We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We needed a nice, comfortable hotel close to our family. The staff was warm and welcoming. The hotel lobby was inviting and clean. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We would stay here again as well as recommend for others to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and hope that you will be back to stay with us soon. We look forward to serving you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    152
    40
    12
    13
See reviews for
310
85
33
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We spent 6 nights visiting our daughter for Christmas.

The property was your usual Hampton Inn. The rooms were spacious and clean. The heater, though, was too noisy especially on high. The front desk staff was professional but not overly friendly.

Breakfast was good. Once again it was your usual Hampton Inn breakfast which I think is better than a Denny's. There was oatmeal, dry cereals, fresh waffles, bagels and bread, some type of eggs and sausage and bacon, fruit and yogurt. The coffee, I think, is pretty good. There is also tea. Anything you could really want for breakfast. The staff in the kitchen was very friendly and helpful. We've stayed in other Hampton Inns in other parts of the country and this one was on par with those.

The pool is outside. This is good for the summer, but not the winter.

The gym was very well equipped, much better than the Hampton Inn we stayed in visiting our other daughter near Denver.

The hotel is convenient to I-40, Durham, Chapel Hill and Carrboro.

When we visit our daughter again, we will certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced during your stay. I thank you for bringing your experience to our attention as the issues presented are not indicative of our standards. I will be sharing your review with our staff and will have corrective measures put into place. I do hope if your travels bring you back to the Chapel Hill area that you will give us another chance to show our true southern hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was a most pleasant two-night business trip because of the accommodations. The complimentary appetizers were an unexpected treat in the evening. If our business takes us to this area again we will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Music1Lynchburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your review and for visiting us on a business adventure. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you again on your return. Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Overall the visit was okay. This is our second stay within 3wks. Both visit we experience the same. Which was during our stay housekeeping just was pleased with. We stayed three days and within those days housekeeping clean once. Then I had to call and asked for that service. We left and returned and no one cleaned and our trash was over flowing. Call front desk several times and the phone just ring over and over again. Had to call over and over again. Why?????? I will contact management.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We appreciate you sharing your experience and I am sharing your review with our staff. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced as this is completely unacceptable and we are better than this. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you, so we can make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The rooms are large and comfortable. We stayed twice. The first room we stayed in (Rm, 404) was quiet, possibly because there were less guests banging doors and speaking, but also because the a/c was quieter as well as the fridge. The second time (Rm 104) the a/c was noisy, and we would wake up thinking a plane was about to take off. In the end we turned off the a/c and slept better. Unfortunately, room doors close loudly and with people leaving early we would be woken early with the sound of the doors banging.

Parking was good and the location close to my son's home was good. The breakfast was ok,but I object to polystyrene and plastic and think of the landfills. Surely it's not difficult to fit a dishwasher?

Room Tip: Fourth floor is probably quieter than the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again.

I hope that you will be pleased to find that our breakfast utensils and plates are a Enviro-ware product. When you chose to stay with Hampton Inns, you will find that our brand is environmentally friendly.

If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Excellent hotel in a very convenient location. Staff was very helpful and room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast in morning has lots of choices. We were visiting with relatives in the area, so we did not use many of the services offered by this hotel. We plan to stay here during every visit to the Chapel Hill area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Roamingoldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you were very pleased with both of your room experience and breakfast. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to fully enjoy our hotel amenities at its very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is just what anyone should expect from a busy and well cared for hotel in this category.
The rooms are clean and well maintained. Housekeeping was attentive to specific needs and cleaned in a professional manner. All staff performed their duties well, which is because of a high level of training and good management oversight.
This hotel is perfect for short stays, if you are in the area on business, visiting UNC or a family outing.
Just what a budget hotel should be!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are incredibly proud of our wonderful staff and the exceptional customer service experience that they are able to provide our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
398 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,320 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
450 reviews
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
265 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Address: 6121 Farrington Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-9467
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Durham. The area around our Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham boasts some of the most respected and historic universities in the United States. When you're staying with us, you're on hallowed North Carolina ground-a collegiate home to hundreds of thousands of alumni. Traditions here date back to 1789. And yet despite all the venerable history and institutions, both Chapel Hill and Durham buzz with a vibrant hum of activity. From concerts to theater, from football to poetry-you'll find it all here, near our hotel in Chapel Hill. So come stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham. We think you'll enjoy a visit to our area, where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area Hotel Chapel Hill
Hampton Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing