We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a jewel”
Review of Coker Arboretum

Coker Arboretum
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Still a jewel”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

A recent walk thru the Arboretum reminds me of the value of the Coker family bequest to fund this project. Some of the most beautiful plants in the South maintained with care, well marked and in a setting that is peaceful and tranquil in the middle of a bustling campus. A great place for a special picnic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tarheel1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

If in Chapel Hill and would like a place to walk around and relax, this is it. And I never knew it was there until this weekend until our daughter was showing us her dorm for next year. A truly hidden gem

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mts2cWNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A sweet, quirky in-town garden with lots of local flavor”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

First off, I'm a photographer. And we photographers LOVE Coker. In part it's because it's so close to Franklin Street (and the area churches) that it's an easy portrait spot for seniors, weddings and kids. The garden is lovingly maintained by volunteers and University groundskeepers. But for me the true spirit of Coker is the students and the community visitors. There's a middle aged Asian gentleman who can often be heard strolling the grounds and whistling the most beautiful melodies. There are college kids making movies and Utube videos for class projects. There are lovers cuddling and quarreling. And there's an occasional Chapel HIllian napping in a brought along hammock. What's not to love? My favorite, the sweet little bridge with the fountain, the Ginko trees in the late fall, and the beautiful thistles.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CoreyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Relaxing and peaceful place to go for a walk, read, dream. Very well maintained. Nice place to take family and guests. Our friends from Belgium found it enchanting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Johhny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“interesting collection of trees”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

It was mid march when I was there. There were early signs of spring, but still lingering reminders of winter's dormancy. I did find a self-guided map about two thirds of the way through exploring the grounds, but it did not provide the depth of information I sought. This stop was not planned, but an opportunity which presented itself. From this perspective, it was a pleasant way to spend an hour or so.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank christopher s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coker Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Coker Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing