We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love Pepper's Pizza”
Review of Pepper's Pizza - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pepper's Pizza
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“love Pepper's Pizza”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Have heard a rumor that Pepper's Pizza on Franklin St. will be closing; and that a chain 'Waffle House' will be replacing it. That will be a sad day for Carolina. We already have a local waffle place 'Ye Olde Waffle House' and while that gets crowded, it suffices.
Went downtown to a movie, and decided to see if Pepper's was still open - YES.
You can order slices, or a whole pizza, with toppings to your taste.

I'm fussy about pizza crust - like it thin, but not cardboard tasting - and marinara sauce. Pepper's is by far my favorite in Chapel Hill. I will hate to see it go. Salads are always fresh and crisp too.

Go now - in case you can't later!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolinanorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Studenty pizza place”
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

UNC students abound here, but it's not an amazing place - it's a nice, fun restaurant. People have commented on the service, which we found charming and obliging. The pizza is thin-crust and inexpensive. Very limited drinks menu, but it's not a place to booze - there are many fun bars in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmnonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I am a picky pizza eater. My favorite food is pizza, but I go out for pizza infrequently, because I am always disappointed. I went to Pepper's Pizza three times in one week! I liked their pizza. The restruant is a hole in the wall, but the price is right and the pizza is good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CSwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Franklin Street landmark”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Best fresh salad in town. Order your pizza "well done" for a crispier crust.
Look past the waiters' appearance, the Pepper's staff has a work ethic and service standard rarely found in restaurants today.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bkhchapelhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“PEPPERS aren't the only thing you can get on your pizza!”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Back in my UNC grad school days, this was a favorite lunch or dinner joint. Today, Pepper's Pizza is still an iconic, if not punk rock-ish, restaurant find. While the restaurant has expanded, there remains the commitment to kitchen staff with purple hair and multiple piercings. If college rockers are not your style, trust me. Step out of your comfort zone, and order a slice of pizza in one of Pepper's booths. Try the signature "Ball Park" pizza (pulled pork, with pesto, feta, and sausages), or a self-designed slice of either cheese, pesto, or white pizza with a huge host of topping options.

Located just off of the UNC Chapel Hill campus on E. Franklin St., Pepper's is a must for pizza snobs.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pepper's Pizza also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing