We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chapel Hill University Inn
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip to UNC. THe rooms are reasonable so we booked two. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, offered bottled water and given side by side rooms. The rooms are very bright, clean and neat. They are not luxurious but a great value. I've heard the breakfast is good as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nebirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

having t b in hospital stressing,the front desk,cleaning people and especially the handicapped rm i needed was so clean, fresh and all necessities for disabled people. Also they work with hospital with discounted rates to help families out. A+++ in my book. Be going up this weekend if i need hotel and money provails to get a hotel bd at this one

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wldcyte77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This was my second time visiting the hotel and it is very affordable and convenient to UNC Chapel Hill where my niece attend the graduate school. I would highly recommend the hotel next time you are in Chapel Hill. The bed was comfortable and the staff are very friendly. They even had Truvia as one of the sweetner which was a big surprise to me. I will be staying at the hotel again next time I am in town to look for houses to purchase in Chapel Hill area as well as my niece's graduation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Earlier this month, I had the priviledge of staying at the fabulous Chapel Hill University Inn. My sister and I cameto Chepel Hill to see a basketball game for our bithdays. I enjoyed the stay and I have stayed at this motel twice in the last 3 months .The staff was wonderful, very accomodating and super nice. It's hard to say what the best part of this hotel is, because I love it all. It's right in the middle of everything. The beds are extremely comfortable. We got a great deal through Groupon. One highlight was that it snowed and the Tar Heels won. I weill definitely be staying here agian in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stay here a lot for it's convenient location to Franklin St. without the high price tag. It doesn't have a lot of bells and whistles, but the staff is always friendly, there's always snacks and coffee/tea in the lobby, free wireless internet, chocolates on the bed and you really can't beat the price. It's clean and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Earlier this week, I had the priviledge of staying at the fabulous Chapel Hill University Inn. This place has it all! The staff was wonderful, very accomodating and super nice. It's hard to say what the best part of this hotel is, because I love it all. It's right in the middle of everything! Shopping in any direction from the parking lot. The Tar Heel Express buses pick up, right accross the street to shuttle fans to the sporting events. My favorite thing is, it's a 3 minute drive down to the heart of Franklin Street, which is the Mecca of TarHeel Nation. Don't get me wrong, this would be a great place to stay, for anyone and any occassion. But if you're a tarheel fan, you don't have any business staying anywhere else! When you walk in the lobby, the ACC flags are hanging from the ceiling, and everything you see in UNC memorabilia. The room was perfect! Clean, roomy, comfortable. There are a few must do's for Tarheel fans. You must visit the Old Well, you must spend time on Franklin Street, you must visit the Basketball museum, you must go to a Basketball and Football game in Chapel Hill, and You MUST stay at the Chapel Hill University Inn. I've certainly found my new favorite Hotel. I love this place!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I enjoyed the stayed I haves stayed at this motel in the last 2 years and have enjoyed my stay. I want you to thank mike persons he was the same person that helped us the first time we stayed and he helped us the 2nd time we stated and I grateful to have someone like him to work there in the future I would send anyone that had to go to chapel hill and needed to stay o will tell them to stay at the chapel hill university inn motel if o had to go back up there that's what I would tell them I wanted to stay is the chapel hill university inn motel that's where I am going to stay if got any business or if I go to and ball game and watch the tar heels play because that's my team I have been an fan of the tar heels all my life I want to say again thank for all that u have done for me and family when we stayed up there last month and 1or 2 years ago to and thanks again chapel hill university inn motel u will get all my business for now on as I go that way you are the perfect motel for my family.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ericcaudill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#13 of 18 in Chapel Hill
253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
476 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Chapel Hill / Southern Village
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
Sheraton Chapel Hill Hotel
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
420 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Address: 1301 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5803 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chapel Hill
#4 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range: £44 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing