area of North Carolina, Raaga Restaurant & Lounge offers the best fine Indian cuisine served in an upscale, authentic Indian ambiance. Dive into our splendid menu, featuring a collection of authentic recipes that have been passed down for generations. Internationally-known chef Durga Prasad creates a cuisine that is as sophisticated as it is intoxicating. Each brilliant dish is a celebration of flavor that reflects our dedication and passion for the culinary arts.
kings mountain, nc
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So accommodating.....and sincere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

4 of us met another group of friends at the restaurant... for dinner and drinks.....the servers, hosts, and owners were present. They made sure that we had a clear understanding of the food to be served, accommodated our tastes for spices, not too hot, etc.....they also made sure one of our friends had a "safe" meal for her Celiac limitations and made 1005 sure no foods were mixed.....or contaminated.....the food, when it came out was outstanding....flavorful, distinctive, and amazing......

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    37
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Highland Heights, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Need improvements to food quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

If you are new to Indian food and have it on occasion you will enjoy food and atmosphere and might find it little pricey. I have been eating this food through out my life and want to help out people who may come to this restaurant with high expectation on quality of food based on other reviews. Fact is staff is very friendly, service is on the slower side, their Dum Biryani is a joke almost like a slap on your face as i come from city which specializes in this type of biryani(18 bucks for a child's portion), samosas are the tiniest i have ever seen (2 of them for 8 bucks), appetizers bland and taste less (chat comes with one slab of potato with rice crispies on top #ridiculous). Bottom line is good place seating and atmosphere wise but food wise very expensive and not tasty.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DealHunter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We arrived in Chapel Hill in a rainstorm and were starving. The hotel where we were staying recommended this restaurant as it was nearby and had vegetarian options. The ambiance was lovely as was the waitress. Most of the dishes we ordered were outstanding. The only complaint was the eggplant dish I ordered was so incredibly spicy (and I like spicy food) that I absolutely could not eat it and neither could my husband who can eat hot peppers without flinching. All the other dishes were home runs and we were brought extra rice so I could nibble off of my son and husband's dishes, which it turns out were more than enough food for three people. My son ordered a traditional Indian dessert (forgot the name) which was fried dough in some type of syrup. It was so horrifically sweet that he could not eat it and neither could I. We should have skipped the dessert. The rest of the meal, sans the eggplant dish, was superb.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LiveWell300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
653 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,039 helpful votes
“Raaga-Delicious Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were rather surprised to find a variety of Indian dishes at "Raaga", the Indian Restaurant at Chapel Hill. The mouth watering dishes were tempting and quite tasty.
.
Vegetable Hara Kabab (Fresh Vegetables, Potatoes, Cheese, Spiced and Minced). and the.Basil Paneer Tikka were very delicious and tasty

Lunch and Dinner are available all through the week. Raaga’s menu includes vegetarian and vegan options as well as meat and seafood choices. All can be ordered mild, medium or hot to please any palate.

We enjoyed our lunch to the utmost satisfaction and with a good feeling of having a good, fresh and tasty food.

.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KASIRAO5646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
385 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Great Food, Nice Ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our first visit here was for lunch today, and we came away very, very impressed. In fact, the dishes we had were among the very best indian dishes we've tasted, any where, any time. Raaga (which means 'sweet melody") hits all the right notes - elegant environment, great service, excellent quality, and value comensurate with that quality.

We tried 2 appetizers, and both were great. The Aloo Tikki Channa Chaat ($6 lunch portion) is a spiced potato kebab topped with tomato, chickpea masala, chutney, and puffed rice - the mingling of the flavors and textures on this dish is amazing - add a little of one the trio of chutneys, and the flavors move even higher.

The Samosas (2 well sized ones for $5) were also excellent - the filling of potato, peas & carrots was sharp in taste, not at all mushy. It was accompanied by their "Bombay Slaw", which is shredded cabbage mixed with Mint Coriander Chutney, and was another taste delight, especially in combination.

The Lamb Rogan Josh ($11 at lunch) was a great version of this classic dish - the lamb tender, the tomato and onion curry sauce was awesome, with a slowly building heat level. Loaded on the simple, tasty rice, this was as good as any I've tasted, including my own.

The second entree was Murgh Chettina ($10) is boneless chicken breast in a spicy onion and red chili gravy, and was also outstanding on the plain rice. The chicken was very tender, the gravy sublime, and the heat here also grew slowly, as it should in these dishes. We could not decide which of the 2 entrees we liked more, but we definitely finished them both.

The Naan was very well done, the trio of chutneys (Onion, Mint Coriander, & Tamirand) were also nice, and they have Kingfisher on draft (16 oz for $5) served in a very colorful Kingfisher glass.

Overall, the food here is as good as any Indian food I've eaten anywhere, and that includes NYC and London. We look forward to trying other dishes, including those on the larger dinner menu. This is not an inexpensive place to eat, and frankly very few Indian restaurants are value places based on portion size, but the quality of the food, the service, and the atmosphere makes the cost acceptable, at least to me, others may disagree.

They do offer a buffet at lunch for those needing to feel they're getting their money's worth - they had 6 curries on today, 3 meat & 3 veggies -but rarely is the spice level in buffets equal to off the menu items.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raaga also viewed

 

Been to Raaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing