We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Very nice hotel with a great location in Chapel Hill. If you're not familiar with the area this hotel is located on the 'quieter' end of Franklin Street. Still a lot of bars and restaurants nearby though. Great location to walk Franklin St and also able to walk to the UNC campus. Very friendly staff makes for an enjoyable stay. Rooms are nice and bed is very comfortable. The in room sound system is a nice touch. Our room faced away from the street so it was very quiet. The only complaint would be that noise from the adjacent is quite audible through the connecting door. Other than that everything was great. Didn't try the free breakfast nor did we visit Roberts (hotel bar), but I'm sure both were good. Complimentary parking is a great extra amenity.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Franklin St if you want something to look at. Otherwise rooms on the other side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jefe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was my husband's and my second time staying at the Franklin while in Chapel HIll. It's right on Franklin Street and within walking distant to great restaurants and fun shops. A wonderful breakfast is included with your stay. One time we went it was a buffet, the second time it was ordering off the menu. Both times offered a great breakfast. The only thing I would recommend if possible, ask for a room that doesn't open to the sitting area on the 3rd floor, it can get a bit loud if a crowd has gathered there. Other than that, the staff is very helpful and nice and the rooms and baths are a perfect size. We'll stay there again.

Room Tip: request room that doesn't open to gathering space on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I don't even know where to begin, but let me try. First off, the staff is the nicest I have ever encountered at the hotel. Within 2 seconds of parking (also, the parking is extremely convenient in their deck), a wonderful bellhop named Stephen was there to take our bag before we even had time to open our car door. After escorting us to the front desk to be checked in, Becky and Mario (they are absolutely fabulous) let us know that since it was our 1st wedding anniversary, they went ahead and upgraded us to the Presidential Suite. I still can't believe it happened. The Suite was immaculate and so beautifully decorated that we took about 10 pictures so we could try to replicate the theme with our own bedroom. The shower looked like it could be featured on MTV cribs... there was a beautiful bathroom, a seperate dressing area with a sink, lit mirror and a hair dryer, the most comfortable king size bed in the world (with a pillow menu that offered you pretty much anything that you could imagine) with a large flat screen TV, a lovely sitting room again with another large flat screen TV, a dining area, a half bath and another granite counter top area with a sink, coffee maker, fridge (with complimentary chilled bottled water already inside) and need I mention a private balcony all to yourself, so big that you could go onto it from -3- seperate sets of double french doors. Needless to say, I was completely blown away. The graciousness and warmth of the staff simply elevated this to a whole new level. In the morning we were treated to a free breakfast at their beautiful restaurant, Windows. This is no ordinary free hotel breakfast. It was a beautiful sit down with cloth napkins, ect. I had the best french toast with cinnamon butter and warm maple syrup while my husband was treated to a custom omelette with a side of grits and a fresh, warm biscuit. The manager was a wonderful lady who was constantly greeting people with a warm smile, constantly going to every table to make sure service was wonderful, helping the busy wait staff by refilling coffee and water. She was the example managers should follow. Everything is walking distance, Franklin Street is wonderful. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. Check in and out were super fast, friendly and welcoming. We did NOT want to leave. Thank you guys so much for the best anniversary ever! You went above and beyond to make this special for us and I will never forget it. Bless you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sdubois85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Very clean and cosy hotel yet very close to a lot of restaurants.
One remark: no buffet at breakfast

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The Franklin Hotel is the perfect accommodation to take advantage of everything Chapel Hill and Carrboro have to offer. There are plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. The restaurant offers a wonderful breakfast. Service is top notch. The rooms are some of the most comfortable and inviting I've ever been in.

The front desk personnel remembered me, they gave me an upgrade, they had free cookies, and they put chocolates on my pillow. What's not to like!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed a week in the Franklin Hotel just before Christmas 2011. We found the room very comfortable and the staff very friendly and relaxed. We had a room facing the street with a balcony. We could not make use of the balcony as the weather was too cold but it would be very nice in the right weather; the room facing the street was not noisy at night. The hotel has a lot of in house parking which is very convenient, and is right on the main street very close to a lot of good restaurants of all types.

The only minor criticism I would make is that the breakfast menu is fixed and so gets a little boring for seven days, but on the other hand it is cooked to order and the waiting staff are really friendly.

Room Tip: Rear for quiet, front for interest (and its not noisy); floor 3 has the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank barrylandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We had planned on staying at a less-expensive place outside of Chapel Hill. When we arrived in town, that seemed inconvenient for what we had planned, so we just walked into the Franklin to see if they had a room - it wasn't a football weekend - and they said they had a cancellation we could take. When we saw the room, we wished that we were staying more than one night! The complimentary breakfast had lots of full-meal choices. OK - it wasn't cheap - but we felt it was worth it and would return again,

Room Tip: We were on the back side and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZooVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,417 reviews
2 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
467 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
33 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: £125 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill
The Franklin Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing