We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay and Don't Miss Breakfast!”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Perfect stay and very luxurious hotel.The complaints that I see from other guests are unwarranted. It's a perfect location and great room! As nice as some Ritz Carltons that I've stayed at. The room was smaller but cozy. No tub in the room, but we were only there one night. I really enjoyed myself and the breakfastl.. holy cow! It was delicious and definitely fine dining! We hope to be back one day!

Room Tip: Ask for the side facing downtown. Beautiful sunset. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliseccu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Hello Eliseccu,

Wow, that is high praise indeed! We're thrilled that you had a "perfect" stay, and will keep working to make it that way for all guests.

Can't wait to have you back with us.

Thanks for posting your feedback,
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

Please don't misunderstand my review, the Franklin Hotel is a nice place to stay but simply didn't live up my expectations for a $250 per night suite. My suite was clean and comfortable but the hallway carpets were very dirty.The televisions worked well but the WIFI was unacceptably slow (slower than dial-up). The staff was extremely pleasant but each day housekeeping overlooked replacing something (washcloths, soap, trash bad, etc.). The breakfasts were good but over a long stay there weren't many options. I might try them again because of the fantastic location but I'd try a non-suite room and hope some improvements have been made.

Room Tip: If you need internet ask for a room or suite that is not on a corner of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickHeckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear NickHeckel,

Thank you for your feedback about your experience at The Franklin Hotel. I'm sorry that our services fell short of your expectations - you're right that $250 is a price that commands a heightened experience. In fact, we have a team right now that is dedicated to redesigning an enhanced suite experience at our hotel so we can deliver on the expectations that come with that price.

It appears though, that we messed up in a few key areas. The shampooing of our carpets are overdue, and thanks to your feedback we are scheduling that to be done in the next few weeks. And it is unacceptable that our housekeeping team forgot to refresh the basic items in your room. We will spend more time training to prevent this from happening.

I'm disappointed to hear that your wi-fi worked so slowly. We've invested heavily in our network hardware in the last couple of years, and are now taking a closer look at all areas of the hotel (especially the corners) to make sure everything is working properly.

Since we do offer the complimentary hot, cooked to order breakfast to all guests, we've been so focused on keeping the quality consistently great that we may have overlooked the lack of variety. We understand that this is important for longer stays, and will try to introduce some rotating options in the future.

We appreciate your willingness to try The Franklin again, and look forward to making these improvements and giving you a much better experience next time.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments!
Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Franklin is excellently located within walking distance of downtown Chapel Hill, restaurants, and campus. The room was pleasant as was Windows, the breakfast room. Breakfast was a decent buffet with coffee service, but refills I had to summons the waiter for refills after waiting for too long. I loved the Carolina memorabilia outside Windows. But our problems with the place were (a) no towel racks in the bathroom, (b) a broken hook (i.e., no hook) on the bathroom door, and (c) no place to buy soft drinks. I'm sure the idea is that a boutique hotel like this wouldn't stoop to vending machines, but really.... To the hotel's credit, the front-desk person did bring up two glasses of diet drink, when we asked where the vending machines were. A little more attention to the customer experience might be warranted.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Hi Robin M,

Thank you for your candid feedback about your experience at The Franklin Hotel. I'm sorry that your stay was less than perfect, and that we did not live up to our reputation that you came to expect.

You bring up some good points about the towel hooks/racks and vending machines. The lack of towel hooks in our bathrooms is a design flaw our team has noticed, and we have that on our list of improvements to make very soon. And we clearly missed the broken hook on the door, so will take a careful look through all rooms to make sure all are properly installed.

We don't believe that we are by any means above having vending machines in our hotel. In fact, we had them before but they were big, bulky, noisy, outdated and hard to use - so we got rid of them. We understand that many of our guests may want a place to get some refreshments and snacks, and are looking into replacement options. This could mean more modern, efficient vending machines or simply a pantry-like location to buy basic sundries and convenience items.

And we should not have made you wait for so long to get refills during breakfast. In our team, we will continue to work on ways to be more proactive on guest experience end.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We hope you'll give us a chance to deliver a much better experience in the future.

Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at The Franklin Hotel twice (to and from the Outer Banks) to spend some time in Chapel Hill, Durham and Raleigh during Spring Break. The staff of the hotel is excellent, going above and beyond to make it a great experience. From the bellman to the phone staff and front desk they are uniquely committed to a great guest experience. The covered parking is convenient and free.

We were upgraded to a suite due to a large wedding party taking a block of rooms. That room was exceptional, including a huge balcony overlooking Franklin Street. The regular room on our return trip was also great.

This will be our hotel in the Triangle area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdgeAvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Hello EdgeAvl,

We were thrilled to have you experience one of our suites, and glad you enjoyed one of our classic rooms as well.

Everyone on our team feels great to have been able to go above and beyond for you and make a positive impact on your experience.

It warms our hearts that you will consider The Franklin "your hotel" in the Triangle. We look forward to having you with us again and again, and are happy to be your home in the area.

Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The Franklin Hotel was recommended to me by a client and friend who lives nearby. This was my first visit to Chapel Hill, and I was delighted to stay right in the middle of this charming town. The hotel was very "accessible" with parking near the lobby and a nice welcome from the front desk staff. I found the room to be very comfortable with all amenities one would expect from a nice boutique hotel.

After having dinner with my clients at a nearby restaurant, 411, I returned to the hotel and heard some nice music in the lobby bar, so I stopped in to enjoy the music for a short while. A young (teen) trumpeter was timidly joining the musicians. The "feel" was definitely that of a university town.

A lovely cbreakfast was served (included in my room rate).

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and would choose to stay there upon future visits.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Halfmooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in April of 2013 as we were there for a wedding. It was one of the most pleasant hotel stays I have ever had. The staff was very nice and informative. The rooms have everything you would expect and more! From free bottled water in the refrigerator to cotton balls and q-tips in the bathroom. They also had a office where you could go search the internet or print out your boarding pass for your flight home. I stood on the balcony at night and watched the entertaining night life come alive below. We made quite a few friends in the Hotel Lounge! And the singer, who I can't remember the man's name now, was excellent! The complimentary breakfast was quite a surprise! You can eat from a buffet or order from a menu! The staff is very attentive! Everything is within walking distance! It is a great hotel experience and would recommend it very highly!

Room Tip: The balcony adds to the experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Belinda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Chapel Hill
1
Reviewed 14 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,378 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
487 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#12 of 18 in Chapel Hill
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: £136 - £479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill
The Franklin Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing