We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great gourmet sandwich spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandwhich

Sandwhich
Ranked #27 of 285 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great gourmet sandwich spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Though wait food my food was a little longer (likely not consistently that way), this place knows how to put together a menu. Loved the gruyere burger with the works I ordered one time, and their milkshakes are great. Want to go back & try a range of what's on their menu!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    38
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A BLT made in a panini maker?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I ordered a Classic BLT with avocado in seared sourdough bread. Simple? They have made this for me before. Today I got it pressed in a panini maker. The lettuce was hot and wilted, the tomatoes squashed to smithereens and the whole sandwich inedible.

For a $9.00 BLT plus paying for parking, this was a big
disappointment and bigger waste of money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NCdesigndiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“8:59 pm they will still give you excellent service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

not cheap but hard to beat. located beside the mcdonalds on franklin st. fries ( generous portions) onion rings ( small portions) and burgers cooked to order and other sandwiches for those not in the mood for beef . my mom liked the kids grilled cheese. chocolate shake was not quite chocolatey enough. service was quick and the weather pleasant enough to sit outside.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank afrdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
180 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

It was just ok. Overpriced for what you got in my opinion. Spent $20 for two sandwiches with absolutely no sides. I probably would go elsewhere next time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mad4nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Best Food in Town - Bar None!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Fresh, tasty, inspired and delicious. My husband and I eat here all the time and never tire of the lovely service and yummy for our tummy dishes. Comfort food, which is kinda good for you and echoes some American menu staples such as mac n'cheese, burgers, fries and shakes. Somehow this little Sandwich shop make all these traditional dishes seem new again. Like old friends with a great face lift! Salads are very fresh! The beet salad is the best! Add avocado to anything and dishes become sublime.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank plumgirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandwhich also viewed

Chapel Hill, NC
 
 

Been to Sandwhich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing