We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Chapel Hill and Cookies!”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Location in Chapel Hill and Cookies!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel is located on the main commercial street in Chapel Hill and there are plenty of restaurants, cafes, bars, and dessert shops to choose from. It is also a short distance from the UNC Chapel Hill campus if you are visiting for the school or on a business trip. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and they have delicious cookies at the reception desk which are free for the taking. The rooms are very spacious, clean and modern looking and the breakfast buffet in the lobby bar area was great too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvsjadaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi jvsjadaun,

Thanks for taking time to post your comments. I'm glad you found our team to be very friendly and enjoyed the hotel facilities.

In addition to the breakfast buffet, we'll happily prepare anything you can imagine a la carte - please feel free to request any favorites on your next visit.

Hope to have you back soon!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    107
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
209
183
39
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights (a Monday & Tuesday Night) at this Hotel and it was our first time at this property. We were in Room 4015 and the second night close to 1am I had to call the front desk as you could hear the TV through the walls. The front desk called and then after another call, someone came to the door and spoke to the other guest. We could also hear him talking the next morning which made me question the thickness/insolation of the rooms. In addition, for this hotel to be relatively new, when the air conditioning came on & off it woke you up. There was no way that I could find to have the fan on all the time without it getting so cold. We were exhausted when we left.

One suggestion would be when the hotel is NOT sold out do not put people next to each other.

The breakfast in the morning was great and the staff were friendly. The location cannot be beat as you can walk everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindapR6543VC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Linda P,

Thanks for telling us about your experience at The Franklin. We're all disappointed that you didn't get our best, and that you left exhausted. The most basic expectation for staying in any hotel is to get a good night's rest - and since you didn't get that on your stay with us we don't feel you should have to pay.

We have had some feedback over the years about the noise transfer through the guest room walls, and we've tried to mitigate that in various ways. For example, the televisions were originally mounted on the walls, and we took them off and placed them on the dressers to avoid that direct sound transfer. Longer term, we have a plan to address the building structural issues for noise during our next major renovation.

And I apologize that we didn't make it easy to know how to set the air conditioning fan to your liking. If you give us the chance to host you for another visit, we will gladly have someone personally show you how to set the fan to be on at all times and still maintain your desired temperature.

You make a very good point about not putting guests next to each other when we are not sold out. I'm a little embarrassed to say that we had not thought of that before. That is an easy, practical thing to do and you can consider it done from now on at The Franklin!

You've been very generous with your time already in providing this feedback, but if you'll please contact me at jay@franklinhotelnc.com, I would like to either refund the charges for your stay or make another reservation for your next visit to Chapel Hill at no charge. I hope to hear from you soon.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

People who come to Chapel Hill will often be told to stay at the Carolina Inn. However, the Franklin is a more modern hotel right on Franklin Street (the main shopping and eating area) and you can still walk to campus. Breakfast (cooked to order) is included; there are nice sitting areas and bar; there is a gym and business center. And the rooms are very nice. It's my "go to" now.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCTfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear TravelingCTFamily,

Thanks for sharing your comments. We're honored to be your "go to" hotel in Chapel Hill! You were able to experience several of our amenities, including the guest favorite...cooked to order breakfast.

We can't wait for you to come back and stay with us again!

Until next time,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

If you are visiting or working in Chapel Hill for any reason, this is the place to stay. Large comfortable rooms with good beds. Furniture that does what it should. Our dresser had huge spacious drawers (I could easily have put four stacks of four or five shirts in a drawer and had room to spare). Large windows provide plenty of light. Ceiling speakers use a system that provides ambient music of your choice if you want. Thick towels, although not soft (I like them this way) are very absorbent. Plenty of hot water, although the water pressure was fair.

There is an executive center that isn't large, but has whatever you would need. the workout facility is small but with nice new equipment including treadmills, stair masters and hand weights.

Rooms run around the outside of the building leaving an open atrium on most floors, looking down onto the third floor "lobby." We stayed on the third floor and enjoyed a large living room/ private lobby with lots of sofa's thick upholstered chairs and a television. All of the third floor rooms surround this area. Although there was an event there the first day we were in, it ended at a reasonable hour and never presented a problem.

Daily breakfast includes menu service or small buffet in a comfortable room with large windows looking out on Franklin Street, an attractive, college town street with small colorful shops.

There is a bar off the lobby, also featuring lots of upholstered seating areas and a nice bar with large screen TV. There is an adequate bar menu as well.

The staff is friendly and personable without being obsequious or intrusive. Fresh baked chocolate chip or oatmeal raising cookies are there for the taking at the front desk.

Plenty of free parking in the garages with unlimited in-out use.

The location is near many excellent restaurants, shops and upscale bars.

We intend to stay here again when in Chapel Hill.

NOTE: sells out for graduation a year in advance and for most of the football season.

Room Tip: avoid rooms over garage if staying on the third floor. Very cold tile floors are the result in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AEBlumberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hello AEBlumberg,

We really appreciate your detailed description of your experience at The Franklin, and happy that you agree it's the place to stay in Chapel Hill for any reason!

It sounds like you made good use of all the hotel has to offer, from the amenities in the room, to the various common spaces, and the available food options. Not to mention all the great shopping dining just outside our front door.

You're not the only guest to mention the limited water pressure in the shower recently, and we are looking into that as we speak. Some of the shower heads were originally installed with restrictors to conserve water. But that may be leading to lackluster pressure and potentially even requiring longer showers. We will diligently address this so that the water pressure in all rooms is satisfyingly powerful.

We're thrilled that the rest of your experience was so positive, and that you intend to stay with us again on your next visit - we can't wait to have you here soon!

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallston, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We visited Chapel Hill to see a Tar Heels game. I wanted to stay in a wonderful hotel and we hit the jack pot. The Franklin is absolutely perfect. From the start, the lovely people at the front desk offered us freshly baked warm cookies as we registered. Our room was ready and we found it perfectly appointed. Our king sized bed had luxurious linens with a feather comforter, and the sofa had a heavy weighted knitted throw draped over the arm. Nice touch! The bath was terrific with a very large tiled shower. The towels were so thick and heavy, loved them!
We were told there was a shuttle to The Smith Center so an hour before game time we went to the desk to be shuttled. The shuttle only holds 7 so we had to wait our turn. Well it was raining and the shuttle was tied up in traffic so we were going to be late. Alicia at the front desk offered to drive us in her car, so nice. But just in time one of the gentleman at the desk called "Ike" the cab driver and owner of his cab company, and Ike arrived in time to take us to the game. Ike then picked us up and brought us back too. Great suggestion to have Ike shuttle us!
Breakfast was the bomb in the morning!!! A beautiful 3 egg omelet, waffles with fresh fruit, sausage, bacon, juice, coffee, biscuit, potatoes, and all was included as courtesy.
A lovely stay with lovely people. We will definitely stay at The Franklin with our next visit to Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NandJfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi there NandJfun,

Thanks so much for sharing your comments about your stay with us at The Franklin. We're glad you found that our hotel fit the bill for you.

You mentioned all the amenities that are favorites among our guests - the luxurious bedding, spa shower, plush towels, and cooked to order breakfast. So we are happy to hear that you also enjoyed those very things.

We are disappointed that we couldn't drive you to the Smith Center ourselves due to the traffic delay, but are comforted to know that Ike was able to come to the rescue and get you to the game in time.

I'm sure that Alicia and Daniel will both be more than ready to give you a ride around town if you need on your next visit!

Hope to see you soon,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is a lovely hotel right downtown in Chapel Hill within walking distance of almost all restaurants and places you would want to see. Free parking. Old hotel building that has been completely renovated. very nice and comfortable. Never stayed at the historic Carolina Inn but this is a modern hotel in an historic buiding where you can leave your car behind and stroll the streets (literally two, I recall) was a wonderful choice. the restaurant looked nice but you'll want to sample the great cuisines in all the nearby restaurants. used this hotel as a base to explore CH, Durham, Raleigh. Worked peerfectly for all and was happy that we had picked CH as the base ( most charming).

Room Tip: Even the room overlooking the main street was quiet, maybe because it was summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigercat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Hi there Tigercat1,

Thanks for your kind words about our hotel. We are all very glad you picked Chapel Hill as your base, and that you were happy with your choice to stay at The Franklin.

You're right that there are tons of great restaurant options just steps from our front door - so we always encourage guests to go sample the many cuisines available. But we'd love for you to try the complimentary cooked to order breakfast in our restaurant, Windows, next time you're with us. I recommend the French toast - it's terrific.

The summertime is usually pretty quiet in Chapel Hill. While that's a nice ambience, a visit during the fall will let you see how bustling this downtown is when it comes alive in the height of the UNC school session and football season. Hope you can make it back soon!

Take care,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edisto Island, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This was my third stay at this hotel though I considerate pricey I enjoy treating myself to it occasionally. The lobby is small but you can park on the very ground level covered parking and access a back entrance that takes you
directly to the elevator up to your room. I really like that degree of privacy a lot! There is a choice of room types ...to treat yourself stay in one of the larger king rooms overlooking Franklin Street. They have nice spacious enclosed balconies with
a table and chairs for four. The glass doors opening out to the balcony are heavy duty enough that you do not hear the noise from the busy street. Franklin street itself is another reason I like indulging myself in this hotel ! Right adjacent to The University of NC the Main Street is an eccentric mix of quirky shops( ie vintage clothing , used books, smoke shops,gift shops tee shirt emporiums, fancy linens, designer clothing .. Aveda spa .. Etc) the restaurants are too many to mention but there is every type food imaginable... All within easy walking distance ) if eating and browsing the funky shops isn't entertainment enough just take a seat on one of the benches, walk the beautiful UNC campus , and enjoy people watching!
Back at the hotel, the beds are uber comfy, the bathrooms

sleek and well stocked with thick fluffy towels and bathrobes and small touches that add an elegant yet homey feel. Last time I stayed I wanted to save a little money so I stayed in a mini king on the top floor backside overlooking a small parking lit and trees. The room is much smaller than the reg king but the balconies are just as nice and it is more of a serene setting. I also enjoy the layout of the lounges on each floor providing sofas and chairs in an open atrium design. A nice place to step out of your room to relax,read a book, meet up with friends, or catch up on work.
I unfortunately never had time to sample the cooked to order breakfast included in the price of my stay ,wishing the hours extended later into the morning.
I will be back to this very comfortable elegant quiet Boutique hotel ! Do book early if you are planning to visit during events at the university as they are usually sold out weeks sometime months in advance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hi there vagabondCvilleva,

Wow, what a wonderfully detailed description you gave of The Franklin Hotel. We're so glad that you were able to enjoy all of the many amenities the hotel offers, and make use of the various spaces available to work and relax.

And since you seem fond of everything downtown Franklin Street has to offer, our unique location is the perfect fit for you!

We thank you so much for choosing our hotel again and again - we look forward to having you with us very soon.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,330 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
471 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill
The Franklin Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing