We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a fan of this "gorgeous" hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
241 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Not a fan of this "gorgeous" hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I had heard so many things about this hotel that had me craving a visit during my regular trips down to Chapel Hill. Unfortunately, my one visit was not a good one.

First, the hotel is an extremely lovely place for the middle aged to older crowd. For the younger set, you would like it if you like traditional, old places such as older southern homes and the like. The hotel is quite a pain to get into and out of, as the traffic patterns are tough to navigate in the tight confines of the entry road.

The interior lobby and reception areas are very old fashioned, but nicely appointed with period appropriate furnishings and decorations. It definitely exudes southern charm, as other reviewers have described it.

The hotel has a tremendous local history tightly interconnected with the university. It's proximity to the downtown area and the school are wonderful, but the prices are not that good for area, in my opinion.

The problem I found with the hotel was with the rooms themselves, which are quite small and felt rather confining. In addition, my rooms had small ants crawling around each one - yes, both rooms. I was transferred out of my first room, which had probably 20-30 ants that I killed before transferring to another room in a different location within the hotel. In the second room, it was much better, but I did find several more. I am actually quite afraid of how many there really were given the decorations in the room were a very dark color scheme. Gave me the creeps.

The hotel restaurant and bar were good quality, but otherwise quite expensive. In addition, the service staff were very cold and in one instance, quite rude (at breakfast). The bartender one night was very good, but overall I would say less than average.

The rooms I stayed in were quite small and felt a bit tight. The bed was comfortable, but was a bit squeaky when I rolled around.

Now I understand this was one incident and others certainly have not given really negative reviews overall. I do think that if you have a real need to be downtown and near the university, then I would probably recommend this place, particularly if you are of a bit of an older age (30+) and with your spouse or boy/girlfriend.

Room Tip: Good location, but expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ioj27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    202
    63
    18
    17
See reviews for
423
244
62
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

This beautiful Southern mansion is right in the middle of UNC's campus and is close to shopping, restaurants, bars and the football stadium. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are superb. We loved the big cookies we got when we checked in and the chocolate candy waiting for us in our room. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a stay in the Chapel Hill area.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to be much larger than regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsEBandMrVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Staying at The Carolina Inn was a wonderful experience! I absolutely loved the inn---so much history and charm. I also loved how everything is so clean, so attractive and smells great, not just in the common areas but our room was perfect too. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the location is perfect if you want to be near UNC, Franklin Street and good restaurants within walking distance. We were only able to stay two nights while on vacation, but I look forward to a future stay at The Carolina Inn and highly recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Resplendent with southern charm, the Carolina Inn was a wonderful get away. Bordering the campus of the University of North Carolina, the Inn is an easy walk to UNC's "Old Well", "Arboretum" , libraries, etc. Every inch of this Inn has been cared for with TLC. The furnishings were elegant. the service impeccable. The staff was courteous and attentive. We had a lovely lunch at the Crossroads Restaurant, and returned for breakfast as well. The guest room,decorated with 18th century furniture, was a wonderful retreat. The linens were luxurious, making it hard to get out of bed in the morning. In addition to the walk in shower, there was a deep porcelaine tub perfect for a long soak. This is exactly what I was hoping for when visiting a historic hotel. Once you are here, you need to take the time to tour the Inn, it's worth the effort.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

This beautiful historic hotel will be a must-do when ever I am in Chapel Hill. I have recommend it to several work associates already and they are glad to know about it. The rooms are comfortable but stil have that "inn" feeling. the food and service are exceptional

Room Tip: my room was small but well appointed and designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhill639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I attended a seminar in Chapel Hill on a football weekend. My wife and I were lucky enough to get reservations at the Carolina Inn. We combined my business trip with tickets to the Carolina football game and time spent with our son (a senior at UNC). The room, service and location of the Carolina Inn were excellent. We were a block away from Franklin Street and Spanky's Restaurant, the location of our first date when we were students at UNC, where we dined during our trip. The Carolina Inn was a big part of our wonderful weekend in Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
231 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed one night. I have visited many colleges with my kids. I took my youngest to NC to visit six colleges and universities on this trip. I have stayed at quite a few campus hotels, but this one is the absolute best. They have beautiful fresh flowers throughout the hotel. The staff is very young and energetic. The valet staff seems to be very nice, clean-cut college types. The concierge was very professional.

We stayed in a small, dormer room that had two doubles. They referred to the room as a "connector". It was very small and probably connected to a king room. This would be a great layout for a family.

The bathroom door was unusual as it was two small fold-out doors with quite a gap in the middle. If you did not know the person you were sharing with, this could be awkward. The bathroom had a huge shower with branded soaps and shampoo. There were lots of fluffy towels and a huge walk-in shower.

There was a coffemaker and flat screen tv. The room was very pretty.

This room was one that was recently renovated. I think they call this category "deluxe". The bed was very comfortable with nice linenes. The style was very homey with an understated elegance.

We were very pleased. UNC turned out to be to large of a university for my daughter. I regret that Carolina Inn is not on the campus she has chosen.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
1.8 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Property: The Carolina Inn
Address: 211 Pittsboro Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
The Carolina Inn Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing