We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tar-riffic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chapel Hill University Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We were in town for a UNC game and I found the Univeristy Inn on the web. Called to talk to someone in person and ended up getting a better deal because we were going to a University event. The lobby was decorated with lots of memoribilia and the conected sports bar was cool. The accommodations were moderate but very clean and comfortable. They even gave us bottles of water for the ride home. Great deal for the price. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

Chapel Hill University Inn is my go to place any time I head down to Chapel Hill. The service is amazing - friendliest staff I've ever seen. The rooms are always clean and comfortable (with chocolate on the pillows to boot!). It has a great location, is very close to Franklin Street and even has a shuttle to take you down there. The attached sports bar/restaurant is a great place to catch a game and eat a great burger. Finally, as a teacher (who doesn't make much), the price is right. I highly recommend Chapel Hill University Inn to anyone spending one night or even a week in Chapel Hill!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed staying at this hotel.It was conviently located to the UNC campus.They gave us bottle water upon our arrival which was great after a road trip.The rooms had comfortable beds,coffee and a fridge.The staff was very friendly and helpful with questions I had.I will always use this hotel when I'm in this area.Nice accomadations and affordable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

It's a Motel not a Hotel or an actual Inn - look up terms - this is a two story with outside facing doors.

Room faced convienience store across the street - lit up like mid-day all night. Room has sheer curtains and the heavy room darkening ones are on short fixed tracks - can't close- so it was like sleeping with the lights on.

TV didn't work - admittedly I checked in close to mid-night (had reservation) and the indicator light was on - figured the remote battery was dead - tried buttons on TV itself and nothing. Called the desk - said someone would be up to look at it. No one came. (after reading the story from Janet C - maybe that was a good thing.

Heat system was electric space heater plugged in next to the bed.

Room had the old musty stale smoke smell.

It was clean. If you need a bed and a shower it works for under $100 but I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: At a different place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlutoWhaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I’m sure what happened to my husband and I at Chapel Hill University Inn was a rare occurrence but our stay was absolutely horrible. We were in town from Raleigh for a wedding the same weekend as the NC State/UNC football game. We got back to our room around 1:00am and had just gone to bed when there was a very loud pounding at the door. No one said anything-they just kept pounding. Thinking it was an intoxicated college student from the game and it was 1:30 in the morning, we refused to open the door and the pounding continued. We looked through the peep hole and saw a man in dark clothing standing there with what looked like to be a gun. The phone then started ringing continuously. We yelled through the door to leave or we would call the police. The person on the other side of the door said they were security and that they were also calling the police. Since this man had never once mentioned that he was security when he first started pounding on our door, we didn’t trust him.
Several cops showed up shortly-the cops we called as well as the cops the man called. By this time it was 2 am in the morning and we were very upset. Apparently the man was a security guard for the hotel and told us that we weren’t supposed to be there and the pounding was “protocol”. My husband showed a not so friendly policewoman our reservation and they made him go down to the front desk not believing him. By this point we were understandably upset and the police actually even threatened to arrest my husband. It was 2:30 am at this point and we were abruptly woken up by a scary pounding at our door in a room we had paid to be in-we had a reason to be upset.
Turns out the person who checked us in had given us keys to our room but put down in the computer that we were in another room and the room we were in was supposed to be empty. It was a horrible and very upsetting experience. We were not at all apologized to that night. When we checked out the next morning, the manager finally apologized and gave us the night free, although that still doesn’t seem like enough. We will obviously never stay there again and I would never ever recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Security on duty 24 hours helped make my night feel secure. It was quite and was able to get much needed rest. I was there due to family in the UNC Chapel Hill hospital. Would recommend your accommadations to friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The hotel is located just minutes from the college, shopping is a short walk from the hotel. We selected this hotel again because of its location but also the affordable price and open, safe surrounds they have provided for their customers. Really a nice and safe place to stay when away from home and family. Would definitely stay again. RR

Room Tip: just talk to the agents on duty and they will do all to accomodate you and your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrygiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#15 of 18 in Chapel Hill
244 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,378 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#12 of 18 in Chapel Hill
21 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Express Chapel Hill
#11 of 18 in Chapel Hill
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Address: 1301 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5803 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: £43 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing