We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely facility”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed here one night while visiting the campus of UNC. We were doing tours of several universities, so basically we had a different hotel each night of our weeklong journey.
This was a lovely hotel. Extremely clean and quiet. Very personable staff. We were satisfied and would stay here again when returning to Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank packliteFl0rida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    121
    54
    18
    11
See reviews for
126
47
22
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family has stayed at this hotel on multiple occasions since I have lived in Chapel Hill, NC during the past year. Last weekend, my nephew left his pride and joy-an all-star team baseball hat- in one of the rooms. When we realized it and returned to look for it, the hotel granted us access to search the room ourselves. Once upstairs, Ms. Monica Glenn, the housekeeper, helped us look through the sheets and towels that had just removed from the room in which we had stayed. We found the hat! If it wasn't for the front desk and the housekeeping, we might not have been successful. Unique experiences such as these are important to disclose. It's not every day someone takes the time to help you look for something you've lost (a lot of people think "finders keepers"). Thanks, Marriott. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg3185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, General Manager at Courtyard Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about Monica. It is a pleasure to be the hotel of your choice for the Chapel Hill area and look foward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night in a suite. We tend to travel this way whenever possible. The suite was very nice, we had a quiet room as we requested, the hotel staff were nice and the pool was clean and well maintained. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank millenniumtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is fine and the staff is good, but...

I was here for an overnight stay, checked in during a rain and discovered their Direct TV had been knocked out, so no TV. Next morning, still no TV. They might want to rethink Direct TV. Beds are not great either, pretty hard.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, General Manager at Courtyard Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Martha,

Thank you for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Chapel Hill. We deeply regret any inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us.
We strive to ensure all of our guests have a wonderful stay and take your comments seriously as opportunities to review and improve.
Should your travels return you to our area, we hope that you will consider us again.
Thank you and have a great day.

Best,

Sandra Whittington
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott
Chapel Hill, NC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

While my stay here was brief, it was a great one. Checked in late at night and the process was very easy and quick. Room was right off the elevator on the 2nd floor, prime location. Great beds and pillows, nice clean rooms although small. Breakfast was a little pricey but worth it...no other breakfast places nearby. Good location, only 5 mins to UNC Chapel Hill, 20 mins from airport.

I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for room near elevator (not on first floor). Not noisy like you'd think. Extremely quiet and...
See more room tips
Green Features: Not aware of any other than classic towels on rack for reusing.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbwmaniac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, General Manager at Courtyard Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We look forward to your next visit to the Courtyard Chapel Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I want to like this hotel as it is a Marriott and is so close to our Chapel Hill family. We have experienced housekeeping issues before (see my review from earlier this year). This visit I requested a feather-free room and was assured at check-in that housekeeping had taken care of the request.

But no. In the middle of the night when I was having an allergic reaction, I found that only one of the pillows was foam. But, all of them were covered in grungy pillow covers and some with hair.

At breakfast, I watched as a server handled dirty dishes while returning butter from a table to the buffet. Just not sanitary.

If there is a bright side, management comp'd our room and offered us extra Marriott points to return. But, I think we'll be down the road at Aloft.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaTrivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
193 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Another cookie cutter Courtyard by Marriott, but this one has two special assets: Latoya at the front reception desk is super friendly & efficient, and Rasool at the bar is the best bartender in town. As usual, the rooms are clean & comfortable. I do wish they had a mini fridge. The gym is small and uninviting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacinMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, General Manager at Courtyard Chapel Hill, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking out the time to write your review of our hotel. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and I will surely share your comments with LaToya and Rasool. We do have some rooms that have mini refrigerators in them and do try and block these rooms if we have a special request. Please let us know the next time you visit us and we will try and block you in one that has a fridge. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Chapel Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.8 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
441 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,276 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
417 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
447 reviews
3.0 mi away
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chapel Hill

Property: Courtyard Chapel Hill
Address: 100 Marriott Way, Chapel Hill, NC 27517-7100
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#8 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Courtyard
Chapel Hill Marriott
Courtyard Chapel Hill North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing