We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous historic hotel nestled on the edge of the beautiful UNC campus”
Review of The Carolina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carolina Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous historic hotel nestled on the edge of the beautiful UNC campus”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

As a UNC alumni, I have always had a soft spot in my heart for the Carolina Inn, but had no occasion to stay there until a wedding this past weekend. The charm of the hotel just cannot be matched. From the arched doorway to the gallery walls of frames above the bed, the decorating and architectural detail is unmatched. The room was small, but cozy and the bed was like sleeping in a cloud. Bathroom was immaculate with great amenities. The staff at the Inn also did a wonderful job with the wedding hosted on the grounds. Overall, just such an amazing experience. So glad I got the chance to stay here, and will definitely be checking prices there each time I return to Chapel Hill.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms were cozy with great dormer windows, but are a little smaller than the 1st floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    960
    213
    65
    20
    17
See reviews for
464
252
65
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The staff of this hotel was very accommodating. We needed to make some changes to our rooms due to the nature of the website we reserved with and the staff was very helpful.
The location was perfect because we are still learning our way around and we easily walked to the Chapel Hill campus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 311chyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I'm not sure how to described this place. Relaxed elegance is about right. The rooms are comfortable, the history of the campus on display on the hotel and room walls is really cool. The bar and restaurant are excellent. And during the summer Friday on the Front Porch rocks! Absolutely worth staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a beautiful hotel that carries the air of southern charm and old south feel in this college town. The room was cozy with four poster beds and very nice linens. The bathroom was pretty tile and extremely clean. The entire hotel seemed very well kept. The only issue I had was in the service area. I asked for a 1 o'clock check out specifically because of an appointment and was not allowed this. In addition, I asked for directions from two people of frequently visited locations on campus and was told "I am not that familiar with the campus yet" in stead of searching for directions. Also, we were not asked if we needed assistance with baggage upon check-in. Normally, these things would not have bothered me but at $200/night, you expect a different level of service. Bottom line, nice hotel but service not up to par for a hotel like this.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappytravelerAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The Carolina Inn is a beautiful antique with modern amenities. Room was very clean and service was outstanding. When a place treats their employees well, it reflects in their service and the Carolina Inn delivers. The fact that it is supposed to be haunted adds to the fun.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike49389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel is lovely. It was clean and fresh, and the staff was so polite and helpful. I had to wait to check in to our room, but I ate in the restaurant and just told the waiter my name, though I had no room number. I loved the decor of the room, and the sofa was clean and comfortable. I loved the furniture! My only complaint was that the electrical outlets were very hard to plug things into. The walk in shower was so cute! The toiletries were elegant, and the magnifying mirror was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A beautiful hotel located on the campus of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the Carolina Inn is a short walk from all that the area has to offer. The rooms are spacious; the beds are the best I have ever experienced at a hotel; the bathrooms are well-appointed; the exercise room is more than adequate and the restaurant and bar are great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
2.8 mi away
Rizzo Center
Rizzo Center
#1 of 18 in Chapel Hill
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
613 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
1.7 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carolina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carolina Inn

Property: The Carolina Inn
Address: 211 Pittsboro St, Chapel Hill, NC 27516-2739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chapel Hill
#2 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Business Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carolina Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chapel Hill, at the doorstep of the beautiful campus of The University of North Carolina. Come experience world-class service, elegantly appointed guest accommodations, superb dining, outstanding meeting and banquet facilities, and an expert staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Carolina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
Carolina Hotel Chapel Hill
The Carolina Inn Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing