We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay if in Chapel Hill”
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Carolina Inn is first rate all the way. Great location on campus of Chapel Hill and walking distance to Frsnklin Street. Service is top notch and the food at the restaurant also excellent. Also a 24 hour fitness center that had plenty of equipment for a quick workout. People of all ages seemed to be enjoying their stay at the Carolina Inn.
Go Heels!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We are enjoying our stay at The Carolina Inn especially during the Christmas holiday. The lobby is decorated beautifully and The 12 Days of Christmas are each represented with creative decorations. Fitness Center was convenient with good equipment. The fresh fruit was also a nice touch. Restaurant was lovely but we were a bit disappointed with our meal; however the service was great.the room is small but well done and comfortable - spotlessly clean. All in all it has been a great experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYtraveler11790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here in early December, having stayed here several times before. This time we were enticed by a great dea l. We had a smaller room than usual but it was still rather nice. The front desk team were very accommodating. Had a great stay, the only downside was we wanted the shuttle to take us to dinner but it was 1.5 miles further tHan they normally travel so they would not take us. On a Sunday night there was very little activity in the hotel so we were surprised they couldn't reach a superior level of service and accommodate us. Seems like the extra 5 minutes wouldn't matter on a slow night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamstoked22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth K, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am very happy to hear that our team was able to exceed your expectations throughout your stay. I’ve also taken some time to review your comments with our valet and guest services team and I am confident that we will only continue to improve as a result of your critique. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know and I look forward to your next visit to The Carolina Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked this property Thanksgiving through Saturday, 2013, for a family function in Durham. The experience was outstanding.

This review encompasses only the hotel, but not the Crossroads Restaurant that is the main dining venue at the property. That less than excellent experience will be in a separate review under Chapel Hill restaurants.

We arrived around 2:00 PM on Wednesday for our three night stay. The excellent valet met us at the door and took us to the registration desk. Check-in was efficient and we were directed to room 165. The room tended to be European in size (small), but that perception may have been due to the large furniture in the room. There were two queen four poster beds, a work desk (with proper lighting), two chairs and a large a moire that held the TV, closets, refrigerator and bar service items. The bathroom was well appointed. The AC was noisy, but a call to the front desk had an engineer there in 8 minutes to fix the problem.

Public areas of the hotel were beautifully decorated for the season including a Twelve Days of Christmas scavenger hunt that even had two live turtle doves hidden in one alcove. Beautiful antiques are throughout the property along with historical photos of personalities that have stayed there including President Obama prior to his election. The property is on the University of North Carolina campus and some of the profits go to that institution.

There is a small luxury ($$$) gift shop off the lobby. There are vast amounts of meeting rooms that hosted a Thanksgiving Brunch and dinner. We were told by the bartender that they expected 700 people on Thursday. We did not partake of that since we had other plans with relatives.

The hotel serves the community for their upscale functions including a large contingent of UNC and Duke football fans that were there for the game on Saturday. I am glad we left early Saturday morning.

Service was as we had expected from AAA Four Diamond property. Professionalism was the word of the day.

Our room had a base rate of $179.00 per night with a $14.00 per day valet charge and $24.00 in taxes on top.

If we are ever back in Chapel Hill we will be staying at The Carolina Inn again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The rooms in this gem of an inn on the campus of UNC/Chapel Inn just underwent a renovation and they're better than ever.
This is your classic charming inn. Well appointed but not stuffy. Comfortable and welcoming, The rooms now have new new marble baths and glass walled showers, new armoires and mini entertainment centers, and spiffy new paint jobs. Some longtime guests say they wish the bath tubs weren't removed. But to me the new modern amenities are great.
I have stayed here more than a dozen times and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Commerce/Business wing. If you want to save a buck or two and still have a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMBK731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Carolina Inn is called "the living room of UNC Chapel Hill." I have no affiliation with UNC, but they certainly have a beautiful living room! Everything about the hotel is lovely, and what a pleasure it would be to actually live there. The front desk staff were very helpful with directions, restaurants, and more. The room was traditional in décor but featured modern amenities, the fresh baked cookies provided upon check in were a nice touch, and the evening snack provided with turn down service was a welcome surprise. The lobby area seems to actually welcome visitors to relax and linger. Yes, the property is pricey compared to others in the area, but I would definitely stay there again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard (not the parking lot.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in November 2013 and couldn't fault the hotel. The location is prefect for the campus but also convenient for a cast choice of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. The room was clean and spacious and the hotel pretty quirky, but noting was too much trouble for the staff who were pleasant and helpful throughout. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich_and_family_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
697 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
476 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
526 reviews
2 mi away
Hyatt Place Chapel Hill / Southern Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: £158 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
The Carolina Inn Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing