We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for UNC Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient for UNC Visit”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a bit nicer than the average Hampton Inn. Everyone was friendly. They even called a neighboring hotel to find something I needed. Breakfast was great. The only negatives were 1) the room smelled a little stale, 2) there was a spot on the bath mat/towel that was worn through. Those things were minor. Some HI's have microwaves. This hotel had a fridge, but no mw in the room. Overall, nice place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. We appreciate the kind words and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I will be sharing your review with our staff to ensure your situation doesn't happen again. This isn't acceptable by our standards and we certainly don't want this to happen again in the future. I am glad to hear that we were able to accommodate your request. We look forward to your return visit in the future and making your stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    148
    38
    10
    13
See reviews for
298
82
29
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed at the Chapel Hill hotel on Farrington Rd. I was more than pleasantly suprised at how much I enjoyed the hotel. Although it is modest, the accommodations and service were quite good. I would recommend it and stay there again in a minute.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am very happy that we were able to make such an impact on your recent trip to Chapel Hill! We employ some of the best staff around and they do their very best to ensure that everything – down to the smallest detail – is perfect so that the guest’s stay is the best ever! I am so pleased that we achieved this with your stay. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed for two nights with a group of high school students driving through North Carolina to see colleges. The staff was friendly, responded to all of our needs, and treated us well both days. The rooms were great and the proximity to Chapel Hill, Raleigh, and Durham made this the perfect place to be.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review about your recent stay! We try very hard to make sure every guest has the best stay possible – and it’s a team effort! From our front desk staff to our housekeeping staff, everyone has a part to play in ensuring that every guest is satisfied. We are glad you chose us for your tour of colleges in NC......I'd like to add....GO TAR HEELS.....We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a very nice, clean hotel in a great area. Check-in was quick and easy, though I did prepay to get a discounted rate. The beds were comfortable and clean, and the bathroom was also clean and stocked with the usual amenities. It was a comfortable room. We did have two issues. The mattress on the sofa bed was old and thin and unusable. We had to close it and sleep on top, which was also uncomfortable because it was just a bit short. The other problem was we couldn't get one of the DVD players to work. Since we arrived after midnight and left first thing in the morning, we didn't have time to discuss these issues with the management. If we had more time, I would have dealt with them and made sure I received satisfaction. Overall I was happy with the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure the sofa bed is usable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced. It is not acceptable by our standards and we will have this addressed and corrected immediately. Although we are glad that you were happy overall, when traveling back to Chapel Hill, I do hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

After a full day of meetings it was peaceful, quiet and relaxing to snuggle under my crispy white comforter. The staff was professional: friendly, courteous and responsive. The breakfast, included in the price of the room, offered a variety of items from eggs and bacon to waffles or fresh fruit and yogurt. They also had an afternoon snack for guests. The aroma tempted the healthy snacker as well as the hungry.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kyung E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves on having some of the friendliest, most knowledgeable staff around and I am so happy to see that they did not disappoint. I agree that the bedding is restful, indulging and the food aromas are tantalizing. I will share your comments with the staff and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The free breakfast, 24-hour coffee station, and WIFI were all nice perks to the experience. The staff were also polite and helpful, and parking was very convenient as well. It's nice that they have a gym you can use, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Risa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed the gym and your stay. Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to serving you the next time you visit the Chapel Hill Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have been to this location on several different ocassions. Great location, great staff, great place to stay. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and hotel is well maintained. Thanks for the great service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 662christopherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad that you chose us and that we impressed you enough to return again and again! Please let us know if there is anything else that we can do to make your stay more enjoyable! And thank you for allowing us to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.8 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#8 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Address: 6121 Farrington Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-9467
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Durham. The area around our Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham boasts some of the most respected and historic universities in the United States. When you're staying with us, you're on hallowed North Carolina ground-a collegiate home to hundreds of thousands of alumni. Traditions here date back to 1789. And yet despite all the venerable history and institutions, both Chapel Hill and Durham buzz with a vibrant hum of activity. From concerts to theater, from football to poetry-you'll find it all here, near our hotel in Chapel Hill. So come stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham. We think you'll enjoy a visit to our area, where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area Hotel Chapel Hill
Hampton Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing