We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Rizzo Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rizzo Center
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lewisville, Nc 27023
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My son and I stayed at the Rizzo just prior to freshman orientation at Carolina. The room exceeded our expectations in size, decor, amenities and cleanliness. The workout room was superb for a hotel and the snack kitchen on our floor was filled with a variety of complementary selections, including a freezer filled with treats such as Ben & Jerry's ice cream. Breakfast was included and was served at the DuBose home on-site. The food and service was fabulous; still thinking about those cheese blintzes. I would highly recommend this hotel. I have already made reservations for the weekend of my daughter's graduation this coming May!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    54
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
93
37
13
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh North Carolina Usa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I have stayed twice at this destination for professional conferences. The hotels rooms are nice and comfortable and appropriate for the price. The food, however, is exceptional. Every meal, from buffets to individual dining is excellent, using local ingredients and creative approaches. The vegetable dishes are all unique and exquisite. The quality, even on the buffet is top notch. This is really one of the first conference centers I've been to where the food is far beyond conference expectations.

Room Tip: I've always been able to request a room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaleighGuywkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The rooms are well decorated and have excellent amenities. The bed is lush and the bathroom lovely. I was there for a conference and amazed each day by the food service and staff friendliness. They have a free shuttle that will take you around Chapel Hill. The shuttle driver, Sam, is charming and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend the Rizzo for any conference, or even just a stay over in Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginlynking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Excellent (although expensive) place to stay and attend a week of training with UNC. Rooms were very nice, with excellent service. Nicely stocked refrigerators full of free snacks (soda, ice cream.) Exercise room was large and adequate for the week, although it could use more equipment for the space. Meal package with the college was fantastic, but can make you gain 10 pounds! Business center was very small, but the many conference rooms in the hotel all had accessible internet, as did the college next door. Go if you can afford it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoVo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I just spent the weekend here with my mother and sister. I worked in this industry for many years and have never written a review before....this place is amazing. clean clean clean, service sevice sevice and food and beverage leaves nothing to be desired.
To quote my sister " you almost only have to think of something and they do it" From the directions to Dicks Sports left under our door after a simple inquiry as to where there was a sporting goods store, to the desk agent who researched and found a place we had seen on food network but could not remember the name or very many details the service was outstanding. Don't miss the continuous coffee break stations with things like M&M's Dove bars and great jelly beans or breakfast in the DuBose House!!! Grounds are perfect, gym is a real gym - not a universal and a treadmill...If you end up in the area don't be fooled by the "conference center" concept. This place is a a great secret that should be discovered.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pyross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, NC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2005

This is an extremely nice facility with wonderful snacks and a lovely breakfast. The individual rooms are only above average but the overall ambiance of the entire spread is outstanding. It has a nice out-in-the-country kind of feel but that isn't much help if you need an in-town parking place for a game. The Carolina Inn is in town and much more charming but this is a good second or third choice in Chapel Hill on the many occassions when the Carolina Inn is booked. Actually, second choice would probably be the Sheraton, neck and neck with the Rizzo Center. I'm not totally impressed with The Sienna...something genuine just seems to be missing there.

  • Stayed September 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dowagerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.8 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,297 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
1.8 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#8 of 18 in Chapel Hill
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rizzo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rizzo Center

Property: Rizzo Center
Address: 150 DuBose Home Lane, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-8944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rizzo Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this rare retreat, set amid 30 acres of natural woodlands. Created for the University of North Carolina's Kenan-Flagler Business School's executive education, Rizzo Center combines sophisticated meeting facilities with a beautiful setting and memorable Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rizzo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rizzo Center Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing