We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected better for the price--and reputation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Expected better for the price--and reputation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Franklin is excellently located within walking distance of downtown Chapel Hill, restaurants, and campus. The room was pleasant as was Windows, the breakfast room. Breakfast was a decent buffet with coffee service, but refills I had to summons the waiter for refills after waiting for too long. I loved the Carolina memorabilia outside Windows. But our problems with the place were (a) no towel racks in the bathroom, (b) a broken hook (i.e., no hook) on the bathroom door, and (c) no place to buy soft drinks. I'm sure the idea is that a boutique hotel like this wouldn't stoop to vending machines, but really.... To the hotel's credit, the front-desk person did bring up two glasses of diet drink, when we asked where the vending machines were. A little more attention to the customer experience might be warranted.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Hi Robin M,

Thank you for your candid feedback about your experience at The Franklin Hotel. I'm sorry that your stay was less than perfect, and that we did not live up to our reputation that you came to expect.

You bring up some good points about the towel hooks/racks and vending machines. The lack of towel hooks in our bathrooms is a design flaw our team has noticed, and we have that on our list of improvements to make very soon. And we clearly missed the broken hook on the door, so will take a careful look through all rooms to make sure all are properly installed.

We don't believe that we are by any means above having vending machines in our hotel. In fact, we had them before but they were big, bulky, noisy, outdated and hard to use - so we got rid of them. We understand that many of our guests may want a place to get some refreshments and snacks, and are looking into replacement options. This could mean more modern, efficient vending machines or simply a pantry-like location to buy basic sundries and convenience items.

And we should not have made you wait for so long to get refills during breakfast. In our team, we will continue to work on ways to be more proactive on guest experience end.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We hope you'll give us a chance to deliver a much better experience in the future.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    94
    36
    11
    5
See reviews for
177
166
39
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at The Franklin Hotel twice (to and from the Outer Banks) to spend some time in Chapel Hill, Durham and Raleigh during Spring Break. The staff of the hotel is excellent, going above and beyond to make it a great experience. From the bellman to the phone staff and front desk they are uniquely committed to a great guest experience. The covered parking is convenient and free.

We were upgraded to a suite due to a large wedding party taking a block of rooms. That room was exceptional, including a huge balcony overlooking Franklin Street. The regular room on our return trip was also great.

This will be our hotel in the Triangle area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdgeAvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Hello EdgeAvl,

We were thrilled to have you experience one of our suites, and glad you enjoyed one of our classic rooms as well.

Everyone on our team feels great to have been able to go above and beyond for you and make a positive impact on your experience.

It warms our hearts that you will consider The Franklin "your hotel" in the Triangle. We look forward to having you with us again and again, and are happy to be your home in the area.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

The Franklin Hotel was recommended to me by a client and friend who lives nearby. This was my first visit to Chapel Hill, and I was delighted to stay right in the middle of this charming town. The hotel was very "accessible" with parking near the lobby and a nice welcome from the front desk staff. I found the room to be very comfortable with all amenities one would expect from a nice boutique hotel.

After having dinner with my clients at a nearby restaurant, 411, I returned to the hotel and heard some nice music in the lobby bar, so I stopped in to enjoy the music for a short while. A young (teen) trumpeter was timidly joining the musicians. The "feel" was definitely that of a university town.

A lovely cbreakfast was served (included in my room rate).

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and would choose to stay there upon future visits.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halfmooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manvel, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in April of 2013 as we were there for a wedding. It was one of the most pleasant hotel stays I have ever had. The staff was very nice and informative. The rooms have everything you would expect and more! From free bottled water in the refrigerator to cotton balls and q-tips in the bathroom. They also had a office where you could go search the internet or print out your boarding pass for your flight home. I stood on the balcony at night and watched the entertaining night life come alive below. We made quite a few friends in the Hotel Lounge! And the singer, who I can't remember the man's name now, was excellent! The complimentary breakfast was quite a surprise! You can eat from a buffet or order from a menu! The staff is very attentive! Everything is within walking distance! It is a great hotel experience and would recommend it very highly!

Room Tip: The balcony adds to the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belinda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed here for 1 night while in Chapel Hill touring Carolina's campus. Each time we walked thru the lobby, we were greeted with a friendly smile and hello. Our room with a balcony was wonderful. We got a good night's sleep on the very comfortable beds. I had never seen such a great breakfast (except at the Embassy Suites). We were seated at a table, given a menu and was able to order what we wanted. There was no getting food from a buffet that had been there for who knows how long. This breakfast was cooked to order. Also, there were many places within walking distance to eat and shop, not to mention walking distance to the campus. We enjoyed walking down Franklin Street just to explore the area. We will definitely be staying here the next time we are in Chapel Hill,

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddreneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

…Before staying at the Franklin, I visited the website; I noted the description of the Franklin Hotel staff culture. I was in hopes it was true, when I checked in I found the people to be delightful and property to be very well designed. I would go as far as to say a perfectly designed boutique Hotel. I will most assuredly visit again. Well done!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill
The Franklin Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing