We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best accommodations”
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Staying at The Carolina Inn was a wonderful experience! I absolutely loved the inn---so much history and charm. I also loved how everything is so clean, so attractive and smells great, not just in the common areas but our room was perfect too. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the location is perfect if you want to be near UNC, Franklin Street and good restaurants within walking distance. We were only able to stay two nights while on vacation, but I look forward to a future stay at The Carolina Inn and highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,267 - 1,273 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

Resplendent with southern charm, the Carolina Inn was a wonderful get away. Bordering the campus of the University of North Carolina, the Inn is an easy walk to UNC's "Old Well", "Arboretum" , libraries, etc. Every inch of this Inn has been cared for with TLC. The furnishings were elegant. the service impeccable. The staff was courteous and attentive. We had a lovely lunch at the Crossroads Restaurant, and returned for breakfast as well. The guest room,decorated with 18th century furniture, was a wonderful retreat. The linens were luxurious, making it hard to get out of bed in the morning. In addition to the walk in shower, there was a deep porcelaine tub perfect for a long soak. This is exactly what I was hoping for when visiting a historic hotel. Once you are here, you need to take the time to tour the Inn, it's worth the effort.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This beautiful historic hotel will be a must-do when ever I am in Chapel Hill. I have recommend it to several work associates already and they are glad to know about it. The rooms are comfortable but stil have that "inn" feeling. the food and service are exceptional

Room Tip: my room was small but well appointed and designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhill639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I attended a seminar in Chapel Hill on a football weekend. My wife and I were lucky enough to get reservations at the Carolina Inn. We combined my business trip with tickets to the Carolina football game and time spent with our son (a senior at UNC). The room, service and location of the Carolina Inn were excellent. We were a block away from Franklin Street and Spanky's Restaurant, the location of our first date when we were students at UNC, where we dined during our trip. The Carolina Inn was a big part of our wonderful weekend in Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kemp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed one night. I have visited many colleges with my kids. I took my youngest to NC to visit six colleges and universities on this trip. I have stayed at quite a few campus hotels, but this one is the absolute best. They have beautiful fresh flowers throughout the hotel. The staff is very young and energetic. The valet staff seems to be very nice, clean-cut college types. The concierge was very professional.

We stayed in a small, dormer room that had two doubles. They referred to the room as a "connector". It was very small and probably connected to a king room. This would be a great layout for a family.

The bathroom door was unusual as it was two small fold-out doors with quite a gap in the middle. If you did not know the person you were sharing with, this could be awkward. The bathroom had a huge shower with branded soaps and shampoo. There were lots of fluffy towels and a huge walk-in shower.

There was a coffemaker and flat screen tv. The room was very pretty.

This room was one that was recently renovated. I think they call this category "deluxe". The bed was very comfortable with nice linenes. The style was very homey with an understated elegance.

We were very pleased. UNC turned out to be to large of a university for my daughter. I regret that Carolina Inn is not on the campus she has chosen.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We've stayed at the Carolina Inn 4 times over the last 2 yrs and they do an outstanding job. No better place to stay at UNC-location, location, location.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevettexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This was a last minute reservation for us and we were very pleased. The property was in the best location for the UNC campus in Chapel Hill. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjschaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
686 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
1.7 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: £127 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
The Carolina Inn Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing