We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I laughed, I cried, It was better than "Lion King!"”

Paul Green Theater, Playmakers Repertory Company
Attraction details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“I laughed, I cried, It was better than "Lion King!"”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The shows here are professionally done and very entertaining. There's not a bad seat in the house. The staff helps with any of your needs. On opening night, they always have food and drink. Wonderful!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Delancey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of the Things that Makes Chapel Hill Special”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Paul Green is a small but lovely facility in UNC's drama school. There are no bad seats in the auditorium. The theater manages to obtain some excellent talent each season, including some members of the UNC drama faculty.

The theater puts on a half dozen or so plays each year. We haven't attended one yet that we didn't thoroughly enjoy. Being able to see decent theater is one of the things that makes Chapel Hill a great small town, the musical equivalent being Memorial Hall across campus. UNC attracts talent that other towns this size could not.

There is a parking garage behind the Drama school.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No better place for live theater”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We love the Paul Green Theater. It's a marvel of disguise - first a ship, then a 1950s house, then a Shakespearean forest. Amazingly good performances, but I especially appreciate the set design and costumes. Always a treat. Season ticket holders for years and year! And what a bargain for Broadway quality shows!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Wonderful-to-Excellent Theater”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Highly recommended local troupe. I suggest you look through their calendar yearly - they have a good mix of well established favorites and newer and off-beat selections. Find some that pique your interest and then, if you're flexible about the dates, you can usually find some cheaper nights (some even with General Admission). Seen more than five plays here including Shakespeare and have never been disappointed.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank jahausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Variety & Fresh approaches.”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Small and intimate, this theater in the round serves up even old standards in new & innovative ways. Rarely a bad show.

Helpful?
Thank dragonmumLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paul Green Theater, Playmakers Repertory Company also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing