We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and very convenient”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Franklin Hotel when we brought our daughter to UNC to move in. She is living in Granville Towers which could not be more convenient to the hotel. It is within easy walking distance of all the fun places to eat and shop on Franklin St. We had a king room with a view of Franklin Street.
I found everything about the hotel to be fantastic. It is a beautiful place, right down to the marble floors in the elevators. Our room was spectacular. There were tons of big, fluffy towels, a huge glass shower w/ European door, granite countertops, and more. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room quiet. I had read here about the noise of the AC but we had no such issue.
They gave us a pillow menu that we didn't have a chance to use but was a nice touch.
It was spotlessly clean and the staff was friendly and accommodating. I will definitely stay here again during our next 4 years in Chapel Hill, provided I can get in! It is much sought after during big weekends (parent's weekend, basketball games, etc).

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mmcbDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2008

We stayed at this hotel while getting my younger brother settled in for college at UNC Chapel Hill. Booked a double queen room with balcony for $221 a night.

Our flight from NYC was delayed so we did not arrive at the hotel until 2am, the man check-in literally told us our room number, no welcome or information about breakfast. All in all this is a very nice hotel, 4 star quality rooms with large comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. However the room service is terrible, under no circumstances would I recommend you try it. We had breakfast one morning and dinner the following night as it was raining very heavily and we didnt want to have to find somewhere. The quality of the food is awful, presentation very poor and the staff delivering it downright rude. Our evening meal was delivered by a what seemed like a kitchen porter with a very dirty chefs jacket on.

In summary, come for the location and the room quality. Do not come if you are expecting Southern hospitality or fine dining. Also as many other reviewers have pointed out the air conditioning is very loud.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rihanna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

This elegant hotel was perfect for visiting UNC and the charming downtown of Chapel Hill. We had a large corner room with fine furniture, extremely comfortable beds and linens. Very clean. The front desk was really helpful, spot on with their restaurant and entertainment recommendations. They even gave us their card if we ran into trouble by not having reservations.

Highly recommend this hotel. Expedia offered great deal making it even sweeter.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GoGators2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2008

The Franklin Hotel is in a great location, although if you are coming with a student for orientation (CTOPS) or move in, Carolina Inn is more convenient. The Franklin is at the opposite end of the spectrum from the Carolina Inn in terms of attitude and decor -- it's contemporary luxe while Carolina Inn is old world charm. Breakfast is wonderful and in a beautiful room on the second floor and not pricey compared with eating anywhere else in the area, but it should be included in the cost of the room because I can't justify the cost-- there's a very small work out room, no pool and no lobby although the bar is fabulous and so is the live music they have sometimes. A nice alternative to all the college type bars around. Still, there is little or no help, except for automaticdoors. when you arrive with luggage in the underground parking lot and have to schlep upstairs to the 2nd floor for reception.

AND the worst thing of all, is the ventilation system! It's like a 747 landing in your room - a Day's Inn kind of system -- all night long. A friend told me it wasn't so bad when she was there, but it was cool, so neither the air conditioning nor the heat needed to come on.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank travelinggirl828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Nicely appointed rooms and a great location in the middle of Chapel Hill. Hotel has a small fitness room and a business center with a couple of computers and a printer - that came in handy! Free internet too.

Only minor issues: air conditioner in the room was pretty loud - had to adjust the volume on the TV each time it kicked on and off. But loved having the ability to cool off the room a lot at night. Also, the bathroom design was a little awkward.

Otherwise really liked having lots of restaurants and shops right in the area within walking distance. And its right off the college campus too. Did not need a car - explored on foot over two and a half days. About a $35 - $40 cab ride from RDU airport.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pennden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

This is a great hotel! It is in a great location (on Franklin St). Brand new facility so the rooms and the fixtures were beautiful. One of the nicer hotels I've encountered.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AlmostAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2008

This is a terrific, unique hotel located on Franklin Street, just a few blocks from the UNC campus and an easy walk to a number of good bars and restaurants. The hotel still looks and feels very new. The service was excellent, the bed was very comfortable, and we had a nice terrace overlooking Franklin Street. I was concerned noise from Franklin St. would be a problem but it was not. This is a cut above other hotels I've stayed in in Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank templeheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,457 reviews
2 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Chapel Hill Downtown
AC Hotel Chapel Hill Downtown
#13 of 18 in Chapel Hill
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: £149 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill
The Franklin Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing