We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Bar for Late Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Residence

La Residence
Ranked #99 of 289 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Pritchard Ave
Transit: Chapel Hill Transit Lines CW, FG less than one block from Chapel Hill city center and most Bus Stops.
Description: A Chapel Hill landmark since 1976, La Residence offers an American inspired twist on classic French food. Join us tonight for an exceptional dining experience.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best Bar for Late Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is the late night spot to hit up in Chapel Hill. Everybody that goes there will tell you how awesome this place is. Don't let the frat all-stars scare you off. This place is always packed and always has the best crowds.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dstadunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    6
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Dining at La Rez”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were in Chapel Hill for New Years Eve and had dinner at La Rez. The 3 course $50 prix fixe was a good value compared to other restaurants in the area that were doing prix fixe however at all including La Rez you probably end up spending more than when dining and ordering off the regular menu. The wine pairings were a good deal at $12 for each person. There was a wine for each of the three courses.
The service was outstanding. Zeke our server was very attentive and seemed to enjoy what he was doing. The other servers who were not assigned to our table were also attentive and would ask how we were doing and if we needed anything when they passed by. Watching other tables I would say everyone dining was getting first class service.
I have dined here in the past not on New Years Eve and had a good experience then too. The restaurant is not on the Franklin Street and I think gets overlooked. It is definitely worth getting off the main drag by a block to try this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fine food in Chapel Hill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Always a great place to dine on any ocassion. We ventured out on a rainy, bleak evening and had a wonderful meal at a table by the fireplace. This restaurant has been a favorite place since it opened in the 70's

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Noone seems to know what they are doing - the restaurant is not very pretty - our waiter was not very good - and worst of all the food was a Big Disappointment - none of us would go back. It was family that dined but we are all adults.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janelajoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Make a res at La Rez - you will not be disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

My son's birthday was coming up. He is in that big meat and potato phase of life. Since it was a big milestone birthday, we wanted a special place. The other requirement was beef - maybe Beef Wellington, like Dad makes?....well.
First, it was the best beef wellington - ever...marinated using the Sous Vide method and prepared with St. Andre cheese - a favorite of ours. It WAS AWESOME. We dined outside - and had the entire patio virtually to ourselves. Very nice - with a fountain bubbling. Perfect for the occasion.
The waiter was great too - taking time to speak with us and explaining the preparation techniques. We all left with big smiles on our faces and happy tummies.
Don't let this Chapel Hill institution be overlooked!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TeressaNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Residence also viewed

 
Chapel Hill, NC
 

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing