We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is the place to stay in Chapel Hill.The ambience, amenities, service and location are excellent., making your stay there an dditional experience. I was in town for a wedding at another location, so I didn't get to take advantage of their restaurant, etc. but highly recommend for a beautiful room and superlative experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarheel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    202
    63
    18
    17
See reviews for
423
244
62
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Decided to stay at the Carolina Inn to get some rest and relaxation after a long week. The staff was excellent and went above and beyond. I will definitely be back and would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Since my childhood visits here, this centrally-located Inn has improved to at least 4 stars - rooms and closets still fairly small and the lobby decoration is atrocious - garish mix of fabrics. But the display of photos of distinguished graduates in all hallways is fascinating. Bar/Grill is great (though sometimes noisy) with wonderful servers and food is good. Excellent room service and valet people couldn't be better, All in all very good return visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine8647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at The Carolina Inn for two nights in September 2013. Fresh and spacious room. Cool and comfortable, lovely huge beds.
The Hotel is located just a block from the main street with restaurants and right in the middle of the college area in Chapel Hill.
It´s an elegant entrance to the Hotel and plenty of space to sit and relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

There are hotels where people sleep and hotels which are central to a community's identity. The Carolina Inn strikes me as the latter: the great, elegant gathering place for Chapel Hill. The rooms are not big (at least my room wasn't) but are beautifully appointed. The public spaces are genteel. Of course, if all you want to do is sleep, I'm sure other places are adequate for a lot less, but staying at the Carolina Inn had been a treat!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchPNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia,WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed at the Carolina Inn while on business at the University. From the moment I arrived and throughout my stay, I was pleased with every aspect of my stay. The staff were the best anywhere. Withou exception, they were professional but warm and friendly; my room was small but very clean and comfortable; the public areas the nicest I've seen in any hotel. The restaurant is a delightful experience, with excellent foods and service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlyGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel in the heart of campus-easy to tour the campus from this little gem. Walking distance to shops and restaurants too! Hotel is very charming with warm baked cookies at checkin. No pool is the only negative.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarpeDiem2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 17 in Chapel Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
1.8 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Property: The Carolina Inn
Address: 211 Pittsboro Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
The Carolina Inn Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing