We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chapel Hill University Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome accommodations”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We were blown way by all of the greatness at this hotel. If your in Chapel Hill to attend a sporting event you'll enjoy all of the UNC memorobila not to mention how close to campus you are located.The rooms were clean and the food at the adjacent sports bar and grill was good too.We would recommend that you don't pass up at this hidden gem it'sworth every penny and that was another great thing this a very economical priced hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amydiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    112
    74
    51
    27
See reviews for
184
66
63
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Pros:
Inexpensive, clean rooms and a great central location close to UNC Chapel Hill. Big, comfortable King sized bed and a well spaced with a nice comfy chair. Refrigerator and microwave were also helpful.

Cons:
Old TV with all the lettering worn off the buttons. Heat/AC had an on/off switch instead of a thermostat which made it difficult to set a comfortable temperature. It's worth noting that I saw newer TVs in most other rooms I walked by, I think they're replacing the old ones.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road (the Baseball building)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Hotel was clean, service was good. It was close to the UNC hospital and shopping. Older hotel, but you can see they are trying to keep it clean and fresh. Very sports oriented, it is named university inn after all. Restaurant on site, food was decent service was good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrsmall85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almond, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is not The Hilton so don’t compare it!
Stayed this past weekend, February 22nd & 23rd.
Every time I stayed at this hotel it was either booked solid or almost no vacancies. Compare that to neighboring brand name hotels that still had plenty of vacancies. This hotel must be doing something RIGHT!
My son attends UNC @ Chapel Hill and you are looking at just a couple miles away-that alone is great and convenient. There is awesome shopping, service stations and restaurant options just ACROSS the street.
There is a very nice in-ground and well kept swimming pool. There are gas grills you can use (try finding those at other brand name hotels) to enjoy picnics with family. A restaurant with bar, the Time Out, that was seen on TV for Man v. Food. Computer in the lobby, treats, coffee, newspapers, comfortable cushion seating, etc. If you don’t like your room the representative will make every effort to meet your needs and requests, and yes assign you another room. What more would you ask for?
Finally, the price can’t be beat, just try and compare! And yes, look for coupon specials.
I too travel a lot and if I wanted the Hilton that’s fine. But if I wanted a very nice place to stay that is safe, well lighted and comfortable, it’s the Chapel Hill University Inn on Fordham Blvd.
Richard Rygiel

Room Tip: Tell receptionist what you are looking for. Also ask to change room if not satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rrygiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

While the staff was very friendly, the TV set was almost an antique: what a few channels you got for free were fuzzy and unwatchable. You could pay for extra channels, However , that feature was not working the night I was there. Thank God I used to Groupon to pay for my room because it was not worth full price at all.

Room Tip: Ask if there's a room with a normal TV set and no charge for all the channels…
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadeSpringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here on a recent trip to UNC. THe rooms are reasonable so we booked two. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, offered bottled water and given side by side rooms. The rooms are very bright, clean and neat. They are not luxurious but a great value. I've heard the breakfast is good as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nebirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2013

having t b in hospital stressing,the front desk,cleaning people and especially the handicapped rm i needed was so clean, fresh and all necessities for disabled people. Also they work with hospital with discounted rates to help families out. A+++ in my book. Be going up this weekend if i need hotel and money provails to get a hotel bd at this one

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wldcyte77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chapel Hill hotels
2.5 mi away
The Carolina Inn
The Carolina Inn
#3 of 18 in Chapel Hill
1,321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#13 of 18 in Chapel Hill
232 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Chapel Hill
Courtyard Chapel Hill
#9 of 18 in Chapel Hill
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aloft Chapel Hill
Aloft Chapel Hill
#10 of 18 in Chapel Hill
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Siena Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chapel Hill / Durham Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapel Hill University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapel Hill University Inn

Property: Chapel Hill University Inn
Address: 1301 Fordham Blvd, Hwy 15-501 at Eastgate, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-5803 (Formerly Holiday Inn Chapel Hill)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Chapel Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chapel Hill
#5 Family Hotel in Chapel Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chapel Hill University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel Hill University Inn is known as the “Home of the Sports Experience” and is proud to showcase the winning traditions of the University of North Carolina Tar Heels. This sports themed hotel is the only full-service moderately priced hotel in Chapel Hill. The hotel is within walking distance to Trader Joe’s, Starbucks, SteinMart, shopping, more restaurants, and drug/ grocery stores. Hotel is located just 2 miles from UNC and downtown Franklin Street.Guests will enjoy complimentary Wireless internet access throughout hotel and in guest rooms. Other amenities includes: Free access to Kinetix Health Club and on site fitness center, business center, outdoor pool, and guest laundry facilities. Complimentary gourmet coffee is available 24/7 in the lobby. Hotel has a relaxing courtyard with covered seating and Adirondack chairs, as well as a gas grill and picnic area. Daily local shuttle service is provided to designated stops on UNC campus, UNC Hospitals, Franklin Street, the Friday Center and University Mall. Time- Out Sports Bar and Restaurant is on site. Watch any sports event on one of the 17 HDTV’s, play pool or video games. Open for breakfast and dinner, and will soon be opening for lunch. Time-Out is home of the famous Chicken and Cheddar Biscuit and was featured on Travel Channel’s Man vs. Food show. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chapel Hill University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapel Hill University Hotel Chapel Hill
Holiday Inn Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill Holiday Inn
Chapel Hill University Inn North Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing