We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Misleading Description- Sleepless Night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chapel Hill University Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Misleading Description- Sleepless Night!”
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I booked this through an "unpublished rate" as a 3 star hotel. Not even close to a 3 star hotel, probably more of a 1.5-2 star. I spent about 50 bucks, and I got ripped off. It is a motel with outside entry doors and furniture from the 80s. The bed linens seemed clean and they had updated to the white bed set up, but the plethora of bugs (albeit harmless lady bug and a bunch of gnat-type bugs in the bathroom) counterbalanced it! Ceiling in the bathroom was actually falling down, and they had a power strip for outlets as had very few wall outlets. Musty smell, thin walls and I felt very unsafe as a single traveler so barely slept at all. Carpet was also so sticky I literally stood on my shoes to put on some thick socks. If I had gone looking for a 1.5 to 2 star probably would not be quite as upset; housekeeping is obviously making an effort, but this motel is old and certainly NOT 3 stars. I have pics I will try to attach.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JulesSandhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    110
    73
    49
    27
See reviews for
181
65
63
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I booked this hotel on priceline for $35, so the rate I paid was fair but when you compare this 2.5 star hotel to the others in the area, it simply does not compete. The website is misleading, it looks crazy different in person- mostly that all of the rooms are entered from the outside- no elevators. I'm a female traveling alone and I have to say I just didn't feel great here. The door had trouble closing, and the room although clean (it was impeccably clean)- just seemed like it had been partied in by frat boys one too many times. The lampshades were all cracked and damaged, furniture beaten up, curtains dingy and the door seemed like maybe it had been kicked in a few times. Linens and such were clean and there were no odors. Wifi was good. Location only ok, with so many other options in sight, the only compeling reason to stay here is the low price and the friendly staff.

Room Tip: no such thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed here on 1/22/11 and while initially turned off by the less than stellar room decor, we were willing to give it a chance. It seemed clean enough. What totally ruined our experience was the rude, unfriendly, and unhelpful nighttime staffer who refused to help us when we called to report a deafeningly loud alarm clock beeping incessantly at 5:00am in a room next door (in which it was clear the party had already departed or died, in which case they were not concerned with either scenario.) When we called the front desk to see if they could do something about it, the female staffer told me the security guard had just left and there would be no one available until 8am to help us out. Then she HUNG UP ON ME before I could reply. How rude! Awful, I would never come back. We couldn't fall back asleep and our day was ruined due to hotel stupidity induced insomnia. Also at 7am there was music blasting as the maid either carried along her personal stereo or blasted each room's radio, while she serviced the neighboring rooms (not that it mattered since we were already awake). The only one thing that was nice was the man at the front desk during check-in.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLINTON1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I was going to Chapel Hill to tour the School of Law at UNC. I just live an hour and a half away, but I had to be there early, so I decided to stay the night close by so I wouldn't have a long, tiring drive in the morning. I made the reservation through the Chapel Hill Visitor's Bureau, so I had high expectations. I was disappointed. First of all, I was told that the hotel was within walking distance of campus. Not the case. Its a couple of miles away from the school. I'd checked out Trip Advisor before making my reservation, and the pictures of the facility looked fine. I always look for a hotel that has rooms that are accessed through the lobby. As I'm a solo traveler, this makes me feel safer. So, as usual, I requested a room on the second floor, and was excited about what was to come. I got a rude awakening. When I arrived, I discovered that all of the rooms are entered from the outside. Maybe I should have asked, but other hotel websites noted this fact specifically, so I guess I ASSUMED that this one would have, as well. When I asked the woman in the lobby if you can access any rooms from the lobby, she told me no, and that all were entered from the outside. It was now about 8:00 PM, and options were limited for me, so I accepted the room. I tried to find the room, and had great difficulty, because the room number was covered by the "WET PAINT" sign. The woman in the lobby told me she didn't know that the room was on the list for painting, but that just the door had been painted, and that it was now dry. I went into the room, barricaded myself in the room, and prayed for morning. The neighborhood does not look to be the best. I didn't sleep at all that night. Though the room and its furnishings are old, the room was fairly clean -- well, except for the BUG that was on the other pillow when I woke up in the morning. Thankfully it was not on the pillow that I used. Good grief! Perhaps if you're there for a Carolina game, and just want a place to lay your head after binge drinking, then this place may be for you. But its certainly not for me. I won't be going back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KH1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I loved this hotel. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. They helped us get to places that I wanted to see and arranged shuttle service for us. They also provided us with helpful tips. I did not feel like a stranger. this was my first ever trip to Chapel Hill for a college basketball game and I was not disappointed with any aspect of this trip. I plan on going back as soon as I can to enjoy another game and I will be staying at the Univeristy Inn at Chapel Hill. The room was clean and services were prompt. The Time Out bar/restaurant had great food and a great wait staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britta89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massillon, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I spent a night at this hotel last week and I have to tell you, the people were fantastic! I normally don't take the time to write reviews but had to share this experience with everyone. It was a long day on the road, I was tired from getting beat up by my customers and just needed a place to rest. So I checked into this hotel and from the time I entered the building, the service was awesome! Go my key, checked into my room, changed clothes and decided to go get some dinner. I called down to the desk and the gal was so polite, honest and was so well informed about the area. She recommended a nice local restaurant and even gave me great directions. I had a great meal. Being that I'm a Tar Heel fan, she recommended that I take a cruise around campus. I did and just fell in love with the area. I now hope my son will someday want to go to college there! Going back to the hotel, I stopped and got some ice cream and decided to get a milkshake for my new friend at the front desk. Upon my arrival, I thanked her for the referral and handed her a milkshake. She was so happy that I thought she was going to cry! She said she had be craving one all day! I went up to my room, got a good amount of work done at the very comfortable desk and then had a great night sleep. I checked out the next day and went on my way. Upon arriving home, I got an email from the young lady that was working the desk. She thanked me for staying with them and thanked me again for making her day with the milkshake. It's folks like that who will make you feel at home when you're away from home! Great place to stay! I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankris1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Was in town for business in both Durham and Chapel Hill and this was the perfect location! Staff was so quick to respond to requests I made. Room was comfortable and quiet. Restaurant/bar attached was a great value and convenient. There was also a Trader Joe's across the street which was a huge plus! Will definitely be staying here again if I ever come back here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.5 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#13 of 18 in Chapel Hill
231 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#8 of 18 in Chapel Hill
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
445 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
0.7 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Property: Chapel Hill University Inn
Address: 1301 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5803 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing