We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with Charm”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Charm”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I found The Franklin on Tripadvisor and choose it for both the reviews and location. About four days before we were due to arrive the hotel called to not only confirm but asked if there was anything they could do to make our stay more enjoyable. Can't say that happens often.
We were visiting UNC and wanted a hotel with a good location that we could walk to most places and this was perfect. The rooms are a good size and well appointed. The beds are comfortable with good pillows; always a plus for me. The staff was very friendly, from the doorman to the women that made up our room. Included in the price was breakfast and on Saturday they had a small buffet that was very good.
Now, the place isn't cheap but I think in the end it delivered and help make our stay that much better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
aender,

Thank you for your detailed review of your experience at The Franklin. We're glad our location made it easy for you to walk to the places you wanted to visit. And our entire team is encouraged by your feedback about how friendly you found them to be.

We hope that you'll pick our hotel again when you next visit Chapel Hill.

Until then...
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    105
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
200
180
39
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Franklin for one night when we were traveling through NC for a wedding. It was our first time in Chapel Hill and the Franklin was the perfect home-base for us. It's very central to all the cute Chapel Hill shops and restaurants. The free parking garage is also a very nice convenience.
The staff was excellent. Perfectly friendly and helpful, also surprisingly security/privacy conscious, which we appreciated. The room was clean, plenty large and well decorated.
Our room did not have a balcony, but we wouldn't have had time to sit on it anyway. The room did have a built-in sound system, which we enjoyed. The floor we were on also had a nice atrium/sitting area with a TV. Everything was really thoughtfully and tastefully done.
We also had a la carte breakfast at 'Windows', which was included with our room rate. A nice touch that it's served breakfast instead of the standard buffet, and the food was excellent.
Overall we were so pleased with our stay, we'll highly recommend this property to others and will stay here again if we're ever back in Chapel Hill.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JennEDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello JennEDC,

Thanks for your enthusiastic feedback about The Franklin - we look forward to getting comments like yours and knowing that our guests notice the thought that we put into your experience.

For your first time to Chapel Hill, we're glad you stayed with us and were able to experience all the convenience and charm of downtown right at your footsteps.

We'll have to get you a balcony next time - when the weather's just right, and the energy on Franklin Street is at it's peak, guests always find some time to step outside and take it all in from high above!

Please let us know when you make your next reservation. Until then, safe travels...

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went there with work. It is well located and we had a corporate rate so that was very good too!
It's nice to have a hotel in the Us on a main street of a town so there is life to be seen- and not a freeway or similar. The hotel was charming and very comortable for the stay, staff were suitably attentive and very friendly. The restaurant breakfast, though tasty, needed to be ordered off a menu which is strange nowadays when most places have a buffet.
Because it is all round nice hotel with lovely location would definitely return there.

Room Tip: Nothing specific, my room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoubertG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello JoubertG,

Thanks for sharing your comments and for giving The Franklin Hotel a try on your business trip. We do enjoy a great location that enables our guests to engage with the vibrancy of downtown Chapel Hill.

Regarding breakfast, we do offer a buffet on certain weekends and when the hotel is very busy. But we have found that the a la carte service that's made to order allows us to be more flexible and cater to each guest's specific desires. Our intent is to give you a restaurant style casual dining experience without the hassle of extra charges.

If you prefer to have your breakfast more quickly, we can certainly accommodate a customized set up such as a "grab and go" package - just let us know what you like. You can email your personal host, Kelly Lengyel, at kelly@franklinhotelnc.com. That's what she's here for!

Take care, and we do hope to have you with us again.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is amazing. I have stayed at this property over 5 times and each time it is amazing. The location is phenomenal, with free parking! I've previously stayed at the Carolina Inn and it is so much nicer as a more boutique-like hotel. The cookies are phenomenal, along with the free breakfast on weekends (included in rate). Great option for Chapel Hill and so thankful this is there to provide an alternative to other large hotels!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewcarey14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
andrewcarey14,

This is high praise indeed. And we're all so glad you enjoyed our hotel so much. Please know that our breakfast is actually free everyday, not just on weekends - I'm sorry if we didn't communicate that on your previous visits!

We look forward to your next stay with us and will have the cookies warm and ready. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abaco bahamas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

For our first visit to Chapel Hill, this hotel proved to be a real gem.

Nice blend of historic and modern.

Suites are great for those traveling with children.

Our balcony was HUGE!

Nice turn down service including the sofa bed with lots of chocolates.

huge suite at a not so huge price

Room Tip: get a 2 room suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
islandoc,

Thanks for giving The Franklin a chance on your first visit to Chapel Hill. We hope that you'll make it your home every time you come back to town.

We're pleased to know that you found your stay to be a great value - that's one of our intentions in including garage parking, wi-fi internet, and hot cooked to order breakfast with your room rate.

And it sounds like you took advantage of all the space on the balcony - they are one of our most popular amenities.

Hope to see you again soon!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I am not a man of many words so I will be brief. The hotel has an old fashion look to it, loved it. I liked the location, there were lots of places to dine close by. The staff was very helpful considering we had never been there before. I got directions on how to get to the start of the race and also got a few tips on places to dine. Wasn't to crazy about the view we had from the balcony but we didn't spend much time out there anyway. The breakfast was great and again so was the staff. I am looking forward to staying again when I run the race again next year. "Great Cookies"

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Marvin B,

We're glad you had such a wonderful time in Chapel Hill during the Tar Heel 10 Miler. All of us are thrilled to me right in the middle of the race route every year.

You're right that some balconies do not offer the greatest views when facing a service alley. Next time you're with us, please let us know you'd like a Franklin Street facing or East facing balcony - this way you'll have a much more pleasant view.

We hope the cookies didn't damage your fitness routine too much! Look forward to hosting you again.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I have been staying at the Carolina Inn when we are visiting Chapel Hill. This time I decided to give The Franklin Hotel a try, given the reviews. I'd say this is the better option of the two. The other reviews here are spot on, so I won't reiterate. I will add a few pros and cons, from our experience:

Pros:
Check in was a breeze, and very pleasant.
Cookies were great! (Wish they were available around the clock tho.) ;)
Cooked breakfast was excellent.
Service was excellent, all around.
Room was very clean and comfortable.
Room was very quiet, but I don't think it was a busy time for the hotel, so not sure what it would be like if the hotel was near capacity.

Cons:
We got a room with a balcony over Franklin St. Wish I had known that the room actually only had a mini-balcony (barely enough room to stand outside, let alone take a chair out there), and not actually one of the bigger ones that the other rooms seem to have, with a table and chairs. Perhaps the larger balconies were for the suites, but then that would mean they have a ton of suites. In any case, I felt a little bit mislead by the availability of that amenity.

The standing shower stall was very nice. However, the shower head attached to the wall was towards the back of the corner shower stall, and when I reached in quickly to turn on the water to let it heat up for an evening shower, the very cold water was aimed directly for me, and straight out the stall. Within moments the bathroom floor was completely wet, and my clothes were drenched from having to run back in the shower and attempt to adjust the aim of the shower head. That was not the relaxing experience I had hoped for. Perhaps checking the shower head aim could be brought to the attention of cleaning staff and added to their check-list?

The air conditioner will only go down to 68 degrees. While this is probably fine for most, we like it a tad cooler. Also, there is noticeable road noise from motorcycles, etc., every once in a while. By setting the fan to be always on, regardless of whether or not it was sending out cool air, helped provide white noise. It is a bit loud tho, so if you aren't accustomed to fairly loud white noise, this may bother some.

Despite these (fairly minor) issues, we would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hello haaldi,

Thank you so much for your detailed comments about your experience at The Franklin. Above all, we're very pleased that you find our hotel to be the best option in the area!

We appreciate you recognizing the things that were positive about our hotel, and are also grateful to learn where we let you down so we can address those areas.

We do in fact have two rooms with very tiny balconies, which is a result of the layout of the building. I'm so sorry that you ended up with one of those rooms when you had the expectation of enjoying a much more spacious balcony. Our standard king rooms do feature the spacious ones and you don't have to reserve a suite to enjoy that larger balcony. We'll pay more attention in the booking process from now on to learn how important the balcony feature is to our guests so we can assign the appropriate room.

You make an excellent point about the positioning of the shower head. You shouldn't have to go running for the hills to avoid getting wet when starting the water. This is something we can easily teach our housekeeping team about and add to our checklist promptly. We will do just that.

It sounds like the air conditioner in your room may have been out of order if it only went down to 68 degrees. We will take a closer look with our engineering team to fix whatever may be malfunctioning. I don't know what room you were in, but I gather that it's either 3005 or 3006 based on your balcony experience - we'll check the A/C in both!

As we make these adjustments to fine tune the guest experience, we look forward to delivering an even better stay during your next visit to Chapel Hill.

Thanks!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,297 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
427 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill
The Franklin Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing