We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”
Review of West End Wine Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
West End Wine Bar
Ranked #7 of 13 Nightlife in Chapel Hill
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on Chapel Hill’s bustling Franklin Street, West End Wine Bar is an escape from the ordinary. Three floors of distinctive style create the ideal setting for a private party or a night on the town. Enjoy your virtual visit and then come join us for a real one. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We went to this bar with a couple of friends to have drinks, appetisers and chat. There are many options of pizza in the menu, and two pizzas were ordered. One of the pizzas ordered took an hour to be in our table. The next pizza (ordered at the same time) came 30min latter. This one, which was a veggie option in the menu, came with bacon and sausage. They didn't apologise for anything and the overall experience was disappointing. If you go, be prepared to only have drinks, or wait hours for your food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jgb_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely local libations”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Loved the ambiance and the staff could not be more accommodating. Great menu for appetizers and heavier food to go with the wine. Will return for sure.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaks827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Somewhat cosmopolitan, with a good selection of wines. Basement pool tables and relaxed atmosphere, also a nice roof deck. So it's three levels. It can get pretty crowded on the weekends. During the school year, it can definitely be full of some pretty stuffy/snobby people on the weekends. Nearby is a small hole in the wall place called the Cave, which is a real neat alternative when in that part of town. Krunkelton down the street is a good place too, real chill with a nice liquor selection. Overall a nice side of town.

Helpful?
2 Thank jahausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge Mountains
Level Contributor
118 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Strange place.”
Reviewed 18 November 2007

My husband and I went to the West End Wine Bar in November 2007. First off, we ordered wine, of course. They didn't have EITHER of the wines that were on the menu that we ordered, so we painfully watched a bartender make a call to someone about this issue. We finally settled for a couple of wines that they actually had in stock. Secondly, one of the bartenders took his shirt off behind the bar in order to change clothes. He was naked from the waist up while we sipped our vino. Bizarre. Thirdly, there was no one in the place. The staff was polite, but really didn't seem to be into wine. We didn't stay for food because we were afraid that whatever we ordered would be unavailable. Maybe we hit them on a bad night, a Saturday night? We won't be going back here. Nice sofas though.......nice lighting as well.

Helpful?
2 Thank Leo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, NH
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Finest Chapel Hill has to Offer”
Reviewed 1 August 2004

After visiting Chapel Hill on 4 or 5 occasions, I've come to realize that the West End Wine Bar is the place to be. Great food, great music, great people, and three floors of hip, sophisticated atmosphere. I haven't even mentioned the wine and artwork yet! Check it out.

Helpful?
2 Thank Shawnzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West End Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to West End Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing