We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Chapel Hill

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Stayed here for three nights in May. Room was good value, particularly with free parking, internet and breakfast. Ideally located for visiting Chapel Hill, with Durham and Raleigh both within 30 mins drive. The room was a good size and clean. No in-room safe though. The only real downside was that the window didn't let in a huge amount of natural light.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ_Billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    77
    55
    14
    16
See reviews for
74
35
31
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

Always seems to be among the lowest price "decent" hotel in the area, you can quickly understand why when you stay here. This is one of the old outside room entry Hampton properties that they haven't built in 20+ years. The rooms just don't meet the look of what a traveler needs nowadays. Desk is always right beside the AC unit so you get blasted by air when you're trying to work at the desk. Noisier from outside noise than you experience at hotels nowadays. Wallpaper is peeling off the walls, comforter just looked old, period. Hampton's use of these old heavy, heavy, heavy comforters is just silly. They're way too warm except in the coldest conditions and they're so heavy that they're uncomfortable to lie under. Please, Mr. Hilton, find an alternative to these things.

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sennedwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chapel Hill hotels

North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

I frequently stay at Hampton Inns and stay in the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area two to three times a year. Even though I'm quite familiar with Chapel Hill, I had trouble finding this property as it does not front the highway. The signs that mark the property are quite small and easy to miss. The address if Fordham Blvd., a major highway, but I think it should be Legion Rd. instead. Make sure you have good directions, particularly at night.

I'm somewhat surprised this is a Hampton property. It is an older motel-like facility where you park in front of your room. There are no interior corridors, a small lobby where breakfast is served, a room converted into a fitness center, and courtyards between buildings. The rooms are typical of an older motel. Clean and decent but very average. Not sure why the full sized bed seemed so small but it did.

I could not get my tv to power on, so I got fresh batteries at the front desk. That didn't work so the clerk said he'd get me another room--and there were plenty of other rooms available. Well, while waiting for that to happen I figured out that the light switch next to the door controlled the power to the tv. The clerk said they had just put in new flat screens and they must have wired it that way. Not sure why...

The free internet worked fine but there was no signal for the local ABC station . The business center consists of a computer in the lobby with a twenty minute time limit. The free breakfast was average.

I have high expectations for Hamptons, and this one does not measure up. It's more of a Ramada or Quality Inn, and the nightly rate should reflect that. There are better options along the I-40 corridor such as Sheraton, Hotel Sierra, and even Microtel that I'll drive a little further to in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

I am a pretty heavy business traveler and have had pretty good experiences with Hampton Inn's in the past. However, this Hampton Inn was just a bit dated. I booked a single room with a full sized bed. The rate was about $70 but the room was small and somewhat dingy. In addition, I found a bug on the sheets. The staff promptly moved me to a better room that was clearly reserved for more frequent rewards members. The second room was much nicer but still didn't take away the experience of the first room. Overall, I would recommend paying a few bucks extra and choosing a different hotel. Staff is great but the hotel is just dated.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Stayed at three Hampton Hotels during trip to NC, SC and GA. Stayed here to visit Chapel Hill. This was clearly the one that stood out as outdated and tired. Would not stay here again. Staff was fine, though had to wait about 10 minutes for the desk clerk to appear to check in around 10 p.m. Breakfast was weak. There are a lot of hotel options in the area -- check those out first.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traintrack1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

I was here looking at colleges with my son. We stayed for 4 nights. The room was standard with 2 full sized beds, but clean and comfortable. Linens were very nice. The rate of $70 per night was wonderful. The pool looked nice, and the one day I wanted to enjoy it, it was raining. Nice, simple breakfast in the morning. Just enough to start the day. Staff was fine. Free high speed internet was very helpful to us as we planned out itineraries each day.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmc736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

With my teenaged son, I spent 3 nights at the Hampton Inn Chapel Hill while visiting family. I was very pleased with my stay.
The room was clean and well appointed with dresser, desk and chair, reading chair and ottoman, flat screen tv with all the chanels free, separate sink area from toliet and shower and free wireless. I had no trouble connecting to the wireless, but my son needed help (because he has Vista) and tech services were very helpful so he got connected (they gave him a box to connect through and that solved the problem). There is a free shuttle to Chapel Hill, either to the UNC or the hospital. I used the pool and the fitness center. The hours are long and make sense for those who are out during the day.
Breakfast is complete: juice, fresh fruit, hot and cold cereal, hot breakfast via the microwave, yogurt, waffles and I'm sure there was more. Fresh coffee available all day in the lobby and cookies in the afternoon. Free newspapers (NY Times, USA Today and local papers) were given.
The staff is very helpful and friendly. Check-in was quick. Whatever I needed (shower cap, razor) they had. I got restaurant recomendations.
All this for $72 a night. There is no better deal. And I would stay here again the next time I am in Chapel Hill.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koolkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Chapel Hill University Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn
#6 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
#11 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 17 in Chapel Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Chapel Hill

Property: Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Address: 1740 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5884 (Formerly Hampton Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Chapel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Quality Inn Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Chapel Hill Hotel Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Hampton Inn
Quality Inn Chapel Hill North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing