We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, great for family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Chapel Hill
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2010

The young man at the front desk, Joshua, was extremely helpful and pleasant at check in. He changed our originally assigned room to one right next to the entrance from the parking lot since we had a lot of luggage to bring from the car. Room was nice, one of the few Residence Inns that I have found with two beds in a bedroom (generally only one.) Breakfast was still being served when we arrived a few minutes after scheduled close, and we were asked if we needed anything by the staff before they started cleaning up. A bit crowded, but manageable (a college town and lots of families were there for summer tours as we were.)
I travel a great deal and make a point to stay in suite-style hotels whenever possible. I hate small rooms, so I look for Residence Inns wherever I go, especially if I'm traveling with teenagers!
By the way, I had no problems with the wi-fi connections. The only slight problem with the stay was hot water in the morning. It was very warm, so my shower was fine, but I'm sure the morning demand on the system was pretty heavy.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasSoftballMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2010

On the surface it's beautiful. But you quickly realize that you could've done better elsewhere. There's a Sheraton across the street and a Hampton Inn down the street. Rooms - King bed Suite was very nice, but a bit tight. Open ironing board took up most of the room. Service - at best is average. Had a hard time getting clear answers. There's hardly a dining hall because it looks more like a seating lobby with placards on it saying "in room menu". I had to confirm with the front desk that we CAN sit and order dinner here. No delivery of newspapers to rooms. Parking is mildly adequate. Worst of all, wifi signal fades in and out. In one evening of usage I must've been kicked off of my VPN six times. I'd rather stay at the Courtyard about five minutes away.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djveed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

I am still amazed! A lovely, quiet hotel...so clean and comfortable...and BEAUTIFUL! THe staff..WOW! THere is a sweet young lady at the bar who was more than helpful, and all the front desk people were THE BEST I have encountered,...and I travel alot. So refreshing...I was very pleased and cannot say enough about this lovely place! Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathysterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Warning do NOT stay at this hotel! I had several things including a digital camera stolen from me. I have stayed in several hotels and have NEVER had issues with their management and staff like this one.

WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leighw86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I travel a lot, so with that in mind, 'consider the source' when reading reviews. Indeed, it is among the newer & nicer Res. Inns, of which there are many. At $139 for a 2-queen suite, you won't find a better quality/price ratio in Chapel Hill - a town NOT known for value. Located about a mile from I-40, and about 4 miles from the heart of Chapel Hill (and all of the hustle & bustle, and traffic/parking problems), the location is ideal. The buildings are compacted around a courtyard, so no long walking, and plenty of convenient parking. Each building is accessed by key, so it is a hassel going through 2 keyed entries with luggage - such the price of security (& entirely not needed during day time). The courtyard is very nice & upscale, consistent with a finer (and more expensive) hotel. The pool area is exceptional & comfortable (although the hot tub is just warm - but pleasant). The suites are very well appointed, furnished, and decorated. They are a bit more compact than many Res. Inns. Internet service worked only intermittantly. The rooms were VERY clean. Plenty of hot water and a large shower head, but a horrible shower due to reduced flow (probably a water-saver). The one big problem was the heat pump was under-sized. It could take hours to change a couple of degrees, and was easy to overshoot if not attending to it. So, if it's very hot, it will take a very long time to cool down. The kitchen was VERY compact, but very nice, clean, and upscale.
Breakfast was included and particularly good (for an included breakfast). A fairly full, hot breakfast. They use real stoneware dishes and the clatter of plates on the (cultured) marble counters is very loud - especially the person busing tables with a slam-bam-crash touch.
In fact, the entire main building is very noisy, and I mean VERY. After 3 days I determined that it's just a bad design and everything echos. It's nice from a 'designers' perspective - a 'great room' concept, with an arched, vaulted ceiling. The problem is that it echoes like crazy and is noisy to begin with. Front desk, bar (with music), pool table, breakfast room, & TWO large screen TVs - all in one room. The small bar is not isolated in any way, so in the evening there is generally a group of of loud folks drinking and laughing - some things the younger kids shouldn't see or hear. No biggy, but they are very 'in your face'. They also make it near impossible to enjoy TV. In fact, the music from the bar and TWO TV's all on at the same time, interferring with each other and echoing throughout. Combine this with a few intoxicated girls laughing at the top of their lungs, and you have a real zoo. I tried to watch some news after the family went to bed (early), but it was near impossible. I was the only guest there one evening, did turn off one TV, but the loud bar music interferred. The employees have their own little night club going and are very loud. They made me feel like I was infringing on THEIR thing. Make no mistake, this is THEIR turf, and their little gravy train. It was annoying when the phone at the front desk would keep ringing and nobody would answer it (for a while) because they were too busy with their little employee te-ta-te. Geez, I was just trying to sit in a corner and watch a little news. I often utilize the 'living room' area in a hotel lobby to watch some late evening news - usually a nice experience - this place was the worst experience ever. Design, decor, comfort, facilities, and even lighting were excellent. The one factor the designer ignored was noise and interference of one area with another. One employee was crashing dishes and slamming cabinate doors while the other conversed with her from across this large room, with voices reverberating in the echo chamber, making it impossible to relax and watch a little TV. The problem could be solved with a wall or two, maybe some curtains or something to dampen the echo, and moving the bar off the main lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruisedoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I'm not one to write reviews but after staying at this hotel, I couldn't help myself. This by far was the best hotel I've ever stayed in. Just walking through the door, the room grabs you. One of the light bulbs was out, called front desk and within minutes they were changing it. Great customer service, very nice and helpful. I would most definiatly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larande2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

The hotel is very clean and neat and has a good location near UNC, also convenient to Raleigh and the shopping malls. The pool and fitness center are nice, as well as the buffet. The fire pit outside is nice that will warm you up in the fall or winter. The lobby is very nice and comfortable. The rooms were clean, as well as the bathrooms. It is a prefect hotel for the UNC fan!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lol_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
0.6 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
487 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#12 of 18 in Chapel Hill
21 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chapel Hill

Address: 101 Erwin Rd, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-6925
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#9 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: £105 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Residence Inn
Residence Inn Chapel Hill North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing