We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel. A/C a little annoying.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
upstate NY
Level Contributor
365 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very good hotel. A/C a little annoying.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Service and staff are excellent at the HI Express. Good location just off the highway and about 10 min from UNC. Rooms are very nice with refrig and microwave. The only complaint is the A/C system which often felt very cold when set at 73, but felt warm at 68. It was impossible to get the room at a level temperature. Thermostat must have not been working correctly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa9962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    56
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
24
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My family stayed at the Holiday Inn which is right near a small strip mall and another small mall with restaurants. It was just 5 minutes from Univ of North Carolina where my daughter was possibly looking for college. Service at the desk was excellent and the rooms were small but just fine. The breakfast waas surprisingly good. The price was definitely right and so it was a great value to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preston F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that we were able to provide a good stay with good value for you. Please come back to visit us again when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few hours, we were visiting friends and used this as a sleepover place. Made reservations through hotwire. Checked in late at 11.30 pm. Everything was great but come Sunday morning when you have nothing else to worry about and want to sleep, we were woken up by knocks on the door, by housekeeping at 9 am, I did not want to get up and shouted saying we are sleeping, but the knocks kept coming and I had to walk to the door to say we are sleeping. Unfortunately that was it, could not go back to bed and just checked out by 9.30 am. I don't know if it's lack of training or stupidity.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peaceful H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin S, Principal Correspondent at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I sincerely apologize that we did not deliver on our goal of giving the best service for each of our guests. We will use your feedback to get better on that goal and we will make sure that we make the necessary housekeeping training adjustments. Thank you again and please give us another chance on your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I just returned from an 85 day stay, alone, at this hotel. I was there for medical treatment at UNC. The manager, Orlando Faison, has shaped the employees into a dream team. I used to be the Customer Service Trainer for a fortune 500 company. I have also taught and practiced interior design. I notice things others would not. I had a very comfortable mattress, a hi-def TV, a large enough desk to do serious work, and unfailing wi-fi. Even the shower head was wonderful. The maintenance folks, Greg and Dino, proactively maintain the rooms. That means you won't get a clanking heater/AC. Over all that time, actually nothing broke, but Dino kindly made a minor modification in my room so I could get some real fresh air.

I would never have made it for 85 days with the HIE only paying attention to the task and objects in their care. I made it because the employees are cordial and caring. To me, that's the greatest form of customer service. On the front desk, Tony often asked about my well being. Being 5.5 hrs. from my home for so long, I really appreciated it. They knew my name and had the good customer service skills to used it. Most often, Florencia cleaned my room. I wonder if the boss knows that in spite of having her own 6 kids at home, on Mother's Day, she was cleaning my room with the same big smile on her face that she always has. I was humbled. She's so good at her job, I wanted to take her home. One day, when I was ill, Sylvia in Housekeeping put some breakfast aside for me. Dino, in Maintenance is known for his random acts of kindness, in addition to his professionalism and skill. When I was too ill to lift so much as a lima bean, he assited me with bags and heavy items in and out of my car. He's focused on the needs of others and thinks out of the box.

For all kinds of good restaurants, you have only to drive less than about 4 miles in various directions to have your choice. With a fridge in the room, you can refrain from eating out too much. You'll have easy access to UNC hospitals and they offer a shuttle van to go there. This HIE has managed to plant itself in a PERFECT location. Easy driving to any and everything. If they don't have what you are looking for in a 5 mile radius, you don't need it.

I will be returning for cancer follow-up visits, and this place gives me comfort and quietness to recover. As a woman traveling alone, I was safe and happy. A special thanks to Monalynn, Clifton, Harshal, Kiara, Jed, K.C., Moe Soe, Greg, Dino, Sylvia, Tony, and Florencia, for making my life so much better than it might have been, as a cancer paitient. I am an expeienced traveler and have even had an extended stay in The Netherlands. This place is great in no small part due to the employees.

Room Tip: Room 207 is not too close to the elevator, or the ice machine, thus it's quiet. Outside the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewDog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I booked this because I was traveling on business, but stopping in Chapel Hill to visit with some old friends. The hotel is within walking distance to a strip mall that has a few restaurants, including a Thai restaurant.

This hotel sits next to a Hampton Inn but the Holiday Inn was $40/night less. Check in was easy and at the time the desk person informed that there is a manager reception in the Hampton Inn I was welcome to join if I wanted - both are owned by the same corporation so there is reciprocity.

The room was comfortable with flat screen TV and nice work area. The bed was comfortable. The free hot breakfast was fine as they go.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfstacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and our newly upgraded HD TV's! It is great to be able to share amenities with our sister property next door as well. Please do not hesitate to come back and visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel at the last minute through AAA and didn't expect much. But it was a very nice, very clean and well appointed room with very comfortable beds. The bathroom was well thought out with plenty of counter space for all our toiletries. The free breakfast was good and the staff were quite pleasant. If we go back to Chapel Hill, we would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sneaks_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the layout of our bathroom area. We realize that you have a choice when coming to our area and we thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here for one night during a quick business trip. From time to check-in to check-out, we were there for approximately 9 hours. My colleagues and I were in the area for two days. We departed early in the AM, arrived in Raleigh-Durham and traveled throughout the region all day. When we arrived at the hotel, we were travel weary and ready to hit the sack. We all had reservations that we made days before. There were three of us on the trip and two of us checked in very quickly...then, came the third. No more rooms. After 30 mins, they found our co-worker a room. Some guy who had yet to show up yet. They gave her his room. Whew! I think he came in to check out right after that, but we were not looking back! We were more than ready to collapse at that point. The rooms were clean and decent, the beds were adequate. Nothing to write home about. After squeezing in a couple of hour's of rest, we were up and off again. The check out process was relatively smooth. Overall, good enough. I didn't notice a lot of restaurants or other amenities nearby. So, I wouldn't recommend it for a long-term stay. But, if you want a decent place to stay on a quick business trip, then it's good enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the glitches you encountered. We will definitely use this as a learning experience for our staff members. We hope to see you again at our hotel so that we can WOW you with our improved service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.8 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
447 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#8 of 18 in Chapel Hill
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
417 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
441 reviews
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
Address: 6119 Farrington Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-9467
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#8 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 miles from the University of North Carolina and downtown Franklin Street's shopping and dining district the Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill is your home away from home for all of your Tar Heel needs . With our excellent customer service, southern hospitality and Manager's Reception Tuesday Thursdays your experience with us will make you a fan for life. All 64 of our beautiful spacious guest rooms are equipped with micro-fridges and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Some of our other features include a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast, 24 hour business center, local shuttle service, meeting space that accommodates up to 40 people, 24 hour fitness room, complimentary access to an off site full service gym and free guest/motor coach parking. For your convenience we are located only minutes away from UNC Hospitals, the Friday Center, Quadrangle Business Park, Research Triangle Park (RTP), the Dean Dome, the Carolina Basketball Museum (opened January 2008) Keenan Stadium, Finley Golf Course, Raleigh Durham International Airport, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Duke University, Duke Hospitals, Streets of South Point Mall, the Durham Bulls Stadium, Carter Finley Stadium and the RBC Center home of the Carolina Hurricanes.No matter what brings you to Chapel Hill we're sure your experience with the Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill will exceed all of your expectations. We can t wait to be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing