We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of History”
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Piece of History”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a historic hotel (circa 1924) that's been lovingly restored. I've stayed here twice on two different trips. The rooms are nicely decorated and furnished and the bath has high quality goods. The workout room, although small, has several machines, dumb bells (up to 50 lbs) and a heavy bag (never seen one of these at any of the other hotels I've stayed at). The location is two blocks from Franklin Street which is the "main drag" of Chapel Hill and right across from the UNC campus. Lots of restaurants and watering holes (that stay open late) within walking distance. They do not have a swimming pool or spa

Green Features: Recycle can available in the room. This is a nice added feature.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    216
    65
    20
    17
See reviews for
476
256
65
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The property makes you feel like you're on the water in Hilton Head or the grounds at the Kentucky Derby. You totally forget you're on UNC's campus. Classically classy! Rooms are not big, but very well decorated in all white with white marble bathrooms. A lot of wedding receptions are held on the first floor so you might hear a little music, but not enough to keep this from being a wonder place to stay. Also, chocolate chip cookies at the counter are delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ewhite3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

When I arrived, I had to tell the agent that I was hearing impaired and needed to read her lips. I found myself placed in a room directly next to the elevator (Room 330). Because I was in conference events all afternoon and evening, I didn't realize this situation until I tried to go to sleep. Even a moderate/severely deaf person can hear the roar of an elevator. I did get another room at 11 p.m., and this one's design is so laughable I can hardly believe it exists. A wall of closet conceals desk, tv/microwave, closet. I find myself constantly opening and closing rather large doors in order to get things then not being able to maneuver around the bed. Similar with shower door, which forces me to step over the toilet to get into the shower! It has reached the point of hilarity (if it did not cost $300+ per night). Also, the taking advantage of my disability to place me in a loud room is just basically against the law. Next time I'm staying at La Quinta where at least I'll have space to move in my room.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelchamp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Beautifully decorated old southern charm hotel with modern amenities but still keep the charm. From the quaint lobby furnishings, to the charming dining areas, to the exquisite rooms. This hotel met more then my expectations!!!
Fabulous staff, quiet room, super comfortable bed.
Right across the street from the campus. Lots of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: The room I had is a little bigger with 2 queen beds. My colleagues room was much smaller with the on...
See more room tips
Green Features: Toilet has 2 buttons for concerning water. Shower was like a light rain shower. Great! Separate recycle bin inside trash can to separate.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyinmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

What a special treat to enjoy the Carolina Inn for daughter's graduation May, 2014. Able to walk to every event, enjoy music on the porch Friday night, drinks on the porch after graduation, and a comfortable room and bed every night. So easy and spectacular surroundings. Loved reading the history and studying the pictures in the hallways.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler6102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Attended a weekend wedding here and the venue was one of the highlights of our visit to North Carolina. Conveniently central to Franklin Street (2 blocks). Utterly exquisite rooms with some of the most comfortable bedding I have slept on (very soft cotton sheets, mattress pads)

TIP 1 - The Fitness Centre is accessible 24 hours with your room key. And, it features a large bowl of fruit and fresh water. So if you are a bit peckish late evening or early morning when room service is stopped and the shop is closed, then you can pop in there and grab a bite of fruit.

TIP 2 - Free coffee outside the restaurant first thing in the morning if you need some caffeine to start you up before sitting down to breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaldivesComplete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, NY
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My daughter and her two young children took me here for brunch the Sunday before Mothers Day to coincide with my visit to them in Chapel Hill. We had been here once before for one of their holiday teas. The inn is beautifully decorated with lots of historical pictures and memorabilia. The buffet was very extensive and fancy. The children were 3 and 5, but even though it is a fairly formal setting there, the brunch was kid-friendly. I pretty much tried a little of everything. There was an omelet station, hot and cold entrees, fruits, breads, and cheeses, and a remarkable dessert table. It worked out great that we were there the week before Mothers Day, and also that it wasn't graduation weekend at UNC yet. Personally, I avoid holidays at restaurants. The added advantage was that it was less expensive than the Mothers Day brunch on the actual holiday. The kids ate free and I counted as a senior citizen, so we got a pretty good deal. The staff at the Carolina Inn is exceptionally polite and attentive. Check out their website for special events.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
461 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Property: The Carolina Inn
Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
The Carolina Inn Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing