We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was impressed with the place , the rooms are spacious and clean , service is superb , close to the Chapel hill UNC campus, safe area and very helpful staff.
The restaurant is very good and fitness room is equipped nicely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nashaat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,351)
There are newer reviews for The Carolina Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a beautiful overnight stay at this hotel. The inn is stately yet unpretentious. The staff were very helpful and the room was comfy yet elegant. And it was fun reading the profiles of some of the many accomplished unc chapel hill graduates whose pictures and descriptions decorate the walls of the inn.

I used hotel tonight to book my stay here, but that was on a weekend when there was little going on at unc chapel hill. (School was already out for the summer)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

the carolina inn is an early 1900 hotel. the ambiance is southern and comfortable. the facilities are very nice and refurbished. location is close to the amenities of the college town. the restaurants and lounges are friendly to parents and students. the hotel is in walking distance to the athletic events and the arts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

You are far better off spending your money at the Hilton or somewhere else. Standard room doesn't even have a window and its a shoebox. Seriously can't believe this place thinks it's acceptable to put paying guests in here. Don't risk it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kellynbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth K, Manager at The Carolina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for the feedback and I would like to personally apologize for your disappointment with your guest room. It is extremely important to us that each and every one of our guests believes that they received tremendous value - and their lasting memories are positive ones. Most importantly, it is our goal to continue to improve the guest experience and while the overwhelming number responses are quite positive, I do appreciate feedback such as yours. I would enjoy the opportunity to speak with you in greater detail about your visit and can be reached at 919-918-2728.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here last weekend for a wedding in Chapel Hill and were quite pleased with our stay. Our room was large and bathroom nicely updated. We had drinks and snacks in the lounge and service was good, and on Friday night they offered food, drinks, and live music on the front lawn (we stayed inside as it was toasty outside). Location is great two blocks from Franklin Street at the edge of campus and the setting beautiful. Our rate was very reasonable in the wedding block, however, we were surprised upon checkout by our final bill as we did not realize we were charged for parking and taxes and fees were not included in the confirmation. There were several other wedding groups staying at the hotel, but that did not interfere with our experience aside from traffic outside the hotel on one occasion when a shuttle for a wedding was dropping guests at the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 042581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Carolina Inn is an iconic place in the heart of Chapel Hill. Allied with the university, it is a must stay place. All who know and love Carolina want to experience the Inn. Food is great, location is perfect, and the rooms are up to date, and a quiet haven after a full day experiencing Chapel Hill and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carok1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I had heard the roumers about this hotel been "haunted"..although I did not believe them now I'm wishing I did. I stayed on the second floor, which when a lovely man told me about I did get the creeps as my Mum had already told me this floor was meant to be the floor to which the activities occurred on. Also I was by myself, which made this worse.
Lovely, clean room, no faults for staff or anything. Comfy beds and once the noise had stopped, a good sleep.
The only thing to me was the eerie noises and it sometimes sounded like my door was being knocked on. The walls had some tapping but no saying that wasn't anyone outside my room. I did not see any ghosts, thankfully.
But can not fault the staff.
Stay here if your on a honeymoon or with your family, but not alone!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Traceyholling290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
657 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#7 of 18 in Chapel Hill
478 reviews
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
399 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: £148 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
The Carolina Inn Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing