We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel !”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Loved this hotel and its attention to detail. Was a bit concerned about the previous reviews talking about noise, as I am a light sleeper, but I stayed in a king room overlooking Franklin Street and was super comfortable. I didn't have a connecting room, and I stayed during the summer months when UNC was not in session ... so maybe that helped? Staff were super friendly; the common areas (the atrium) were lovely and welcoming; the balcony off my room was a real treat; and the amenities (super large shower with rain shower head, cushy linens, etc.) all added up to a great stay. This hotel was a great value, especially considering that a made-to-order breakfast in a comfy dining room was included. My new go-to hotel in the Chapel Hill area ;)

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank A2Traveler2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
A2Traveler2222,

Thanks for giving our hotel a chance, even though you had some initial concerns. We're glad the noise wasn't an issue for you on this stay.

You're right that it's more quiet here in the summer months. When UNC is in session, Franklin Street is much more active and the noise does tend to transfer more into the balcony rooms facing the street. If you're a light sleeper, it might be a good idea to book a room on the opposite side of the hotel during that time of year. Please let us know so we can accommodate that on your next visit.

Our breakfast is a guest favorite, and we intend to always offer it complimentary. We'll keep working to be your go-to hotel in Chapel Hill!

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    97
    36
    12
    5
See reviews for
180
169
39
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

From reservations to check out, my experience at The Franklin was TOP NOTCH! I travel quite a bit and have rather high standards for hotels. The staff here makes you feel right at home and made a business trip seem like a vacation. GREAT location with shopping and restaurants right outside your door. The UNC campus is breathtaking and within walking distance. Free breakfast did not mean cereal and toast, but a wide range of hot items. VERY comfortable rooms with a great balcony over looking Franklin Street! We will be back for sure!!!! Side note: Go to the lobby bar and say hi to Hannah! She is a great bartender and all around sweet person!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmonteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Rmonteve,

We're so pleased to read your enthusiastic review. Our hospitality team loves getting to know our guests so we can make The Franklin feel familiar and more homey.

Hannah is a joy to spend time with, and I'm glad you got to interact with her.

See you back soon!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, TX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Everything about the hotel was beyond expectations. It began with a curtousey call the day before our arrival to ask if there were any special requests. From the friendly and attentive staff to the well appointed guest rooms, to the cozy gathering areas and the well appointed main lobby, we enjoyed our stay from beginning to end.

The guest rooms were quiet, bedding was luxurious with better quality furnishings and a fridge/freezer that worked very well. Bathrooms are a little tight, again well appointed. Marble vanity, a large size walk in shower (no tub in our room) with full ceramic tile and good water pressure. Parking was readily available. The decor throughout the hotel was first class. The included breakfast is a sit down cooked to order - no buffet here. Fitness center is well maintained with a good variety of equipment.

Great location at the heart of UNC Chapel Hill. Everything you need is within walking distance; dry cleaners, bookstores, drug stores, bars and food of many many varieties and prices. We stayed during summer month when prices are very reasonable.

We look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fourth floor on the street side and was surprisingly quiet. Rooms on the third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsc1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Hello rsc1911,

Thanks for sharing your comments. You touched on many of the things that we think make The Franklin hotel special. The courtesy call before arrival is something you can expect from your personal host for each stay, and our breakfast and parking amenities will always be complimentary for guests.

We hope to have you with us again soon!

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Franklin was an excellent stay. The location was perfect right in the center of everything. Rooms were very clean and comfortable as well as friendly staff. I would recommend and stay here again next time I am in Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvrinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi there cvrinson,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate your recommendation, and are glad you enjoyed our central location.

Hope to have you back with us again soon!
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
230 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I found The Franklin on Tripadvisor and choose it for both the reviews and location. About four days before we were due to arrive the hotel called to not only confirm but asked if there was anything they could do to make our stay more enjoyable. Can't say that happens often.
We were visiting UNC and wanted a hotel with a good location that we could walk to most places and this was perfect. The rooms are a good size and well appointed. The beds are comfortable with good pillows; always a plus for me. The staff was very friendly, from the doorman to the women that made up our room. Included in the price was breakfast and on Saturday they had a small buffet that was very good.
Now, the place isn't cheap but I think in the end it delivered and help make our stay that much better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
aender,

Thank you for your detailed review of your experience at The Franklin. We're glad our location made it easy for you to walk to the places you wanted to visit. And our entire team is encouraged by your feedback about how friendly you found them to be.

We hope that you'll pick our hotel again when you next visit Chapel Hill.

Until then...
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Franklin for one night when we were traveling through NC for a wedding. It was our first time in Chapel Hill and the Franklin was the perfect home-base for us. It's very central to all the cute Chapel Hill shops and restaurants. The free parking garage is also a very nice convenience.
The staff was excellent. Perfectly friendly and helpful, also surprisingly security/privacy conscious, which we appreciated. The room was clean, plenty large and well decorated.
Our room did not have a balcony, but we wouldn't have had time to sit on it anyway. The room did have a built-in sound system, which we enjoyed. The floor we were on also had a nice atrium/sitting area with a TV. Everything was really thoughtfully and tastefully done.
We also had a la carte breakfast at 'Windows', which was included with our room rate. A nice touch that it's served breakfast instead of the standard buffet, and the food was excellent.
Overall we were so pleased with our stay, we'll highly recommend this property to others and will stay here again if we're ever back in Chapel Hill.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JennEDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello JennEDC,

Thanks for your enthusiastic feedback about The Franklin - we look forward to getting comments like yours and knowing that our guests notice the thought that we put into your experience.

For your first time to Chapel Hill, we're glad you stayed with us and were able to experience all the convenience and charm of downtown right at your footsteps.

We'll have to get you a balcony next time - when the weather's just right, and the energy on Franklin Street is at it's peak, guests always find some time to step outside and take it all in from high above!

Please let us know when you make your next reservation. Until then, safe travels...

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Went there with work. It is well located and we had a corporate rate so that was very good too!
It's nice to have a hotel in the Us on a main street of a town so there is life to be seen- and not a freeway or similar. The hotel was charming and very comortable for the stay, staff were suitably attentive and very friendly. The restaurant breakfast, though tasty, needed to be ordered off a menu which is strange nowadays when most places have a buffet.
Because it is all round nice hotel with lovely location would definitely return there.

Room Tip: Nothing specific, my room was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoubertG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, General Manager at The Franklin, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello JoubertG,

Thanks for sharing your comments and for giving The Franklin Hotel a try on your business trip. We do enjoy a great location that enables our guests to engage with the vibrancy of downtown Chapel Hill.

Regarding breakfast, we do offer a buffet on certain weekends and when the hotel is very busy. But we have found that the a la carte service that's made to order allows us to be more flexible and cater to each guest's specific desires. Our intent is to give you a restaurant style casual dining experience without the hassle of extra charges.

If you prefer to have your breakfast more quickly, we can certainly accommodate a customized set up such as a "grab and go" package - just let us know what you like. You can email your personal host, Kelly Lengyel, at kelly@franklinhotelnc.com. That's what she's here for!

Take care, and we do hope to have you with us again.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 17 in Chapel Hill
1,217 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
385 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
436 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill
The Franklin Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing