We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent boutique hotel with great location”
Review of The Franklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Franklin
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
473 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Decent boutique hotel with great location”
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Nice boutique hotel right on the main strip in downtown Chapel Hill. A bit pricey but you're paying for nice amenities and a great location. We also used a AAA discount so that helped a little bit. We had a corner double room and it only had a shower, so I don't know if other rooms have tubs or not. We did not eat breakfast in their restaurant since there are so many outstanding restaurants nearby. Their bar had a nice fireplace and my wife cozied up with a book and a glass of champagne. Turndown service was efficient and friendly. Free wi-fi was okay but not incredibly fast. Not for the budget-conscious but a nice treat for those who can afford it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    107
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
209
183
39
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

I just returned from a three-day stay at the Franklin Hotel with my boyfriend. We were visiting Chapel Hill to see our first UNC basketball game. My pleasant experience with the Franklin Hotel began before we even set foot in North Carolina. I had e-mailed the manager ahead of time; because we were on a tight schedule due to work obligations and only able to come down for a long weekend, we booked an early flight from Philadelphia to Raleigh-Durham that would bring us into Chapel Hill at 9 a.m. Saturday. I had inquired about getting an earlier check-in; and the manager's immediate response was "No problem, your room will be ready when you get here, and please let me know if there's anything else we can do for you." And ready it was when we arrived - and thank goodness because we were exhausted! The hotel is in a great location - we opted to stay at the Franklin Hotel instead of staying at a chain hotel a few miles away and having to rent a car. So happy with that decision - if you're visiting UNC, you can stay at the Franklin Hotel and be in short walking distance to all of the restaurants, bars, shops, and campus attractions. And it was still an economical decision - we got a great rate for our room at the Franklin, and saved money by not needing a car, gas, or parking! The only lengthy walk (about 15 minutes) was to the Dean Smith center for the game itself; but the front desk offered a map, directions and lots of helpful insight for us (i.e. telling us about the Carolina Brewery restaurant, a block from the Franklin, which offers a shuttle bus to and from the game to restaurant patrons on game day). We lucked out with the weather so we just walked everywhere, but we would definitely use that service if we visit again during the colder months! Overall the hotel is beautiful, there was a gorgeous lounge area directly off the lobby which I hope to enjoy more during my next visit. We stayed in a room on the third floor with a terrace overlooking Franklin Street - we got some use out of it our second day as it was near 70 degrees. Bed was super comfy, there was a pillow menu which we didn't use, we were fine with whatever came on there. Shower is large and glass-walled; ample towels and toiletries in the bathroom. Great feature is the "Do Not Disturb" light which you can set from the bed (it's a button on the wall) and it lights up outside your door. No door tags! Overall we were both extremely pleased with the Franklin Hotel, the accomodations were spectacular and the staff most helpful - we are looking forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StilettoSchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

This hotel is located right on Franklin Street, the "happening" spot in Chapel Hill. The room was new, spacious, well equipped (coffee pot) --nice bathroom, great beds, and you could order a white noise machine and a custom pillow according to information in the room (we didn't). Nice breakfast (expensive) and near everything. Free parking on site, and a balcony with table and chairs attached to our room, so we were able to enjoy the perfect weather. Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cxg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

I don't know what Conde Nast was thinking when it selected this hotel as a Recommended Property 2008 - 2009. Perhaps it was the recent change in ownership but this hotel is sub-par at best. I spent a week in the hotel and found the staff unfriendly, unhelpful, and lacking in service. The hotel is beautiful but is a challenge in the functional department. Room service came without utensils and no one answered when I called to request they bring them. The front desk tries to deflect any complaints and avoid addressing them. Wake up calls never came. Half of the machines in the gym didn't work, the tv was "out-of-service" all week, and no water was in the gym on a heat advisory day. It really became comical after a few days but when I'm spending a week somewhere I expect a certain level of service that this hotel lacks. I'll drive a bit farther and stay at a chain next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PickyTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

The hotel is new and nice; however, I don't think I saw one adult other than behind the hotel bar the entire weekend! The service was not great to say the least, including room service, bellmen (lack of) and customer service when issues arise. For $200 / night, we just expected a little more.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SouthernTraveler127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We were greeted at this hotel with two admonitions - No Smoking and No Partying. Since we are both over sixty, the partying part caught us off guard and we had them repeat. Sure enough, they have this policy because this hotel is in a college town. We assured them that we did not have to leave town to "party." They offered up a couple of nice, close restaurants and we went up to our room.

We decided to use them for reservations in the closeby French restaurant. We called them to see if they could get us in at 7. An hour later no response from them, so we called and they said they had to leave a voice mail at the restaurant. Five minutes later they called to say we had our reservation. Directions would have been nice, but since we had the street number on Franklin, how hard could it be? It was hard. In something called the "courtyard" which had no sign, just a CY on the side of the building with a dozen or so places in the courtyard. The restaurant had no sign because they weren't allowed to have one, very strange - just the #10 on their door. Glad we found it; it was very good - Bonne Soiree; creative fresh food and excellent wine.

After we returned from dinner and around 9:30 we got a call from the desk asking us to return their umbrella. We had not borrowed an umbrella and then the desk clerk said "must have been someone else; what else can I do for you." ?? Well nothing I guess....

The room was very well done; big bed, lots of pillows, good sheets, nice flat screen tv, etc; however, it was very small. So that's not big deal, the balcony was great except for the smell of hamburgers from the hamburger joint, which was the view. I noticed that the air conditioning kept coming on and off in 5 minute intervals but not until we tried to watch tv did I notice that it was so loud that I had to change the volume every time it went on and off. You can imagine where I'm going with this - no, I did not sleep. By the time I dozed off the thing would come on and startle me awake. So much for the great bed.

We had breakfast there and the food was very good and reasonably priced.

We wanted to stay in this hotel becaused we had tried several in town; our daughter is a resident surgeon at UNC. We liked the location because it's pretty much in the middle of town and you can walk everywhere. The Carolina Inn was a little too "old south" for us and the chains are just the same chains. We will probably go back to the Sienna, which we do like very much.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed at The Franklin for one night to attend an orientation at UNC. The room was the best part, very nice with a cool shower plus a large balcony with full size table over Franklin Street. Sat outside for breakfast and read the paper. Check-in was fast (they checked us in while we were pulling into the parking garage) and the guys at the desk were very helpful with suggestions for dinner places. We ended up at an upscale Italian place one block away (421?) where the food was very good but the service dragged a little. The location helps in that you can leave your car at the hotel and walk over to the school. Parking is very resticted on campus. If you need to drive over the only close-in, long term we found was at the visitor lot at the planetarium. The entrance is on Franklin. We are planning to stay at the Franklin when visiting the school again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likestotravel37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
0.3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,330 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.1 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
2.7 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
471 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin

Property: The Franklin
Address: 311 W Franklin St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Franklin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love for you to stay with us whether you're in town for business or pleasure! We are the only hotel in downtown Chapel Hill, right on Franklin Street - just steps away from all the action such as UNC Chapel Hill's campus, Dean Smith Center, Kenan Stadium, UNC Hospitals, Morehead Planetarium, Ackland Art Museum, and tons of shops, restaurants, and entertainment options. Our guiding principle is to be hospitable, so we focus on our interactions with you above all else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Franklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Chapel Hill
The Franklin Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing