We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Franklin - Nice, but not worth the money”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Franklin - Nice, but not worth the money”
Reviewed 13 May 2008

The Franklin Hotel is in a great location, although if you are coming with a student for orientation (CTOPS) or move in, Carolina Inn is more convenient. The Franklin is at the opposite end of the spectrum from the Carolina Inn in terms of attitude and decor -- it's contemporary luxe while Carolina Inn is old world charm. Breakfast is wonderful and in a beautiful room on the second floor and not pricey compared with eating anywhere else in the area, but it should be included in the cost of the room because I can't justify the cost-- there's a very small work out room, no pool and no lobby although the bar is fabulous and so is the live music they have sometimes. A nice alternative to all the college type bars around. Still, there is little or no help, except for automaticdoors. when you arrive with luggage in the underground parking lot and have to schlep upstairs to the 2nd floor for reception.

AND the worst thing of all, is the ventilation system! It's like a 747 landing in your room - a Day's Inn kind of system -- all night long. A friend told me it wasn't so bad when she was there, but it was cool, so neither the air conditioning nor the heat needed to come on.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinggirl828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    97
    37
    13
    5
See reviews for
187
171
39
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Nicely appointed rooms and a great location in the middle of Chapel Hill. Hotel has a small fitness room and a business center with a couple of computers and a printer - that came in handy! Free internet too.

Only minor issues: air conditioner in the room was pretty loud - had to adjust the volume on the TV each time it kicked on and off. But loved having the ability to cool off the room a lot at night. Also, the bathroom design was a little awkward.

Otherwise really liked having lots of restaurants and shops right in the area within walking distance. And its right off the college campus too. Did not need a car - explored on foot over two and a half days. About a $35 - $40 cab ride from RDU airport.

  • Liked — Location and Quality
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pennden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

This is a great hotel! It is in a great location (on Franklin St). Brand new facility so the rooms and the fixtures were beautiful. One of the nicer hotels I've encountered.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlmostAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2008

This is a terrific, unique hotel located on Franklin Street, just a few blocks from the UNC campus and an easy walk to a number of good bars and restaurants. The hotel still looks and feels very new. The service was excellent, the bed was very comfortable, and we had a nice terrace overlooking Franklin Street. I was concerned noise from Franklin St. would be a problem but it was not. This is a cut above other hotels I've stayed in in Chapel Hill.

  • Liked — Location; newness; overall comfort
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank templeheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2007

My husband and I spent one night at the Franklin Hotel after Christmas to celebrate my birthday, and to have a relaxing night without our sweet two year old. We were both very impressed with the Franklin Hotel, and its staff. It is a lovely decorated property with an ideal location on Franklin Street. The street noise can be loud (a man camped out on a bench across the street did like to yell at passing cars every 15 minutes in the early afternoon after check-in) so we were delighted when we saw the pillow menu that also included a sound machine.

The rooms are beautifully appointed, and quite comfortable. The bed and bedding were exceptional. The bathroom is very nice. However, it is difficult for two people to be in the room at the same time to comb hair or brush teeth because the area is small and with the position of the toilet and the bathrrom door, it is just difficult. The walk-in shower is very spacious. The room does have a make-up area outside the bathroom with a nice make-up mirror to make up for the smaller bathroom quarters.

We did have drinks at the bar in the hotel before dinner, and thought it was very warm and inviting.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay at the Franklin Hotel and would highly recommend this property.

  • Liked — The bedding and bed
  • Disliked — We liked everything!!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarheelTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2007

The Franklin Hotel is a great place to stay in Chapel Hill. The room was clean, comfortable and stylish. I liked the modern bathroom and amenities. I plan to stay here during my next visit to town.

  • Liked — Relaxing Environment; Stylish and Comfortable Decor
  • Disliked — Noise from Hallway
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CubbieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2007

My first impression was that a team had got together to implement what guests would really like. On entering room the view of the bathroom with marble vanity is impressive. So, too, are the room colors, crisp white sheets, turn-down service, choice of pillows and very comfortable bed.

But there are some flaws. As previously mentioned, the a/c was noisy, the location of the closet badly designed so that if it was even slightly ajar it was hit by the room door and the leaky shower door. Service for breakfast was far too slow. Most surprising was that there was no turndown service on the Saturday night. Not sure if this is standard or just a glitch that night, but it was a disappointment after the previous days.

  • Liked — Comfortable and pleasant room
  • Disliked — where the closet was situated
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BrentFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill
The Franklin Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing