We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lard Have Mercy! SCOTS show great!”

Paul Green Theater, Playmakers Repertory Company
Attraction details
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lard Have Mercy! SCOTS show great!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The historic Playmakers theater was the venue for the Southern Culture on the Skids concert after the UNC Libraries' opening of the exhibit, Lard Have Mercy, which focused on the 30-years-together band, within their Southern History Collection. We have normally seen SCOTS at the Cat's Cradle in Carrboro or in Raleigh at a club that is now closed. The acoustics weren't great, but the venue quite interesting as I learned from the person sitting next to me that this was where Andy Griffith got his start. It has no AC (not a problem in mid-March), limited heat (radiators), and in the summertime the large barn-door type windows can be open-air. I look forward to an opportunity to visit Playmakers again soon and look into offerings at the Paul Green Theater - both close to home and with such history!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always enjoy playmakers”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

great theatre group. Wonderful productions. The community evenings are quite a reasonable way to get to enjoy live theatre often. For the most part, very contemporary plays and interpretations of.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lscott18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great plays”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The layout of the theater seats is simply above average - no matter where you sit, you have a great view of the stage. This is not often t he case. The plays we have seen have always been very good and we look forward to seeing Cabaret. We wish they had more performances in the afternoon, even during the week.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johhny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Seating!”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

All the seats are excellent and thus you have an excellent view of the stage. We saw The Imaginary Invalid and enjoyed the play although would have preferred a more "Moliere" interpretation. Playmakers should have matinees during at least once during the week.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“I laughed, I cried, It was better than "Lion King!"”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

The shows here are professionally done and very entertaining. There's not a bad seat in the house. The staff helps with any of your needs. On opening night, they always have food and drink. Wonderful!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Delancey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paul Green Theater, Playmakers Repertory Company also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing