We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
United States
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We did not have a choice as to hotels, but the organizer for our group did a fantastic job in selecting this location. Would definitely recommend staying here, and would do so again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bob & Marge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your recent stay at our hotel. I am so happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel! We pride ourselves on having knowledgeable and friendly staff and I am glad that you feel that your organizer for your group did such a fantastic job in selecting our hotel. I will be sure to share your compliments with our team. Thank you again for choosing the Hampton Inn Chapel Hill and we hope to see you again on your next trip through town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    148
    38
    11
    13
See reviews for
300
82
30
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Very large rooms. I would definitely stay there for a long business stay. Close to interstates and major restaurant chains. Also close to Carrboro and UNC-Chapel Hill. Both foodie Meccas and art centers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank C. Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing us for your accommodations. We are honored and privileged to serve you and are excited to be your hotel when visiting the Chapel Hill area. We look forward to serving you again if your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
257 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Reasonably priced Hampton. Not the best Hampton that we ever stayed. Breakfast was very good. We stayed in Room 223 and when we entered the room, it reeked of stale smoke.
I went to the desk immediately because you sign an agreement that if you smoke in
the room, you will be charged $250. Well I don't smoke in
rooms and I always request non smoking. I asked for another room but they were booked. They did comp our room. But do not stay in room
223. It us gross.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for choosing the hotel for your accommodations. I apologize for the inconvenience experienced, and I appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We strive daily to present the best in product, service and experience. Although it is difficult at times to prevent smokers from smoking in the room, we take every effort to be sure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards, and we fail short of those expectations. I am glad to hear that when you brought this matter to the team that we stood behind our Hampton Commitment. Although we have deep cleaned the room and taken every measure and brought the room to the high quality of our brand. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future, and hopefully on such occasion we can start to rebuild your trust in our hotel. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel during your next visit to the Chapel Hill Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

After a longish drive from Washington and sightseeing at nearby Duke University, we were just looking for a place to stay and came across the Hampton Inn Chapel Hill.

A quick check-in where we were told the Manager was putting on drinks and a snack and we thought that's exactly what we want. We spent the next hour in a pleasant environment where the walls have lots of great University of North Carolina basketball photo's.

I would certainly stay again.

The quality of breakfast was really good and staff were always helpful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kjb3stop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We are glad you were able to stay with us on a short notice! Thank you for your kind words about the staff and facilities and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Great staff, and very friedly. Excellent location for Chapel Hill and Durham. The rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. I very much enjoyed the breakfast of eggs, meat, potatoes (mm- lemon potatoes), the fruit and the lovely woman who brought mints by every morning. The only drawback was that the pool was cold, but this was not too bad for beginning of April and we still enjoyed laying out in the sun during some free time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
I want to first thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our property! I am so happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us. We pride ourselves in having some of the best staff around, from our breakfast hostess, housekeeping to front desk! I am so glad the weather was nice enough for you to enjoy our patio. We try very hard to make sure that every guest has the best stay possible – you trust us with providing a pleasant place to stay during your travels, we try our very best to deliver! Thank you again for writing such a kind review and I look forward to seeing you on your next trip through Chapel Hill!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for a graduation at UNC- Chapel Hill with family with a toal of 3 rooms. Rooms were clean and spacious. We got a king suite as a gathering point for our group and had plenty of room to spare. Had a quality breakfast each morning and the staff was very helpful in providing information on the local area. Staff was extemely helpful when we had a sick grandchild one evening. Very convienent location just off I-40 and just down the street from the UNC campus.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We take a lot of pride in giving excellent service to every single guest, and I am so happy to see that you enjoyed yourself while staying with us. We have an awesome staff and they work very hard to ensure that every guest feels welcomed and comfortable. I am glad to know that the staff was able to assist you when your grandchild was ill. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chapel Hill area, and let us know if there is anything that we can do for you. Once again thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn, and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ride, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My stay was one of worry free. It was everything a traveler needs and more. The room was clean including the bathroom and quiet. The service as a hole is right up there with best in the hotel business. I travel approximately fifteen thousand miles per year. I spend quite a few night in hotel all over the United States.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine C, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review about your recent stay with us at Hampton Inn Chapel Hill. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.We try very hard to make sure every guest has the best stay possible – and it’s a team effort! I hope you are able to come visit again very soon! Thank you again for allowing us to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
4.0 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,281 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
447 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#8 of 18 in Chapel Hill
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
418 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
3.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Address: 6121 Farrington Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-9467
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet...welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Durham. The area around our Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham boasts some of the most respected and historic universities in the United States. When you're staying with us, you're on hallowed North Carolina ground-a collegiate home to hundreds of thousands of alumni. Traditions here date back to 1789. And yet despite all the venerable history and institutions, both Chapel Hill and Durham buzz with a vibrant hum of activity. From concerts to theater, from football to poetry-you'll find it all here, near our hotel in Chapel Hill. So come stay with us at the Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in Chapel Hill/Durham. We think you'll enjoy a visit to our area, where cutting-edge research and Southern ivy traditions meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area Hotel Chapel Hill
Hampton Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing