We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

No frills but a very nice hotel in a great location.It is nothing fancy, but it had a friendly staff and nice amenities. It served our purpose well. We enjoyed our brief stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dmosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Residence Inn with my children, and was very pleased with the hotel.
The front desk staff we met were all courteous and helpful. When traveling alone with children, it is always nice to know that the staff are looking out for you.

The pool was great - we swam every day. Breakfast was good and plentiful, even though there was a bus group in the hotel at the same time. The food was always replenished, as soon as it had emptied. We played games at a table in the courtyard in the afternoon - a pretty setting even though it was a hot week!

The room was nice and comfortable. Plenty of space so you don't feel crowded. A few minor things need addressed. Loose drawer knobs, cabinet handles.

I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Request a room on the third floor if you can - noise travels from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mom2kaepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Usually stay here when we visit chapel hill. Stayed overnight during the week. Receptionist was very nice and when I called down for extra blankets they came right up. Not only did they have free wine and beer but also hot dogs and hamburgers. We sat by the pool and enjoyed dinner and drinks for free. Couldn't ask for a better hotel. We were going to stay in Raleigh but drove 30 minutes out of the way just to stay here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Saralinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. We were impressed with the building as soon as we pulled up. Pleasant and welcoming. Great service. Breakfast buffet was really good. The only complaint we had was the mattress in the sofa sleeper. It was springy and uncomfortable for our children. Luckily they were exhausted from playing in the pool and slept okay anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed for several nights for a nearby family event. Rooms were clean, beds comfy, pool temp fine. Found the front desk staff friendly and the breakfast buffet fine. Close to several shopping centers for needed items, whether clothing, food, starbucks, etc. Nothing disappointing, but nothing particularly special to warrant 5 stars. .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidandrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I really wanted to like this RI as it's close to the best school in the country :) . We were here for UNC orientation, and checked in around four in the afternoon. Check-in was easy and courteous, and we were given a room on the third floor.

The room was pretty nice--not the best RI (check out Residence Inn Midland, MI if you want to be blown away by a room), but definitely above average. It had a flat screen mounted, a decent-sized kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom. The wifi was free but painfully slow. Where it really fell apart for me, though, was in what a hotel is supposed to do well. The sleep quality. I slept on the pull out sofa. I have slept on a ton of pull out sofas and have never had a problem with one until this one. Once you laid down, it was a bunch of springs going into your side. It was painful and nearly impossible to sleep. To top it off, the blankets that we ordered were cold and wet. You can imagine how that sleep went for me--I was not a happy camper.

I left for orientation, but when my dad (Platinum Elite member) tried to complain, the staff was indifferent. Really? Disappointing. I'm sure I'll stay here again so we'll see if next time is any better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adscram14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, Manager at Residence Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear adscram14,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Residence Inn Chapel Hill.

You indicated in your comments that your sleep quality & internet speed were unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. Our goal will be to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We're here for 11 days since our son is attending UNC & Duke basketball camps. The hotel isn't far from the universities which is a plus we've been trying all kinds of places to eat and truly have been a little disappointed since it's the south we haven't found that southern flare yet. The room was very clean and spacious I wish it had a oven but it has 2 burners to cook. Pool was a little chilly I guess the hot sun is suppose to warm it when u first get in it's so cold but overall it's clean and quiet out there at the pool area and tues, wed, thurs they have a lit dinner for you and comp. beer and wine I will stay here again if he returns next year great hotel!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank pokerolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
3 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
35 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Chapel Hill / Southern Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
416 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chapel Hill

Address: 101 Erwin Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-6925
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#9 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: £93 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Residence Inn
Residence Inn Chapel Hill North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing