We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential but serious problems”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
sanford, nc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great potential but serious problems”
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We reserved a double room with balcony for a 1 night stay in Chapel Hill, (pay attention to what the balcony overlooks, we were on the side street and overlooked the rear ends of several businesses!) We are very familiar with the area and looked forward to a stay at this new hotel. While the room was nice, the bed very comfortable and the hotels location ideal, the service was not up to par. First problem was in the lobby bar. After waiting to order a drink, and no one coming to take it, we had to go to the staff and ask them to take our order. (There were 2 customers in there at the time, not crowded). The next morning we went to the lobby desk and asked where to find a local (Raleigh, NC) paper...reply was "I don't know, this is my first day on the job." So, we then went to breakfast at the Windows restaurant. No one came to seat us, so we eased our way in. We then were seated. No one brought us a menu. After a few minutes we were asked for our drink order which we gave. Still no menus. The dining area is small and there was a large party seated before us. They had everyone's attention. After our drinks arrived we got up and asked for menus....(others around us had been seated after us and received their menus). After being told we would have menus in a moment, we had our drinks charged to the room and left. We were followed out by the manager who offered the cup of coffee and soft drink at no charge. We never had the feeling that they understood the problem.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lawyerandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    98
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
192
176
39
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

Top quality boutique hotel perfectly located on vibrant Franklin Street. Attentive, professional staff. Rooms are very well appointed, comfortable and roomy. Spacious, walk-in glass shower with high-quality fixtures and great water pressure (always a big plus in my book). Nice restuarant/bar in lobby. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTerrapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2009

There are many little things that my husband and I look for in a hotel... some seem inconsequential, but all are important in the total package. Except for one minor detail, the Franklin Hotel is perfect. We stayed in a king 2-room suite. There was a LOT of light...lamps and recessed ceiling lighting. There were trash bins in every room. There were recessed-in-ceiling speakers and accompanying music selections in all rooms. The bedroom and the living room both had large flat screen televisions. The room has a huge deck with table and chairs overlooking quaint views of Chapel Hill and Carrboro. The only negative was the lack of water pressure in the shower... but we chalked that up to the greening of Chapel Hill.
All-in-all, The Franklin is a fabulous hotel... I highly recommend it as a romantic getaway or for business.

  • Liked — lots of lights, wireless internet, fabulous private deck, spacious, split bath, upscale amenities
  • Disliked — water pressure in shower
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tarheel_fan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We recently attended a parent week-end at Chapel Hill with my daughter - I left the reservations until the last minute, but was lucky to find a room for one evening at the Franklin.

The hotel staff was wonderful - from meeting us outside to a quick check-in at the front desk. The hotel and rooms are lovely. The hotel is fairly new - and we stayed in a room with a king size bed and a wonderful bathroom. Very calm and restful - wish i had more time on enjoy the amenities!

The price point is high - but we wanted to stay close to downtown so that we were within walking distance of the campus and Granville. It was relaxing to enjoy the hotel - the 3rd floor gym looked really interesting - but we had events - so did not get to use it. (my advice is to bring your gym clothes and try to work in something!) We also invited my daughter down (2 blocks). We had a great visit in the room - ordered a fruit platter for breakfast and just enjoyed the quiet.

  • Liked — Rooms, Bedding, T.V., Internet Connectivity
  • Disliked — Price Point was pretty high
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveler0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

If you are planning a really special night, don't count on them reserving the room you picked out. We found out the hard way that even with our credit card number, confirmation letter & confirmation number, the special room that we had reserved for our son and his new bride on their wedding night was given to someone else. They were put into one of their cheaper rooms that was nothing special. When our travel agent called them, we were told that their attitude was one of "we couldn't care less". We had wanted somewhere really special for the kids' wedding night and booked one of their most expensive rooms. If we had know that they were not going to hold it for them, we could have gotten them a much nicer room somewhere else (& probably for half the price). That is one very special night that they cannot get back. We will NEVER use this hotel again.

  • Disliked — did not uphold their guarantee on the room even with cc #, confirmation latter & number.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank playing88keys2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

I visit Chapel Hill often and usually stay at the Carolina Inn. On my most recent visit, I decided to try the new Franklin to see how it measured up. It was there on a Sunday night in Aug, and they offered me $ 176 plus tax which was comparable.

The room was very impressive, a king bed with large windows facing Franklin Street & nearby good local restaurants. The combination of new flat screens with full cable selection clearly beats the Carolina Inn's circa 1980s offering. Bathroom great with a superb standup shower; and the king bed very comfortable. A/C worked just fine.

Knowing Chapel Hill, I had been a little concerned about safety issues within a few blocks (towards Carrboro) of the Franklin. This did not seem to be an issue however, with secure parking underneath the hotel -- not sure what happens if that lot is full.

With everything else so positive, I was very disappointed in the second floor restaurant (breakfast only). There is no buffet, not even coffee, so everything off the menu a la carte. When i was there, only one customer present plus one gentleman who stood at the entrance waiting forever for an OJ & coffee to take to his room. Seven staff (I counted) took unbelievably long and seemed completely disorganized. It took 20 minutes for my order of one bowl of granola and a side of bacon and coffee. That was $15, including three dollars for a lukewarm coffee. I could go on!

Not sure what they're serving in the Lobby Bar or room service, but I would definitely skip any food orders in this otherwise great place.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Food & service
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 4SeasonsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Franklin Hotel when we brought our daughter to UNC to move in. She is living in Granville Towers which could not be more convenient to the hotel. It is within easy walking distance of all the fun places to eat and shop on Franklin St. We had a king room with a view of Franklin Street.
I found everything about the hotel to be fantastic. It is a beautiful place, right down to the marble floors in the elevators. Our room was spectacular. There were tons of big, fluffy towels, a huge glass shower w/ European door, granite countertops, and more. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room quiet. I had read here about the noise of the AC but we had no such issue.
They gave us a pillow menu that we didn't have a chance to use but was a nice touch.
It was spotlessly clean and the staff was friendly and accommodating. I will definitely stay here again during our next 4 years in Chapel Hill, provided I can get in! It is much sought after during big weekends (parent's weekend, basketball games, etc).

  • Liked — Beautiful room, fast free internet, convenience
  • Disliked — the parking garage is cramped
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mmcbDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,275 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
417 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
447 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill
The Franklin Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing