We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite”
Review of Talullas

Talullas
Reserve with OpenTable
Talullas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 289 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Roberson Street
Description: When you walk through the shadowed glass doors of Talulla's, an instant transformation begins to occur. Your mind and body begin to relax. Your ears pick up on the eclectic mix of music. Your eyes wonder around the walls, decorated in Turkish rugs; then the ceilings, scattered with warm, unique lighting pieces; then the floors... the dark, hardwood floors; and finally, across the plush seating areas, disguised by cushions and pillows and fabric leisurely draped around the frames.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not my favorite”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The atmosphere is interesting and the service good. I felt the quality of the food was average and the cost high.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank friendstravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    56
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
150 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Turkish Restaurant”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a nice little boutiquey Turkish restaurant in Chapel Hill. Great ambiance, with various types of oriental rugs hung on the wall (from Persian to Turkish to Indian when we were there). Our waiter was very friendly and attentive and made menu recommendations for us when asked that were delicious. I had the lamb shank and it was great. Note: they do serve alcohol.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bostondave11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunn, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So romantic!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My fiance and I stopped in without reservations on a weekend night just to get Turkish coffee and baklava. The host seated us in a raised table in the corner which is partially curtained off from the main dining room. Heavy Turkish drapes, lattice scrolls, beautiful pillows and really just big enough for the two of us (ok, 4 people if we weren't being so selfish!) was so romantic! The coffee and baklava were wonderful. We will definitely come back for dinner some time!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodNeighbors0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
338 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Outstanding Turkish food”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We ate here during Triangle restaurant week and ate from the special menu with wine pairings. We have never eaten Turkish food before but have eaten in North Africa and the middle East and the food is similar. I can honestly say that the food is the best of that type that I have ever eaten. Not only did the her produce some exotic flavours but the presentation was the equal of many haute cuisine establishments. The restaurant is a little dark and there are no table cloths. Our waiter was excellent and gave us lots of information both about the food and also about upcoming restaurant events.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Talulla's is awesome turkish”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

great atmosphere, very pleasant wait staff. The FOOD is tops - best Turkish we've had in the RTP area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lscott18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Talullas also viewed

 

Been to Talullas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing