We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, convenient and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chapel Hill InnTown
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, convenient and clean”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My family -- three kids of various ages -- along with wife -- stayed here over thanksgiving weekend while visiting my bro and his family, who work at UNC. Because he lives near UNC we could literally walk both to UNC campus (we saw a play and a women's soccer game), and his home to burn off some of those thanskgiving pies.
The apartment -- a two-story townhouse style -- was clean, comfortable and affordable. Really enjoyed the washer, dryer, stove, tv and beds. My seven-year old daughter was thrilled to sleep in a bunk-bed for first time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyrus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericplow1, Owner at Chapel Hill InnTown, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are also glad that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to the University of North Carolina campus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
3
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Chapel Hill for me has always been an intellectual oasis in a rural countryside. A beautiful university a bit in the middle of nowhere. Sure, it's changed a lot since I was growing up here in the 80s-90s but that is the foundation. These condos are like everything I equate with my childhood. Not glamourous, not luxurious, not fancy. Just a quiet almost mountain-like escape with the whole world waiting outside. The decor and linens are dated, and the outside is constantly trying to come inside on your feet (leaves, pine needles). But it's a place to call home away from home. Centrally located - less than $5 cab ride or a free bus from Franklin Street and the rest of the university. Fully stocked with appliances, dishes, linens. There were even left-behind coffee, salt and pepper - communal feel. We have family in town, but can't stay with them, so we just want a casual, affordable place to crash during our visit. If you aren't looking for a luxurious getaway and just need a place to stay and want to be in town, this place is perfect. It's like staying at grandma's house while she's away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericplow1, Owner at Chapel Hill InnTown, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review, which emphasizes our goal of providing reasonably priced, furnished apartments within walking distance of the University of North Carolina campus. You are correct that Chapel Hill has changed dramatically since the 80's. I have lived here since the 70's, and Chapel Hill has grown from a small sleepy college town to a vibrant community of students and professionals. We call ourselves "The Southern Part of Heaven", and I'm glad that our guests can validate that this description is still applicable, even though Chapel HIll has grown immensely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grovetown Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My family paid for three nights in November but stayed just one night and forfeited the money we paid for the other two nights. The apt seemed clean but the furniture, bed linen, towels and carpet were very worn. Bath towels were small and very thin. The bed comforter was old and faded. Stairs were steep. Heater had problems. Two of us had significant allergy issues in the apartment. We think future customers would appreciate the extra space and convenient washer/dryer, etc., if they are comfortable with the rustic conditions. We never met the owner but he was cordial in his emails and phone calls. We regret that it didn't work well for us.

Room Tip: We wish we had seen the apt before paying for three nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericplow1, Owner at Chapel Hill InnTown, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
We are sorry that our condos did not fit this families expectations. We hope the reader will read the many positive reviews that follow. There was a problem with the heat upon arrival, but we fixed it immediately after being notified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here for three weeks whilst I visited the University of North Carolina for research. I found the apartment very cosy. It was clean and had a range of amenities including a washer sand a dryer, in addition to the standard stove, refrigerator and microwave oven. Its location was very convenient for me as it was close to two bus stops that presented me with a variety of buses that would take me to UNC Hospitals and back. Unlike hotels where long distance phone calls may be pricey, at Chapel Hill InnTown it was very cheap. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My wife and I stayed for 11 days in a furnished two-bedroom apartment in Chapel Hill InnTown. The apartment had a large living area downstairs, two bedrooms upstairs, a patio, and a small upstairs deck. All appliances (including coffee maker, dishwasher, and washer/dryer) worked well. The apartment was off the street, surrounded by trees, and thus was relatively quiet for such a central location. The place was much more spacious and livable than a motel room and was no more expensive. I would call the accommodations quite comfortable, but not high-end. We had one small issue that was quickly addressed by the owner. I can’t say enough about how quickly and considerately he fixed the problem. I will definitely be staying here the next time I am in town for an extended stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This is a great value for a family. With teenagers, we don't like to cram into a little motel room anymore, so instead of having to pay for two motel rooms, we rented one condo. It had plenty of space for everyone and it was nice to have the living room to hang out in. It was convenient for us, and very quiet. It's true, as another reviewer mentioned, that the furnishings weren't brand new, but that wasn't an issue for us at all. In fact, we all found the beds very comfortable and got a great night of sleep. And I'm someone who often finds hotel beds uncomfortable, so this was a big deal to me. The bathrooms were clean and completely adequate for us. I definitely plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed at the inn town condo,and I couldn't have been happier.THe location is great. I like being able to walk to places,and staying here,I could walk to anyplace in Downtown Chapel Hill. You could drive to anyplace downtown in less than 5 minutes if the weather was bad,or you preferred not to walk,but then you will need to find a place to park.
The unit was very clean and comfortable. It is nice having someplace where friends can visit with you while you are in town. Hotels are too cramped. I also enjoyed having the kitchen,so I didn't have to eat out all the time. I was very surprised by how close a couple of eating places were. You can literally walk around the corner,and get something to eat.
This is a great alternative to a hotel,and much more convenient if you want to be in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emerald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Hill
1.8 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 18 in Chapel Hill
471 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chapel Hill/Carrboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
447 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Franklin
The Franklin
#4 of 18 in Chapel Hill
649 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Hill InnTown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill InnTown

Property: Chapel Hill InnTown
Address: 609 Hillsborough St, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5756
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chapel Hill InnTown 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chapel Hill InnTown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill InnTown North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing