We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate”
Review of Rizzo Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rizzo Center
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 August 2012

double queen room, guest laundry, guest pantry, breakfast in the Dubose House, umbrellas by the front door, pool, many different lounge areas, eagles nest visible from balcony, all the charm, warmth, comfort and friendly folks you might find at any grand southern plantation. WOW am I happy we found this hidden gem. Many longtime Chapel Hill residents were unaware of this property. You won't be disappointed if you choose to stay here.

Room Tip: double queen is much larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endlessummer7084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

Recently completed a 5 day visit to the UNC Rizzo Campus for a Logistics seminar - and this property does everything right.
HOTEL: Nearly on the level of Ritz.....as far as furnishings and room layout goes. I had a single queen room, with crown molding, roomy bathroom and leather recliner. L shaped desk was more than ample for business requirements. LCD flat screen TV and a small fridge. Rooms are beautiful.
FOOD: Truly 5 star every-single-meal every day! Seriously.....not one bad meal. And, with my rate, all meals (not just breakfast) but ALL meals were included.
EXTRAs: Pool and fitness center were outstanding. Complimentary sodas, water, popcorn and frozen treats are included as is free self-serve laundry facilities.
CONs: The parking lot is an uphill hike and the property is not close to the main campus.....but, if you have a car you will have no problems.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARATHON-MCPO-USN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I have stayed in many hotels but this is the first hotel I have been moved to write about! My son participated in the UNC Football Camp this past weekend and comments on Trip Advisor were true! This "hotel" is only about a ten minute drive from the campus and is a cross between a hotel and a resort experience. As you drive into the property you know you are in for a treat. This property is apparently part of the UNC School of Business and is used for various conferences. When we drove into the property and inquired where do we check in (McClean House) of someone who was part of several groups that were walking around the property , one woman shot back "This is a hotel? I did not know that!" Highlights: the pantry filled with free ice-creams, and fresh coffee; The breakfast at the DuBose mansion across the road with at least six different buffet stations with the feel of the old south, white tablecloths, real silverware, china plates, servers--1 breakfast per room was included and just 12 dollars more for another adult! This is all just a few more bucks than the average hotel experience. There is a shuttle van that comes and goes on demand to the campus if you are concerned about parking there. There is a sports bar on the property that serves food until 10pm. The only downside was that the main parking lot is located down the hill from the property so if you have family who has trouble walking up hills, let your family out at the hotel and go back and park the car and walk it back yourself. I guess this was to keep the noise level down from the property.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMGWdbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Everything about the hotel I rate as excellent. A rare experience of quality and value

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

After getting asked to leave the Marriott as the "over booked", we were sent to this absolutely wonderful Gem!

It was beautiful, quiet, and they were very accommodating. The Guest Pantry is open 24 hours a day and we enjoyed the full size beverages and Snacks.

The breakfast is not only well done the setting was beautiful, it was welcoming, delicious, and relaxing.

I will only stay here in the future when I am in Chapel Hill and I am a frequent traveler.

Great Job!!!

Room Tip: You may have to make a short walk up a beautifully landscaped brick walk way if the parking lot next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mLIZp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Rizzo Center rooms are spacious and immaculate; conference rooms available day and night; refrigerators stocked with complimentary soda/water/juices and ice cream on every floor. Delicious buffet
Breakfast in the DuBose mansion across the way for just $9 more/night is an EXCELLENT value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluehill88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Great location, rooms and facilities. Guest pantry with unlimited beverages and goodies was awesome. Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.1 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,459 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Chapel Hill / Southern Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rizzo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rizzo Center

Address: 150 Dubose Home Ln, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-8944
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: £117 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rizzo Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this rare retreat, set amid 30 acres of natural woodlands. Created for the University of North Carolina's Kenan-Flagler Business School's executive education, Rizzo Center combines sophisticated meeting facilities with a beautiful setting and memorable Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rizzo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rizzo Center Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing