We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went there for the great cocktails”
Review of The Crunkleton

The Crunkleton
Ranked #29 of 291 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a bar more than a restaurant...
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Went there for the great cocktails”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Weird name & yes someone in your party should be a member, but only $5 for an annual membership. The bar has a huge selection of whatever takes your fancy & bartender very knowledgeable about different spirits, cocktails & blends. Nice seating away from the bar with pool table at the back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cam2034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    13
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hotspot for drink enthusiasts”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The Crunkleton is in the heart of Chapel Hill, and stays very busy. They have a lovely selection from their bar and the bartenders know what they're doing. This is a great place to go with a group of friends. Just be warned: it can get very busy and kind of jammed, and, like at any bar, it can get expensive quickly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtly23
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our hotel recommended this place as their bar was under renovation and had limited drink selections. Apparently you have to be a member to enter, but wen we told them our hotel sent us they allowed us in as guests. Our bartender seems ornery. This is a great place if you like traditional liquor drinks. I like specialty martinis and the two he made for me were gross. We spent a lot of money on drinks I had to suffer to get down. Next time we're in town we'll skip this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank courtly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My favorite local bar”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I don't do much barhopping these days, but the Crunkleton is a soothing, upscale, adult place to have a wonderful cocktail. No food, no loud beer drinkers, no loud music--just comfortable furniture, excellent bartenders and a quiet, clubby atmosphere. Note that you have to pay the $5 membership charge the first time you go, but it's a lifetime membership and you can take three guests on every visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manvel, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice experience for a group of friends and family!”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We had a group of people that were in town for a wedding and the owner set up the front area for us to gather and enjoy each other. A wonderful experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crunkleton also viewed

 

Been to The Crunkleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing