We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best service I've ever had at a lovely hotel”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Some of the best service I've ever had at a lovely hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel after seeing it on TripAdvisor and deciding to stay near UNC as we completed area college tours and got in some relaxation. Location is fantastic, right in the heart of darling Chapel Hill, and it's easy to pull right into the garage. We buzzed at the gate to be let in, and within 2 minutes we had a bellhop waiting beside our parked car to carry our bags inside. Every detail of service was carefully thought out and graciously given, from sweet tea at check-in to an included cook-to-order breakfast in their lovely dining room overlooking Franklin Street. You can even choose pillows from a "pillow menu"! The room was beautiful, with a balcony overlooking the action, though it was too hot for us to enjoy it. No add-on fees - internet, parking, breakfast all included - and the hotel graciously allowed us to stay late in the garage during our campus tour. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank motraveler90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    106
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
201
180
39
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Evanston
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This is a nice hotel on the main street in Chapel Hill. The bed was a bit soft, but AC worked well even with temperatures > 90 degrees. Staff was helpful and friendly, with a cookie at the front desk in the afternoons. The location of the hotel was ideal for checking out Franklin Street, and it was a 20-30 minute walk to Carborro.

A few downsides: the breakfast, which was include with the room, was OK (you either order an egg dish or non-egg dish such as a waffle). While I have had had worse breakfasts (see my review for the Darlington Hotel in London), the breakfast would not be worth more than $12-15. Also parking spots were limited. For my two nights, I was able to find a space at the hotel, but on more busy nights, this may have been an issue.

Overall, I was happy with my stay at the Franklin and would return in the future.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Evanston_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Having never been to North Carolina, much less UNC, we definitely picked The Best Hotel to call home while visiting Chapel Hill. One of the only 2 "on campus" hotels, The Franklin is in the middle of all the action on Franklin street as well as walking to the campus. This is every bit as nice as a 5 star Ritz, with enormous rooms, free parking and wifi, and a wonderful made to order breakfast in their beautiful Windows Restaurant, also included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelNicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natchez, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This is a very nice hotel with a delightful staff that aims to please. The room was clean maid service was good, bath products to match any 4 or 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in. I would recommend this to anyone staying in Chapel Hill. Hotel value was good particularly with the full breakfast offered.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avd59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I loved my stay at the Franklin Hotel. The room felt elegant, comfortable and was very quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable!

There was ample free parking, secured by a gate. The free breakfast was served in a pleasant room and tasted fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelgirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I spent a night at The Franklin when in Chapel Hill for business. It is a beautiful hotel, with a friendly staff. The room was very nice, with good space for work and relaxation. My colleague was so pleased with the bathroom products that she asked for an extra set, which they were happy to provide.

I was particularly taken with the bar; really great selection, nice bartender. Also, the free included breakfast is actually a real sit down breakfast, not a buffet.

My only concern with the hotel was the fact that I could hear the TV in an adjacent room. Not sure if the person had the TV up very loud, or what, but it was clearly noticable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, GA USA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Staff is very friendly and helpful, room was immaculate with huge balcony, music system throughout, huge shower could fit a a family. Best hotel in the area!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,301 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill
The Franklin Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing