We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Chapel Hill(Chapel Hill)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chapel Hill University Inn(Chapel Hill)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
71
85
62
15
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
85
62
15
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsservice roadroom was cleanchoice hotelssausage biscuitsfridge and microwavehot breakfastquiet locationwater pressurenice breakfastunc hospitalcalled the front deskfree breakfastfranklin streetmartycerealcomforterlinens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Graduation weekend at UNC and Duke propelled the Quality Inn's prices to $200 per night. Although it's not a $200 a night hotel, the QI was fine, and better than expected after reading some 2013 TA reviews of its slippage following its buyout of the Hampton Inn.

Room was fine, t.v. worked. No need for in room coffee maker, since decent coffee is available 24/7 in lobby along with tea and hot chocolate. Excellent free WiFi in room, no need to re-input password after initial log-in.

Lobby breakfast good and free PC with printer in the room.

Workout room is small but functional: treadmill, weights, and towels/water. 24/7.

Note that all rooms open to outdoor hallways.

Lobby personnel was quick to fix glitches, including dead batteries in workout room t.v. remote.

Cleaning needs improvement, and that's the 4 rather than 5 star: Cleaning staff did not vacuum room and the few cookie wrappers from the night before and gunk around the sink was still there on day two.

Room Tip: If you are elderly, ask for a first floor room near the lobby. If you need your sleep, ask for a second floor corner room far from the lobby. The hotel is not big, so the walkway is negotiable.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward D, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I booked almost 9 months in advance for the 5 days in May 2014 for the UNC graduation. We had to pay in full in February. The rooms were about $200 a night for several nights and not their usual rate but there were very few other places available. In May we found out that my husband had to have a heart valve operation the Friday of that weekend. I tried to cancel all of our five nights but the manager told us it was not allowed for that weekend. She told us that we could cancel two nights but not Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights. I got him through the operation on Friday and flew down for the graduation.
The hotel: The rooms were clean and the breakfast was good. They have a waffle machine and many people seemed to love them. The lady who took care of the breakfast area was a delight. The pool was clean and rarely used. The taxis from the airport all knew how to get to Quality Inn. We could not walk to Chapel Hill's main attractions but part of our group had a car and it was just a short ride to most things.

Room Tip: All rooms are near the pool and lobby/breakfast room. No elevator so you may need a ground floor for certain reasons.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward D, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Fairly well kept a slightly older hotel. No interior hallways. All rooms exit to outdoors. Lamp between beds was hanging by wires, very dangerous, could tell they tried to glue it before. Told front desk, they seemed concerned, so that was good. Staff was nice. Breakfast was typical hotel continental breakfast fare. As long as coffee, waffles and yogurt I am good. Very hard to find. Depending on direction arriving it is hidden by a wide tree-filled median in the road. I highly recommend going on Google maps and street view to see where it is and what it all looks like before you arrive. Street address doesn't get you very close with a GPS. Appeared to be a safe and well traveled area. Very close to UNC. I would stay at this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on front side are closer to main entrance and breakfast.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RunOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward D, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The accommodations were clean, quiet, comfortable beds, and nice staff. An older hotel but kept fairly well. The linens were fresh, and furnishings have been updated. Close to University Mall. A little difficult to find but if you are aware of that and looking for it, it's not too bad. Nice grounds.

Room Tip: Did not use kids activities, hit by mistake.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward D, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I was expecting a 2nd tier older, and cheaper hotel am happy to report that this facility is well maintained, clean and as modern as could be considering the older construction. Decent and quiet location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ira6549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward D, General Manager at Quality Inn Chapel Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews